We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie du Perigord Vert

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Thiviers | 7 Av André Maurois, 24310 Brantome, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Brantome
Maybole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A very comfortable two night stay in a newly converted, ground floor, courtyard room. Friendly welcome and care from the bilingual staff. We particularly appreciated being able to keep our room key during the day. Good, free, wi-fi. Clear Welcome Notes, in French and English, on how to enjoy a visit. Very good restaurant, serving local specialities - with a twist (we chose the Surprise Menu). Travelling this way can make you lazy. The traditional French breakfast doesn't offer extra coffee (or hot milk). You have to ask!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    44
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
18
64
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

For personal reasons we had to return early to England in hotels we had not booked into or previously stayed at. We arrived in Brantome and we were pleased to find such a keenly priced Logis in this very touristy village . We were greeted extremely warmly by the young woman on duty ( I sadly forgot to ask her name )who took great delight in practising her English once she had complmented my partner on his French ! We were initially disappointed to be taken outside of the pretty courtyard down the road briefly into another old building..unattractive from the outside. but the room we were shown was large with a big bed , spotlessly keen shower and separate loo over looking the courtyard garden and the swimming pool. We had our own key to the whole building and our stay was extremely comfortable and peaceful. We had a great meal in the hotel dining room with the same excellent friendly service The hotel is also very well situated for an exploration of the very pretty village and river.
The only disappointment was the breakfast for which we had to ..as normal..pay extra but in the 5 hotels we stayed in that holiday , was the least adequate . If we were to be in the same region again we would definitely stay there again but buy a croissant and coffee locally for breakfast .

Chris ..Stockport

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBYGilles, Gérant at Hostellerie du Perigord Vert, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Many thanks for your visit, we enjoy to welcome you an other time in our house. It will be a pleasure.

We think about improve the breakfast, but we don't want yet to have a buffet with too waste and impersonal.

We serve at table all guest with hot drink, orange juice, toasted "campagne" bread toasted, cereals, farm yogourt, house made croissants and house made jam.


See you next time

Gilles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We arrived in the beautiful village of Brantome yesterday for a visit, and fell under it's spell, and decided to stay. Our first choice for accommodation was the ever-reliable Logis system, and after reading the mixed reviews we arrived with some hesitation.
From the minute we walked through the door, we were greeted very warmly by the delightful Marielle, who showed us the room they had available, and we settled in straight away, knowing it was going to be another Logis success - after more than 25 Logis stays of varying lengths wee have yet to find a 'dodgy log is'. One of the advantages of the Logis system is their rating, so you know exactly what you are getting. This one is 2 chimneys and 2 pots out of a possible 3, alhtough having such a wonderful meal last night we think it is much closer to 2.5 pots.
We had a fantastic family room, which could sleep 5 if need be on the trundle bed, and also had a kitchenette for longer stays. The room was not full of character, but was spotlessly clean, with separate bathroom and toilet, and very comfortable.
One of the strengths of the stay was the warmth, friendliness and professionalism of fthe hosts Marielle and Gilles.. Gilles even stopped us on his way past to check we had settled in ok, and made sure there was nothing else we needed.
We would definately stay here again if we were coming to Brantome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBYGilles, Gérant at Hostellerie du Perigord Vert, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Many thanks for your visit.

It will a pleasure to welcome you again in your house.

We and all Logis hotels are here to welcome you.

Regards

Gilles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

It is very hard to write a review immediately after such a negative recent review....I can only say that we have just stayed for 6 nights (as we did last year) and found the experience better than last year.
There are some recently refurbished rooms available in a separate building just across the courtyard which are perfect if you are staying for more than one night....the ones we had came with a kitchenette..... we found the sink/worktop/fridge very useful. The rooms cost more than a standard room but the difference seems worth it.
Brantome itself is very relaxing.......there is a boat trip (7Euros) which lasts about 45/50 minutes which is very enjoyable. Two local villages - Bourdeilles and St Jean de Cole are very attractive, within 15 km, and worth a visit.
With regard to the restaurant....I think the number 1 rating is well deserved. If I can use a sporting analogy....the league table never lies! We have eaten at five restaurants in Brantome. The Perigord Vert is not the cheapest or quickest....but the quality was IMHO better than any of the others.....They have a good value menu for 19 Euro in addition to the one for 25 Euro plus other options. On a totally subjective point...I have worked for a French company for 28 years and have eaten many meals with colleagues from France.....it was clear when they were unhappy with a meal..and I saw no unhappiness during our meals at the Perigord Vert...it is a French restaurant in a French town...perhaps that needs understanding.
Finally...in terms of personal characteristics...I am not sure this has any relevance....rudeness is one thing...and should be commented on...how you look and your expressions/mannerisms are down to interpretation......after all...how many of us will be in the next Christian Dior advert...I am always being told I have a face for radio!.

Great experience...will go again next year.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra the recently refurbished rooms in the separate building are worth the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBYGilles, Gérant at Hostellerie du Perigord Vert, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Many thanks..

It' a pity that we can't give reviews for guest, you must have the best good one.

