We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be sure to book!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Le Gaulois

Chez Le Gaulois
9 rue de Tourny, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
05 53 59 50 64
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“be sure to book!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

On a cold evening in February we were really pleased that this restaurant was open as so many of the regular ones were shut. We'd seen great reviews on Trip Advisor and were keen to find out what all the fuss was about. We hadn't booked, but were shown immediately to a table. We were really pleased as other people who hadn't booked were told that they were full, and sure enough the tables quickly filled up with people who had reserved. We both ordered the Tartiflette which was fabulous although all the dishes looked great and I think I'd have been happy with any of the food available. It is very much a meat restaurant, although one young Frenchman arrived and explained that he was vegatarian and they accommodated this with a delicious looking cheese platter. Service great - really couldn't fault it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    177
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best eaterie in Sarlat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

After 3 attempts, we eventually made it for supper by coming early. This small Restaurant by the Cathedral specialises in all types of smoked ham. It is fresly sliced straight off the bone and served on a platter with an assortment of greens and potatoes. The salads are also to die for. The atmosphere is intimate and the service friendly and efficient.

By comparison, other places that we tried in Sarlat were disappointing because they seemed to concentrate on quantity instead of quality.

Le Vieux Gaulois is well worth the effort to get a table!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Extraordinary dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food with a generous portion plates,fantastic atmosphere...this is a must if you pass over Sarlat

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Ham and potatoes like never before”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a warm and friendly place serving, among other choices, various types of ham and potatoes. Of course there are many other choices.
Beatrice speaks perfect English so the menu is explained, if you need help.
The one drawback was that there were several Americans there on our evening. We wanted a little more of a French experience but it was still a fun choice.
We heard a few patrons mention how much they enjoyed the Fondue.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, WI
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“One of our best meals in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The room is warm & inviting,
hams hanging from the ceiling.
.
The server (Beatrice) is welcoming, friendly and fun. So efficient, she really knows how to work a room.

The food is outstanding---and they don't serve duck, yeah!

We liked it so much we returned again in a few nights.

Tartiflette---yummmm!
Potatoes, onions, lardons(pork), and reblochon cheese---fantastic! Real comfort food.

All of the meat is sliced to order right in front of you. Each dish comes with a fresh salad. The house wine is good, the prices reasonable. IMO, the best place we ate in Sarlat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Le Gaulois also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Been to Chez Le Gaulois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Le Gaulois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.