We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel, cheerful, bright and welcoming.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Gouverneur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel le Gouverneur to your Saves list
Hotel le Gouverneur
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Rue de Selestat, 67210 Obernai, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Obernai
Burgundy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value hotel, cheerful, bright and welcoming.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have stayed in more hotels in France than we care to count and this hotel, probably because it is owned by younger people, is far from the norm. Inside, each room has been individually decorated in bright, warm colours.
The breakfast could have been better - croissant dry - but overall we recommend the hotel. Very close to the centre of town.

Room Tip: Ask for room at rear of hotel for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    70
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
68
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waipara, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. Nice room, lovely courtyard, great breakfast (8 euros each), handy location, pleasant staff, what more could you want? Many restaurants in walking distance. Car parking available. Happily recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Large breakfast, diverses rooms in a full of charm hotel in this wonderfull local village.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights with my parents-in-law. We had 2 nice rooms next to each other. Double room (114) was small but nice decorated and good enough for two nights. Our shower did not work well because the shower cable was broke. We told it the reception and hope they will fix it for the next guest. The other triple room (113) was very space-full and also nice decorated. Shower worked perfect so I used this one! Both rooms had a big bathroom and the double room had a separate toilet. The rooms were also very clean (something we can NOT say about our hotel experience a couple months before: the 5 star Sentido hotel in Egypt we booked with Neckermann reisen Germany (not cheap): do not go there!). There is no bar or safe but free wifi in your room. Breakfast room was next to the reception but modern and very bright. Breakfast is french bread, croissants, chocolate bread, meat and chees, sweetness, eggs (you have to boil yourself), yoghurt, fruits, coffee, tea, milk and juice: enough to eat!! The hotel is just a few steps from the restaurants and old town of Obernai. We can definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Beautiful hotel with a lovely coutyard and very well located.The staff were great and changed our room when we needed a cooler room.We absolutley loved our little suite on the top floor looking on to a beautiful historical park.The hotel itself is part of the Rampart that surrounds the old town and is a beautiful site from outside as well.
I have to especially thank Christopher (hope I am not getting the name wrong) who was a real pleasure at the front desk and was one of the most helpful and accomodating staff I have ever seen.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located, relatively quiet, simply appointed, and provides a good breakfast array. The bed was very comfortable. For all that, the price is very good. We were a little taken aback by the worn carpeting and, unfortunately, the intolerable bad smell at the top of our stairs. Fortunately, the smell did not permeate our room!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street but we really enjoyed the view (old buildings, rooftops, people watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here on a group holiday, lovely town and a great location, easy walk into the town with a superb choice of restaurants.
Rooms are very variable, some light and quiet with lovely views of the town wall and countryside but ours overlooked a busy street with cobbles and was painted in a deep red colour that was like sleeping in a bottle of wine that had been open for several days, it was very cramped for a double and very hot. (Tourte des Vallees). Ask to see the room before you decide to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Gouverneur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Gouverneur

Address: 13 Rue de Selestat, 67210 Obernai, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Obernai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Obernai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Obernai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Gouverneur 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gouverneur Hotel is ideally located in the heart of the town of Obernai, in the Alsation region. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi internet access. The guest rooms are all soundproofed and individually decorated. They surround a central courtyard. The Gouverneur Hotel also serves a buffet breakfast, which can be enjoyed on the terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel le Gouverneur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Gouverneur Obernai, Alsace, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Gouverneur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.