We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely well situated Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel le Schoenenbourg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel le Schoenenbourg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Schoenenbourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2a Rue de la Piscine, 68340 Riquewihr, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Riquewihr
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lovely well situated Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is located a couple of hundred yards from the lovely old town of Riquewihr and easy walking to many good restaurants. Free on-site parking was a bonus, as was the swimming pool.The rooms are large, refurbished and air conditioned.Our only concern was the yellow/gold tinted windows which cast a strange light.Nevertheless I thoroughly recommned the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    152
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
60
209
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Don't expect corporate blandness because of Best Western affiliation. Hotel seems recently refurbished. All spotless and convenient; room large by European standards. One is literally in the vineyards surrounding Riquewihr, but steps away from dining, shopping and relaxing. Pool and great views.

Room Tip: Location perfect for touring wine country. Large easily accessible parking lot; minutes walk to med...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a lovely hotel - very quiet rooms, well-appointed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location near the entrance to the walled city and many fine restaurants. Good breakfast too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stay at this hotel because it is right next to a wonderful preserved villageof Riquewihr. The alsace Lorraqine region is very hot in June. This hotel has air conditiong, free parking, and a nice large outdoor pool . The breakfast costs extra. They have a self service expresso, hot chocolate, and capuccino machine. They had a great buffet of fruit, meat, and breakfast breads. The rooms are modern and quite nice. We overlooked a vineyard. The hotel is a very good bargain especially if you book on the Best Western website and use AAA membership discount. You can also get an additional discount if you prepay. The location is near all the wonderful villages of the wine region. Riquewihr is a small beautiful protected village that is next door that has wonderful reasonable restaurants.We ate at the Grape"Or. We had scallops and duck.It was very cute and romanctic. I woudl recommend staying here over Colmar because it is quiet, peaceful, and a totally preserved village. It is like you walked back into the middle ages.

Room Tip: If you have AAA and a free Best Western gold card, you can save money booking this room. I would pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa (Mesa County), Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very clean, modern hotel overlooking the vineyards. Just a short walk to the charming medieval village of Requiwihr. Large bath, good shower, decent lighting and make-up mirror. (Careful of the slippery tiles stepping from the shower, though.) Refrigerator and extra blankets. Free parking in front of the hotel with a ramp to pull your luggage to the door. Free WiFi. Great location for the lovely villages along the Route du Vin. Friendly staff and a great value for the price (98 euros). We slept well in our air-conditioned room.

Did not eat at the hotel, but recommend Le Grappa d'Or in Requiwihr. One of our favorite dinners in 6 weeks. Fabulous food and extremely friendly, helpful staff. Made a mistake by not returning the next night, but we like to try different places. After a disappointing dinner elsewhere, we returned for dessert and received the nicest welcome.

Room Tip: Hotel is outside the village and away from busy roads, so most rooms should be quiet. Ask for a/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zur yigal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Riquewihr is such a dream town and this hotel was just the final piece in the puzzle. A minute walk from the main gate of town, peaceful and inviting. The various women in the reception were all welcoming and very nice. Even though we had a room facing the parking lot, it was still quiet (nothing can be noisy there). But if you get a room facing the other side, where the vines are, the quiet would be double! I hope to return there one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Having come across this hotel last year as we travelled back to England from Austria, we so liked what we saw that we decided to return for a short break.

The Schoenenbourg is just 150 metres outside the walls of the stunning medieval town of Riquewihr, so is handy for all the attractions, but away from the daily hustle and bustle in a peaceful location.

Initially we thought we were going to be thwarted as the Best Western site showed 'no availability', so I called the hotel direct and sure enough, although they were quite full, they had rooms to spare. We booked a Comfort Room on the first floor which was newly refurbished, air conditioned, had a large modern bathroom (no bath though, just a shower), coffee and tea facilities in the room and free use of the safe. There is no milk in the room, but if you go to reception they will give you a small jug of fresh milk which you can keep cool in the mini bar - much better than that awful powdered or long-life muck!

The hotel serves a continental breakfast for €12.50 or you can venture into town for something to eat. Beware of the French rigid approach to eating times though - petit dejeuner - breakfast - is not served after 9.30am. We tried to get served in a small bakery at 9.35 one day and despite the fact that it was empty, other than us, we got a stern 'Non!' when we asked for breakfast. We replied suitably by walking out of the place rather than having something else they had to offer and found a more accommodating restaurant down the hill!

The hotel does not serve dinner, but there are many good restaurants in the town. I would recommend La Grappe d'Or - 100 metres up from the Hotel de Ville and down the alleyway on the right. The food is excellent and sensibly priced, the service is good and they speak English fluently - something that you will find many restaurants do not do. Always try and book a table in La Grappe d'Or because if you just turn up, you are likely to be disappointed, such is the reputation of the place.

Riquewihr is superbly situated to explore the rest of the Alsace region and I would suggest following the wine trail which runs both North and South. There are some wonderful small towns to see and I would particularly recommend visiting Eguisheim, Kaysersburg, Hunawihr, Ribeauville, Chatenois and the Chateau du Haut Koenigsbourg. Ribeauville has one of the cheapest fuel stations in France and I paid €1.32 for a litre of diesel compared with €1.46 almost everywhere else (in the UK it is currently the equivalent of €1.73!!!!!!)

After you have spent a day travelling it is nice to unwind around the pool which is just across from the front of the hotel.

The wrong staff can ruin a hotel, but I am pleased to say that at this hotel, they are one of its greatest assets. They have a good attitude and are extremely helpful which gets them a big thumbs up from me.

All in all this hotel feels better than the 3 star rating it is given and far surpasses many other Best Western hotels we have seen in France.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel le Schoenenbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel le Schoenenbourg

Address: 2a Rue de la Piscine, 68340 Riquewihr, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Riquewihr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Riquewihr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel le Schoenenbourg 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel le Schoenenbourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riquewihr
Best Western Le Schoenenbourg
Riquewihr Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel le Schoenenbourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.