We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin De Vigonac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Moulin De Vigonac to your Saves list
Moulin De Vigonac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vigonac | Vigonac, 24310 Brantome, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brantome
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

A charming , well kept hotel composed of several small buildings.
The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated and the bathrooms were new.
We did not eat dinner there, but the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
87
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful and peaceful setting. The hosts are warm and charming, the food quite lovely - unpretentious and perfectly prepared. Both the evening meal and breakfast were among the best we've experienced in many years of travel. We had an excellent night's sleep in the spacious and comfortable room Alexandre, where the only sound to be heard came from the gurgling water below. We would go out of our way to revisit this hotel and would urge others to do so!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Really enjoyed our overnight stay here, superb hotel in a peaceful location, excellent personal service from the owners, we were warmly welcomed by Madame Axeline.

We had a lovely room (Camille) very nicely decorated.

We were greeted by Monsieur Axeline at the restaurant door, when we arrived for dinner. We had a very good evening meal, food was excellent, service was very attentive and friendly. The owners have done all the renovation work themselves and have created a wonderful hotel.

Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed overnight in this wonderfully renovated mill, the care and attention of the hosts was excellent, they have established a truly beautiful hotel which boasts a top class restaurant, We look forward to returning in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from this stunning place. Giselle, Michel and Oliver could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. My wife has an allergy to dairy products and they made an amazing effort amount to create dishes just for her so that she too could enjoy their phenomenal gastronomic talent. The building itself is fantastic, the family have paid the same level of exceptional detail to the decor as they do to their dishes but yet it retains a personal and 'unfussed' atmosphere. It is just under a mile out out of town but it is worth the 15 minute walk to spend time in this oasis. I simply cannot say enough good things about it - it's not an economy hotel but I thought it worth every cent. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We chose this hotel on the net, had no idea about the area and felt quite nervous as we approached Brantome, it seemed so isolated. The hotel is so quiet and peaceful, we agree with all of the previous reviewer's positive observations, this is a labour of love for the family and it shows in every detail. We were warmly welcomed by Michel and Giselle, despite our appalling smattering of French we managed to communicate extremely well. We were the only guests in the restaurant on the first night and Michel cooked a splendid meal for us, we sat in front of a roaring fire (we struck a particularly cold patch whilst there) David provided excellent service, we enjoyed a leisurely dinner with no pressure to leave early. That set the pattern for the next 3 nights, excellent food cooked to order, no pre cooked fare here, and excellent service. Our first morning at breakfast a RED squirrel made an appearance in the garden! I have never seen a RED squirrel, they are on the verge of extinction. We can understand him selecting such a beautiful, friendly environment. Our room had a large terrace overlooking the mill and garden. We loved this place, it is just 30 minutes from the town of Perigord which is a charming place with the added bonus of good shopping. The Moulin might not be for everyone, it is very quiet and it is not "cheap" it does provide excellent value for money, it is stylish and friendly and a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of daily life. Thank you Michel, Giselle, Olivier and David for a wonderful experience, we are so happy we found you and have fond memories of our stay with you...and thanks little RED squirrel for making an appearance during our stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEst Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We arrived at Moulin de Vigonac after a 400 mile drive and having rejected a so called Shabby Chic hotel in Saumur.This hotel is exactly the opposite of what we found in Saumur and is a labour of love for the Alexeline family who not only operate this fantastic Oasis of a hotel but over a period of 10 years have created a truly impressive operation.Nestling in its own grounds at the end of its own white gravel drive is a true jewel of a find.Front of house impressively run by Oliver and his mother whilst his brother and father cover both Sommelier and very capable chef.The rooms are very tastefully decorated with first cass fixtures and fittings.Breakfast is probably one of the best in France with a perfect outside area adjacent to the Old Mill from which this Hotel takes its name.We will definitely return but fear it will not be too long before the word spreads and staying here will become only bookable a long time in advance.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moulin De Vigonac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin De Vigonac

Address: Vigonac | Vigonac, 24310 Brantome, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Brantome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brantome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin De Vigonac 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL 4 stars **** This 16th century watermill nestles in an idyllic location a few steps from Brantôme, “the Venice of Perigord”. Cradled by the river Dronne, the grounds and its little islands are a celebration of nature. Stimulation of the senses, a warm welcome and authentic cuisine will add to the pleasure of your stay.Located in the heart of the Perigord Vert, you will be charmed by this hotel’s natural and peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moulin De Vigonac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin De Vigonac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.