See you next year...

And good game.

Gilles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

first i would like to say what a lovely old building, but thats about as good as it gets, on arrival we were met by Giles on reception, who as a previous reviewer stated was very grumpy with a smirk on his face, well someone got that right, he then showed us to our room on ground floor away from main building next to restaurant overlooking closed swimming pool. the room was very basic, the bathroom ok but toilet seat twice size of toilet and broken so was very unsafe. booked meal in restaurant that evening, as i had seen on trip advisor it was voted number 1 in Brantome, well someone got that wrong, was greeted in restaurant by Giles who was dressed in jeans and t/shirt which he had on in morning when we arrived, not very professional for a Saturday night serving in a restaurant. there was three set menus we had the middle one at 25 euro, which in our opinion was not up to standard for this price, i would have only payed 15 euro for it. after starter and main, Giles asked us what we would like for dessert, expecting him to fetch us a menu to look at and study as our french is not very good, he appeared at the table and started to reel off in french all the deserts, i looked at him indicating that i didnt understand him and he again smirked at us. we managed to pick out chocolate mouse and creme brullee from what he had said, so we had those. we were very dissapointed with the hotel and especially Giles, on checking out he still had the same smirk on his fact, and was not in any way accommodating. WE didnt stay for breakfast as we wouldnt have paid any more money to this hotel. I would also like to say that we were touring the dordogne for 11 nights staying at different hotels every night and all hotels had been pre booked, this hotel was the only one that asked for payment on booking (which had been 3/4 months before we arrived) we would not recommend this hotel to anyone and would advise anyone visiting BRantome to stay somewhere well away from hotel and restaurant

Room Tip: book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBYGilles, Gérant at Hostellerie du Perigord Vert, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
After your review I don't know what I can answer...A guest who have the same room as your last year, and a confort one during your stay. make it for me.


It is very hard to write a review immediately after such a negative recent review....I can only say that we have just stayed for 6 nights (as we did last year) and found the experience better than last year.
There are some recently refurbished rooms available in a separate building just across the courtyard which are perfect if you are staying for more than one night....the ones we had came with a kitchenette..... we found the sink/worktop/fridge very useful. The rooms cost more than a standard room but the difference seems worth it.
Brantome itself is very relaxing.......there is a boat trip (7Euros) which lasts about 45/50 minutes which is very enjoyable. Two local villages - Bourdeilles and St Jean de Cole are very attractive, within 15 km, and worth a visit.
With regard to the restaurant....I think the number 1 rating is well deserved. If I can use a sporting analogy....the league table never lies! We have eaten at five restaurants in Brantome. The Perigord Vert is not the cheapest or quickest....but the quality was IMHO better than any of the others.....They have a good value menu for 19 Euro in addition to the one for 25 Euro plus other options. On a totally subjective point...I have worked for a French company for 28 years and have eaten many meals with colleagues from France.....it was clear when they were unhappy with a meal..and I saw no unhappiness during our meals at the Perigord Vert...it is a French restaurant in a French town...perhaps that needs understanding.
Finally...in terms of personal characteristics...I am not sure this has any relevance....rudeness is one thing...and should be commented on...how you look and your expressions/mannerisms are down to interpretation......after all...how many of us will be in the next Christian Dior advert...I am always being told I have a face for radio!.

Great experience...will go again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

A lovely relaxant stay at this traditional hôtel.On Check in we were shown promptly to our room. This was 102 which was accessed directly from the courtyard , it had obviously been recently refurbished with a modern bathroom with a great walk in shower, everything was spot less. The room also had a fridge ,much appreciated given thé hot weather during our stay.We ate in the restaurant each night and enjoyed excellent quality food and great service and we also enjoyed breakfast. Thé hôtel had a swimming pool which didn't get too crowded and was à real advantage in the heat.
Being situated in the centre of Brantome(a delightful town) there was a lot of traffic noise , this was the only disadvantage to a great stay ,but it didn't spoil our sleep or our stay and I would love to go back again.

Room Tip: Room 102 if you like the independence of having your own front door and proximity to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBYGilles, Gérant at Hostellerie du Perigord Vert, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Many thanks,

it was a pleasure for us , and we will welcome you an other time next year.

Regards

Gilles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorr, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Spent a total of 64 evenings (whew!) at the hotel and depart with a favorable perception. The room was kept up well, food and service at the restaurant was good. This hotel is very nicely located in downtown Brantome (several nice restaurants within easy walking, plenty of ancient buildings to view, and there are a number of side roads and trails to wander). Unfortunately, the town does not have or chooses not to enforce a noise ordinance. The motorcycles are exceptionally loud and very annoying - seems out of character for this classy town.

Room Tip: For extended stays, I'd recommend the rooms with the small kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostellerie du Perigord Vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Perigord Vert

Address: Route de Thiviers | 7 Av André Maurois, 24310 Brantome, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Brantome
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Brantome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostellerie du Perigord Vert 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hostellerie du Perigord Vert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie du Perigord Vert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hostellerie du Perigord Vert to your Saves list