We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bring too much luggage!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Rempart

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eguisheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge du Rempart
Save
You added Auberge du Rempart to your Saves list
3, rue du Rempart Sud, 68420 Eguisheim, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Eguisheim
Apach
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't bring too much luggage!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Well placed hotel for visting vineyards and sampling the local wines. Staff VERY nice, and the rooms were a good standard although getting to them can be tricky, lots of narrow stairs not good for those not steady on their feet or with large suitcases. Restaurant was excellent, very good local wines, make sure you reserve otherwise you won't get a table. Ask for the wines produced by the Auberge, their pinot gris was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in room 6. The room is very warm, clean and big enough for 4 of us (2 adults and 2 children). Nothing to see from the window (you can see a very big wall from this room), but it didn't bother us at all...
The breakfast is quite good and the service is excellent !
The hotel is well situated (in the middle of the village, near by everything).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in September and really enjoyed our stay.
Our room was spotlessly clean when we arrived and it was cleaned and tidied every morning of our stay. The bathroom was smallish but the shower was powerful.
Breakfast was excellent, with a good selection of food (and espresso coffee on request). We also had dinner in the restaurant one night and that was also very good. You really felt like you were eating a home-cooked meal (and I mean that as a massive compliment). The prices of the restaurant were also comaprable to other places to eat in the village.
Overall, I could not fault our stay and one of the best things about it was the really friendly service we received from the staff.
I loved Eguisheim and I loved Auberge du Rempart!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuustwezel, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

we stayed 3 nights in this splendid auberge , very well located in the heart of this small but beautiful village with great winehouses . Very nice and comfortable rooms, quiet environment , very friendly owners and staff and great cuisine. For sure a place to go back next year.

Room Tip: can advise room 11 or 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

The Auberge Du Rempart is surely one of the most romantic little inns in Alsace. Located in the medieval town of Eigesheim it is owned by a nice French woman and it has nice staff although I am sure most of them don't speak English. The cosy restaurant serves small quantities of nice food including a delicious pastry dish a bit like pizza. There are quite a few rooms probably around 20 and the rooms are quite nice for a hotel of this standard while the bathrooms are also very nice. There is a nice fountain just in front of the hotel and the streets around it have cute little medieval houses in differents colour like blue, yellow or pink and they are all wooden and concrete.

Pros:

From what I can remember our room was on the top floor with a slanting roof. The rooms have nice yellow walls and they feature a TV. There are views of the quiet street below. The bathrooms are very nice and have clean bathtubs. In fact the whole hotel is very clean. On the outside there are beautiful flowers decorating the front area where the outdoor part of the restaurant is. Like I said there is a nice fountain there too. On the streets there are pigeons and little shops just outside the B and B so everything is in easy reach.

Cons:

Although the cosy rooms had most of the things we wanted it didn't have any aircon and it was the blistering summer in the south of France. The corridors and parts of the hotel are not so well decorated and the restaurant's breakfast was small.

But people don't come here for facilities. Instead they come here for ambience and peace. I would reccomend this B and B for anyone wishing for a romantic and quiet holiday.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

We stayed here for two nights in May, an old inn forming part of the ring of mediaeval houses that protected the lovely old town of Eguisheim. Our quiet room (room 12) in the attic was quirky, with beams and loft-ladder style steps up into the sleeping area. It had a great modern bathroom, TV and what appeared to be an airconditioning unit (not operational in May). My only quibble was the horrible cheap wood laminate throughout, which detracted from the atmosphere of the place and sadly made it feel more like a Travel Inn than an old historic inn. Breakfast in the morning was fine. There is no private parking, but a free safe public carpark 100 m from the hotel did the job. The Auberge also has a restaurant open to the public, but given the wide choice of (excellent) places to eat in the village we ran out of time to try dinner there. Location is one of the main selling points for the Auberge. Eguisheim is just a few miles from Colmar and full of wine cellars, and as such a popular destination with coach trippers. But after 6, when they have all left, it is a cute and quiet village, one of the nicest beamed villages that we discovered in the area, and a great place to relax in the evening with good local wine and a tarte flambee!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Rempart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Rempart

Address: 3, rue du Rempart Sud, 68420 Eguisheim, France
Location: France > Alsace > Haut-Rhin > Eguisheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Eguisheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, very comfortable, family hotel, located in the heart of the medieval village of Eguisheim. 10 rooms, with LCD and TNT TV, hairdryer and free WI-Fi access, including 1 room with whirlpool spa bath, and 2 communicating rooms for 2 to 6 people.Buffet breakfast served on the terrace.You can also enjoy specialities from Alsace, including "tartes flambées" cooked on a wood fire on a magnificent terrace surrounding a beautiful old fountain. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Rempart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.