We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little worried at first, but the CROUTE was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bier Winstub le 55 OBERNAI

Bier Winstub le 55 OBERNAI
20 rue du Marche, Obernai, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 49 Restaurants in Obernai
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bar restaurant , local cuisin with nice hidden yard to seat in good weather
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Little worried at first, but the CROUTE was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stopped over in town for a night with nothing to do. A little worried as all the restaurants look like potential tourist traps. Anyway, no regret as the croute was awesome. A big chunk of melted cheese on a crispy piece of break, then baked. The picture says it all. Unfortunately, I'm not sure when I'll have a chance to eat it again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    35
    27
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant and perfect location in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a very nice diner in the winstub of this restaurant just in front of the famous "halle aux bles". Very (very) well located in the middle of Obernai, the food was surprising and excellent. I advice the "croute de fromage". The only one we had in Alsace with the famous raclette cheese.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbertide, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“expensive but pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a pretty, kind of rustic place with comfortable tables and nice service. This was a very French food place. Snails, quenelles, etc. They were all good. But the price was high for what you got.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diepe
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not the most memorable night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We thought it would be nice to sit outside on a beautiful evening. The tables were placed way too close to each other, we felt very close to the couple at the next table. Food was very average, not at all worth the price. TV screens were showing car washing adds that were not really appropriate with children around.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Simple, hearty meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Unlike recent reviewers, we stopped here in August for lunch and found it just fine. We were told this was the only place that would serve tarte flambée at lunch, so we settled in the courtyard on a sunny Sunday afternoon. As in most terrasses in Europe, there were smokers, but thankfully they left as we arrived. The service was slow, but friendly.

We ordered the tarte flambée chèvre, which had an incredibly generous portion of chèvre dotting the top. The crust was crisp and the cheese was delicious. It was too rich to finish, and although I hesitate to ask, my daughter wanted to take the half she could not finish with us. That was no problem and they wrapped it up for us. (It was great heated up directly on the oven rack.)

My "croute montagnarde" was tasty. I've never had anything like it before, but I would say it was more like a baked cheese fondue with big chunks of bread. It was extremely rich, and probably too heavy for a warm summer afternoon. Still, it was tasty and if you have a good appetite, this will fill you and make your tastebuds happy, too. It was accompanied by a small salad.

We would probably not make a point to return, but we enjoyed this visit just fine.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bier Winstub le 55 OBERNAI also viewed

Obernai, Bas-Rhin
Obernai, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Bier Winstub le 55 OBERNAI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bier Winstub le 55 OBERNAI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.