We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stand out among local restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Couleuvrine

La Couleuvrine
1, Place de la Bouquerie, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
0553592780
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant de charme. Carte originale et terroir.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stand out among local restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We wanted to try stand alone restaurants, but was so tired one night that we decided to eat at the hotel where we were staying. Turned out to be an excellent choice. Meal was tasty and reasonably priced. Wine pairing was good too. Would come again and recommend to a friend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    38
    45
    6
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kakanui
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

La Coulevrine had been recommended to my wife and me. We made reservations for dinner. We were warmly welcomed by the maitre d'hotel and taken to our table upstairs. Order was taken and aperitifs delivered promptly. Our waiter seemed to have little knowledge of the wine list. My wife's cold pea soup starter (essentially tasteless) was delivered without a spoon. It was several minutes before a staff member (the maitre d')appeared and we requested a spoon. It was delivered by a third staff member with bad grace. My entree was grilled filets de rouget: 2 were OK but the third was almost raw. Our mains (lamb and beef) were OK but nothing special. Desserts were a rather dry summer fruit tart and "milk shake de fraises", which was in essence a pink ile flottante. No spoons were delivered and again it took some time for this to be remedied. The final straw was the refusal of the waiter to detach himself from a conversation with another diner to bring our bill. After 10 minutes of this we went downstairs and buttonholed another staff member who made up our bill and accepted payment, again without grace.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, WA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but poor food and worse service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had reservations at 8:00 pm for dinner at The Restaurant La Couleuvrine which from pictures I had seen looked impressive and had a fair reputation. No room was available outside so we were seated inside a large rock-walled room with a huge fireplace, attractively set tables, and lamps to provide lighting. The atmosphere was promising.

Things did not go well, however once we were seated. The waiter spoke good English but took orders in a perfunctory manner as if he were bored by his job. There were no half bottles of wine available; it was either a whole bottle or by the glass. Service was very, very slow. No wine, water, or bread was brought for a very long time so we sat there intimidated from conversing somewhat by a nearby American couple who talked loudly. When we finally were able to order for an entree I got the red mullet and the mullet was good. Both my wife and I had the lamb shank for our main plat which was accompanied by egg plant and an unidentified puree. The main plat was not good at all. The dessert which we shared was four raspberries on a small cake plus a mini-scoop of ice cream.

Having not enjoyed our food or the service we decided to skip the coffee and requested the bill. Nothing happened in response to our request for a very long time. Finally we got up and went out to the front desk to pay. At this point the waiter asked how we had enjoyed our dinner and my wife was honest enough to indicate displeasure. Suddenly, the waiter was concerned and truly seemed to want to know what had been wrong. But at this point we were reluctance to pursue the details so left and returned to our hotel for the night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Regional Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Good old world atmosphere, very busy, good service. We had the Etape Gourmande menu, which was great regional food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant in Sarlat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We've stayed in Sarlat on two different occasions during 2011 and 2012 and we've eaten at La Couleuvrine restaurant a good few times now. It's our favourite in Sarlat. The menu is broader than most restaurants in Sarlat yet still very much locally influenced. The dishes are excellently prepared. The food is expertly served and the waiters are prompt. The menu includes beef and duck as you expect in Sarlat as well as lamb, veal and 2-3 choices for fish. Starters are ambitious and the desserts are great. The wine list is consistent with most restaurants in Sarlat but contains better wines in my opinion. I think this restaurant would suit either a couple or a group of maybe 4-6. I'm not sure about how well they cater for children. Prices are probably higher than average, approx. €100-120 for two people. Seating outside is pleasant and is situated in a quieter part of town yet still only a few minutes walk from the center. If you are staying in Sarlat you should eat here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Couleuvrine also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Been to La Couleuvrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Couleuvrine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.