We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to end a trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistro de l'Octroi

Le Bistro de l'Octroi
111 Avenue Selves, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
0553308340
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Val David, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A great way to end a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

On our last night in Sarlat(a Sunday) the receptionist at IBIS found this restaurant open(most others were closed). We had the foie gras with Sarladis potatoes, and it was delightful, as wa the wine suggested by the staff. The quality was excellent, as was the service. It was a wonderful meal and we would recommend the restaurant very highly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    107
    128
    37
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Local cuisine shines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A local recommended this restaurant, which is located close to the center of town. The place was packed with tourists and locals alike on a Monday evening. Local cuisine is the star. No pretentiousness here. Everything was well-prepared and presented from entree to dessert. Excellent wine selection. Staff members were attentive and made good recommendations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and not too touristy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We enjoyed our meal here,good service and value
Just. Out of the tourist main area and easy to park at
Well worth the visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food, beautifully presented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Really cannot fault our last evening meal in Sarlat. Lovely selection of entrees and mains all superbly cooked and looke too good to eat.
Staff were friendly,attentive and prompt and that was despite their having virtually every table full that night.
Definately one not to avoid. Superb!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Second time was as good as the first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I ate at the l'Octroi 2 years ago and liked it so much that I brought friends back. It was as good as i remembered. We all ordered 3 course menus that we excellent quality and good portions. The prices are reasonable for what we got. The servers spoke good English and we helpful. The wine list was small, but good. I would definitely go back if I am in Sarlat again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro de l'Octroi also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Been to Le Bistro de l'Octroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistro de l'Octroi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.