We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint cafe in sarlat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Oeil de la Gazelle

L'Oeil de la Gazelle
Cour des Fontaines, 24200 sarlat Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
06 79 63 28 47
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: L'Oeil de la Gazelle is not a proper Restaurant but a " Cafe -Gallery", a place where you can have a drink, share a plate of Tapas and purchase the owner's pictures, posters or post cards...The courtyard is very calm, out of the busy main streets full of tourists and at night we have very nice concerts...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint cafe in sarlat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just had a delicious mushroom and walnut tart with salad at this peaceful and stylish oasis away from the busy streets. Superb food and polite service

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    2
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor we had a wonderful evening out to celebrate our son's 10th birthday. The food was absolutely delicious and so wonderfully presented. It really is a gem of a place and would highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant cafe way from the bustle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We ate here as we were looking for a light meal midweek. The menu is a typical cafe menu, savoury tarts, omelettes, or salads. The menu is not very extensive, but the duck magret with potato tart was delicious. Please note that their website states they are open until 2200, but they were winding things down around 2000 when we left.

Overall, a good choice for a light meal, but not sure if it warrants being number 2 for Sarlat restaurants. Service was very pleasant and efficient.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little gem in Sarlat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I went to this place without knowing that this place has received very good reviews on Trip Advisor. The owner happened to be my walking tour leader so we would like to support her. The food was fresh, delicious and considerably cheap. The photos in the gallery are beautiful.toilet is clean and better than some expensive restaurants I've been to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Lovely restaurant and gallery tucked away in the Cour de Fontaines, away from the hustle and bustle of market day. We stopped to cast an eye over the posters, photographs and (particularly) the bottles of interesting-looking beer. The charming lady owner urged us to try some (it was superb and we came away with 6 bottles. The brewery is called La Lutine - please do spread the word!). We also stayed to eat and had the most delicious salads and quiches - rightly praised by the other contributors. Do make time for this delightful and tranquil place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Oeil de la Gazelle also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Been to L'Oeil de la Gazelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Oeil de la Gazelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.