We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little hotel in Calvi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Caravelle

Save Saved
You added La Caravelle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Caravelle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de la Plage, 20260 Calvi, Corsica, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 hotels in Calvi
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good little hotel in Calvi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Nice hotel! We had room facing the garden on ground floor, rooms are not big but quite good. Nice, new bathrooms.
We only got options of half board when booking, but if you can - book only with breakfast. The 4 course dinner that are included are not bad, just boring and you get much better dinner options in town. We therefore ended up going to town half of the nights we stayed there.

Really nice staff, specially our waiter were really charming and took good care of us.

Hotel is greatly located right on beach, like 20 meters to walk :-) Nice facilities on beach, including a beach bar/restaurant to have lunch.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    35
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
36
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was very nervous when I booked this hotel, as it was the only one with availability, I was very pleasantly surprised, the gardens are lovely, we had a garden room with a very dainty view. The hotel is the closest to the beach, maybe 30m max! A very short walk to the harbour and town for restaurant options. We split the week into half board and breakfast only and as eating out can be expensive this seemed to work well. The staff could not have been more helpful. I agree the rooms are small, but they are clean and comfortable. Facilities are limited (no fridge and the hairdryer is pretty bad - my only complaint) but really for the money and other more important requirements I'll survive.
We hired a car so the parking was very useful and we managed many day trips around the island.
You won't be disappointed if you book here, a pair of safe hands!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wennington, Nr Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very good location for Calvi beach and short walk into Calvi town. Rooms clean, adequate but not much space, good ensuite shower room. Gardens outside are well kept, not allowed to lie on the grass!! Two chairs provided to sit on outside. We booked on half board basis - set menu which unfortunately was 4 courses all cheese based! The vegetarian members of our group struggled to get a suitable option. Car parking facilities outside hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Modern hotel within walking distance harbour and citadelle Calvi.
Public car park right ourside hotel.
Very close to Calvi beach and a nice walk over beach to Calvi.
Rooms modern but on the small side. Modern bathroom with walkin shower.
aircon good and flat screen tv.
Busy hotel and I think being used by coach parties so usuaal fully booked.
Rooms on ground floor facing small garden with french doors.
Restaurants /shops/coffee shops etc all nearby walking distance.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms with balcony probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just a few steps away from the train stop (ask to get off at Lido), and the beach. The beautiful old town is about 15 minutes walk, although there are cafes, restaurants, an ATM and a large supermarket nearby. The supermarket does hot food, which is ideal for a beach picnic.

As seems to be the norm in Corsica, they insist in taking a deposit to confirm booking. Their online booking system was not working at the time, so I needed to make a euro bank transfer, which could be costly if you are not set up to do this.

The hotel does push the half board and breakfast buffet options, but they did quote for room only when asked. The breakfast buffet is a little pricey, at €15, so we opted for a nice cup of coffee in one of the nearby cafes for €2.50.

The garden rooms are very small, but fine if you are only there for a day or two. The garden is immaculate.

The only negative was that when I asked if they could book a taxi to Calenzana, they called around and quoted €40. When I spoke directly to the drivers at the train station the price was actually €30. I can understand a markup but 33% is excessive.

Overall a good choice for a day or two in Calvi

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

On a visit to Europe from our home in Australia, this was a perfect place to spend a week in early September and to meet up with an old friend from France. We had rooms opening on to the beautiful, well-maintained garden. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We chose half board: breakfasts were generous buffet-style and could be eaten on the patio; four-course dinners were delicious and varied. Next day's menus were posted the previous night, and guests are able to request a different dish if something on the menu is not to their taste. Quantities are nicely judged. Some very good local wines are available. The hotel is ideally situated both for swimming at a good sandy beach, and also for strolling into the picturesque old town with its intensely blue harbour surmounted by the Citadel. The little train stops just outside the hotel gate and several excursions can be taken by it.

Room Tip: Ground floor garden rooms are small but adequate and comfortable, and are well placed for older visi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

From the main road, La Caravelle doesn't look like anything special - positioned next to the railway line at the back of a dusty car park - but step into the pristine gardens and you enter another world. I arrived quite late but was greeted by a friendly receptionist who showed me to my small, but spotlessly clean room on the first floor of the main hotel. A good sized balcony over looked the bay, the brooding Citadel - and the pristine gardens. The main harbour with its miriad, noisy, waterside restaurants is a comfortable 10 minute stroll away. Or take the tram which stops right next to the hotel. Try the local moules-frites - delicious.
Breakfast is served on the shaded terrace where the clientele seemed to be mostly affable French and German tourists. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a break in Calvi.

Room Tip: Opt for a first or second floor room - the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Caravelle

Address: Route de la Plage, 20260 Calvi, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Caravelle 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Caravelle Calvi, Corsica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Caravelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.