We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Fast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U Fanale

U Fanale
Plage du Phare, 20110 Propriano, Corsica, France
04 95 76 43 06
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 43 Restaurants in Propriano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Venez deguster nos pizzas et nos grillades au feu de bois dans un cadre idyllique
singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent and Fast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

What more can one ask for? The food was good, The staffs were friendly and fast to serve you, The view was amazing, direcly on a huge big, swings next to the restaurant for the kids! We were glad to read abt this from tripadvisor and verified the recommendation with the locals. Excellent pasta, wine, best mussels we had, excellent pizza. The burgers were huge. The fish with risotta was however less nice, though everything else were no1.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous views, excellent food, really friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I wish I'd found this restaurant at the beginning of my 10 day stay in Propriano. It's not on the beaten track so it was only through Trip Advisor that I knew about it.

Avoid all the tourist trap restaurants right in the middle of the town, keep walking to the port and near the lighthouse you'll find it. Only minimal signage - don't confuse it with the very expensive but no doubt awesome Michelin-starred restaurant which is the last restaurant along the foreshore.

I had the frites and mussels steamed with onions - excellent value and very filling. To my surprise, the mussels were a decent size - I have had moule in other French towns that were ridiculously small.

The staff had varying degrees of English and didn't mind helping me also with my stumbling French. At the finish, perhaps because I was on my own, the proprietor even invited me to have a glass of the local drink - myrtle I think it's called. Nice touch, you guys! Merci beaucoup.

There were many families there, but enough space between the tables that you never felt intruded on by children or other diners. Great for anyone - and a perfect place to watch the sunset.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snasa, Norway
1 review
“Great view, OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great view, great cured meat but the burger was a bit raw and they ran out of beer. A plus that the waiter knew some english..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great views, great food, but book to get the best tables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We returned to this restaurant after six years and we're not disappointed. Good range of fish and meat dishes served promptly even when experiencing full capacity. Views of sunset make this an excellent place to finish the day with almost pieds dans l'eau!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Fanale also viewed

Propriano, Corse-du-Sud
Propriano, Corse-du-Sud
 
Propriano, Corse-du-Sud
Propriano, Corse-du-Sud
 

Been to U Fanale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Fanale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.