We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domaine de la Pointe | Golfe d'Ajaccio, 20166 Porticcio, Corsica, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER DEAL: UP TO 40%OFF
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Porticcio
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Whilst the hotel is splendid, the view breathtaking and the Spa really pleasant, I thought this Sofitel is not to the standards of the astronomical prices (around EUR 3K per person for 6 days excl. flights & transportation...!):
SERVICE:
-at the Spa: the personnel is pleasant and attentive, fab!! it's really relaxing and we had a good time chatting with the personal trainers at the gym and the girls working at the Spa. thank you
-Pool area: very nice and professional. great, thanks!
- Restaurant: the service at the restaurant is appaling. It takes about 2.5+hours to get served a meal for 6. Breakfast is good, dinner is very good, lunch is at best mediocre.
- reception: not great. hypocritical smiles, no real service or useful information
- cleaning staff: I appreciated the impeccable service from the cleaning staff who brought fresh fruit and water daily a well as cleaned the room thoroughly. They were always smiling and pleasant when we ran into them. thank you!!
- director: the VIP jet-setter. the hotel view is absolutely amazing. He organized welcome drinks for us.. between the laudromat and the parking lot (with no view of course and nasty odors from the parking lot). And if you think I am joking, I am not. and he arrived late.. of course. All week it looked like we was on vacation rather than us. honestly, shoking!!
-PREMISES
There is no access to the tiny beach so nobody uses it (we asked the director but he said it was to keep people that were not from the hotel off the beach.. ?!??)
the property is beautiful, the salt-water pool is very pleasant, the pool area is darling with breathtaking views to the sea. i loved spending time lazying in the garden, it's really agreeable.
I think the rooms are fine. The decoration is not to my taste but the beds are very comfortable, the TVs are bad quality so the sound and image are quite mediocre. we had a small terrasse with a sea view. Nice to wake up to. my friends had a much nicer room i have to say with a terrasse that was fab.
The Spa and gym are superb: we had a great time working out and getting pampered every day.
OVERALL: I had a great time thanks to my entourage and thanks to the Spa/Gym. I dont think I will go back as I know many places where the standards are higher and the prices similar or cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    139
    48
    26
    6
See reviews for
67
214
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The most positive was the view. It was breathtaking and that alone was worth it. I have recommended the hotel based on that. However, the staff service was below average, often at the bar, when you needed someone, no one could be found. The service of the pool was excellent. We especially appreciated when the gentleman helped us set up our sun bathing chairs, etc.; it was going the extra mile. The first night at dinner, it was a buffet. The food was ok, but I was surprised to be charged 60€ per person for a simple buffet (wine and drinks not included). I am happy to pay money, but for good food. I think the price for the buffet was too much. Overall though, the view was so great and the overall experience was positive, so I would recommend it to others, but with a note of caution. Especially when you check out, the bill was all wrong and we had been charged for dinners and other things that we did not have. So do check your bill carefully before you pay. But all in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The finest resort we have ever visited in Corsica. Infiniti pool reminded me of a ship's prow, 280 degree views of the ocean, wonderful grounds, comfortable outdoor furniture. Meals were superb, service devine. Room had an amazing deck overlooking the beach. The only downside is the price, I believe two rooms plus meals was around $2,500 for one night. Worth the splurge but be prepared.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front next to the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

located directly at the sea, this is a dream.
pool, spa, fitness just perfect.
the hotels restaurant is too expensive for what it delivers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We hadn't stayed at this Sofitel for 3 or 4 years now. It's now a 5* hotel and you can really see and feel the difference when it comes to quality of the service. As much as I found the service weak and lack of personel unacceptable the last time, this time it went well beyond my expectations most of the time. Food and breakfast were great too.

It's all about the location most people say, and this place is really great. Not everything is perfect, there's only a small beach and the water of the pool is salty. There's really only one downside, the hotel is in the axis of one of the runways of Ajaccio's airport, so you get to hear and see a number of airplanes from close, especially on busy days.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

There was no beach, just the pool... with a dirty glass on the side
The hotel was looking old and really need renovations but the service was okay and people at the desk helpful and nice...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nice france
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

Not what it appears to be! It is certainly a nice hotel, with large comfortable rooms, but the service stinks!! We went there with friends who had award vouchers from freq flier miles - thank goodness, because it is grossly overpriced for the poor quality of service.

The food was of good quality, but the service was horrible. Very erratic. Slow waiters, didn't understand (and we are French, mind you!). It took nearly an hour to be served the first course, and just as long for a second course ordered by one person in our party - which we ultimately sent back. We weren't much in a hurry, but when the wait became interminable, we complained - and they really didn't seem to care.

Later someone in our party was injured by a pool tile that broke. Certainly, we can't fault them for the accident as the tiles seemed not to be defectuous - but they were completely lifeless when dealing with the problem. They had little or no first aid supplies, took ages to get in touch with a dr. or the emergency squad - and silly enough for them, didn't really have any kind of procedure in terms of declaring an injury.

Furthermore, by the 'base nautique' it is mentioned that there is waterskiing, parasailing, diving etc. etc - when you go to ask, they told us that there is, in fact, no such thing at the hotel, but the concierge could direct us somewhere!??! (Couldn't they indicate that in the hotel description, and on the sign by the 'base nautique').

The beach has room for only about 12 people, and is nothing special.

Going back to the food service, even for breakfast, we ordered eggs. We had time to eat other things from the buffet, drink our coffee, relax a while - and when we finally gave up any hope of seeing our eggs and walked away, we noticed a waiter delivering our eggs to the wrong table (the client said he didn't order them, but he'd love to have them.... so he did!).!??!?

While certainly the view is magnificent, this has nothing to do with the hotel, and you might as well stay about anywhere down the road -save your self some money - go to nicer beaches and drive to the water sports, and definitely find better service. (in the evening, we went to a pizzaria a short distance form the hotel - it was just fine - no stars, but the waitress was efficient and the food was quick and good!).

  • Liked — Nice rooms, very comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Service, in all aspects, was very poor!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa

Address: Domaine de la Pointe | Golfe d'Ajaccio, 20166 Porticcio, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porticcio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Porticcio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Ajaccio Bay and the Sanguinaires Islands, Corsica provides a stunning setting for the hotel and its thalassotherapy institute. With unrestricted views of sky, sea and rocks, the hotel boasts a small private beach, where guests can sunbathe and swim in total peace, plus a large outdoor pool . This is simply heaven. The ideal setting for long holidays or short and memorable healthy breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Thalassa Porticcio Hotel Porticcio
Sofitel Porticcio
Accor Thalassa Porticcio
Porticcio Sofitel
Sofitel Golfe D'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea And Spa Porticcio, Corsica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.