We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Bergeries de Palombaggia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Les Bergeries de Palombaggia to your Saves list
Les Bergeries de Palombaggia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Palombaggia, 20137 Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Porto-Vecchio
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Pros:
- Excellent service
- Nice private beach
- Nice unlimited edge pool

Cons:
- Definitely overpriced for the kind of resort itself according to the international standards
- Long distance driving to reach the hotel around the road Palombaggia
- Room mantainance needs to be done: doors are making lots of noise on opening and closing, terrace door cannot be locked, no boiler, no coffee machine, etc.
- Lots of mosquitos(but this is applicable in general in Corsica.), with the price they charge, a daily fumination could be requested.

Room Tip: Do not request for rooms number 1 or 2, they are over the reception and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
25
60
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Einsiedeln, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This nice bergerie is just 700 m from the famous Palombaggia beach, away from the crowd...

Just enjoy the amazing view, the absolute nice patio (large room, good bed and bathroom and on top a terrasse to enjoy the full day sun). The infinity pool is loungy, a bit fresh mid May when we were there, but what to say.

Service is great, warm welcome, 2 times a day clean towels in bathroom, 'lekker' breakfast and the cook is making gastronomic meals.

It's 15 minutes away from Porto Vecchio by car, no worries about restaurants in 5 minutes drive..

One night is too short, try a 2 or 3 say to fully enjoy the comfort and location.

Room Tip: 209. this patio has the full view on the sea, with a nice little garden with Olive tree and flower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colmar, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I spent two nights in this hotel and l have been very impressed by the location and the quality of the suites. The staff is very helpful and gentle. It is a very natural and quite place where life is going very smoothly.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms which have been renewed récently in a neo rustic style
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel was the highlight of a holiday my wife and I took to Corsica last September. The hotel is situated on a hillside with a wonderful view of the sea and beach.

The rooms / small cottages were modern, exceptionally comfortable and tastefully decorated.

The restaurant was excellent and the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. All round a great success.

Room Tip: Recommend a sea view - it is spectacular. Rooms in the main building above the restaurant could be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and some 2,5k euros, including some food and wine. The first impression of the place is good, and in deed, the villas are nice, clean and even the shower works like nowhere else in southern Europe.
Then comes the evening and first dinner. The food is great if you can remember something about it. The entrees were accompanied by angry bees, followed later on by mosquitoes. And I don't mean one occasional mosquito, there's a number of them, feasting on your flesh.
So we ate take-away pizza in the villa for the remaining nights.
Finally, there's the road to the beach, 800 meters long with 40 meters elevation. So it's not really near, at least for children and we opted to go by car to the nearby beach parking areas.
As a conclusion, the hotel is nice (by daytime) but totally overpriced. We will definitely not return there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is totally incoherent. It has no discernible personality. Parts of it are quite nice and others are appalling. The two worst aspects were our room, which had no view from either the room or the terrace and little direct light - it felt as if we were in a basement - and, secondly but not least, the truly horrible "restaurant" which served almost inedible food in tiny quantities at outrageous prices. The chef had absolutely no clue what the clients needed in the way of food and, despite several conversations with him, was entirely deaf to our pleas. He spent hours chopping and assembling (which meant a long wait at table) to produce something that resembled a child's Lego creation and was pretty unpalatable. In order to feed ourselves we took nearly all our meals outside the hotel as did all the other families, which was very inconvenient and unrelaxing.

The décor was pretty banal and not particularly comfortable - the seating in the restaurant and round the pool wasn't great and there wasn't enough shade. The pool was quite nice, though not much fun for children (of whom there were many at the hotel) and not really swimmable - people just hung around in it trying to keep cool.

We didn't enjoy our holiday and certainly won't be returning to this very odd and overpriced establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

When you see the pictures at internet you will surprise when you arrive. It is a compact area with the swimmingpool, terrace and reception. We had a patio room, spacious, only the patio may have a little bit more flowers.In front of our room there where working activities but not too noisy. Great is the access to the beach and yes it is a large sandy beach but when you go to the left from the parking area you have Chez Pierre with restaurant and sunbeds and another sunbed restaurant.
We had dinner one night and the service was good and also the food. We don't like the music, in tje morning it was very classic and gloomy, play your music from Corse!! Also surprising is to pay for a egg € 5,00 when the price of the breakfast is € 22,00. Many thanks for helping reparing our broken carwindow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Bergeries de Palombaggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Bergeries de Palombaggia

Address: Route de Palombaggia, 20137 Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porto-Vecchio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Bergeries de Palombaggia 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Les Bergeries de Palombaggia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Bergeries De Palombaggia Hotel Porto-Vecchio
Les Bergeries De Palombaggia Corsica/Porto-Vecchio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Bergeries de Palombaggia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.