We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I had hoped for...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calvi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Calvi Hotel to your Saves list
Calvi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Christophe Colomb | RN 197 B.P 18, 20260 Calvi, Corsica, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Calvi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Everything I had hoped for...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is perfect! The rooms are spacious, clean and well-appointed, with balconies facing the sea. The staff is helpful and friendly, and the location couldn't be better. It's just a short, beautiful, 10-minute walk into Calvi, 500 meters from a grocery store (for picnicking on the beach)-- but it only takes a minute to walk to the beach from your room, where you have soft sand, clear water, and a great view of Calvi. Our only regret is that we didn't spend more time there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    39
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CORK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was a bit apprehensive about booking this hotel because at the time the reviews really weren't that favourable (as least the ones written in English anyway!) I was torn between this hotel and the Hotel Saint Christophe but in the end decided to go with Cavi Hotel and how glad am I that I did!. The location of this hotel is perfect - it is on the beach. We stayed in room 208 which has a sea view - we did not request this so there was no extra charge - we just got lucky. Some previous poster was complaining that there werent any pictures in the room! Well they are correct but the rooms are huge, spotlessly clean, have free WIFI, room 208 had a walk in wardrobe and a big bathroom - all of these things are much more important to me than a few pictures on the wall - if you want something nice to look at go out on to the balcony! The only thing that would have been nice a nice addition to the room would have been a kettle.
We did not eat breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on that - I thought 12 euro each was very pricey for breakfast but this seemed to be the norm as there were other hotels charging the same.
The beach is beautiful - lovely white sand and crystal clear water and a fabulous view of Calvi and the citadel across the bay. We went to Corsica at the end of August so it was starting to get quiet there but I could see how the beach would be very crowded during the peak tourist season, however if you want to get out of Calvi and go to one of the many other beaches there is a train from Calvi that goes all the way to Ile Rousse with several stops at various beaches along the way. The rail line passes behind the Calvi hotel.
The walk from the hotel to Cavi was a lovely 10 minute walk on the beach - 20 minutes if you go by road. If you do go to Calvi by road you will pass the Super U market which has absolutely everything - great for last minute purchases of cheese and charcuterie!
Staff at the Calvi hotel were very accomodating - we asked for a late checkout as our flight was in the evening and there was no problem doing so even though our room was being used again that day.
I did happen to come across Hotel Saint Christoph during a walk and was so glad we didn't book it. It is on the seafront but doesnt have any nice beach - that were steps down to rocks and some people were sunbathing there and swimming from the rocks but due to the direction these rocks face - they are in the shade by early evening - same with the pool that is also in the shade from the afternoon onwards.
All in all would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 208 has a sea view and is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent location to the sites yet far enough where you're not in the tourist noise. Cute restaurants all around and a view of the Citadel. Hair salon 1 block away, small markets for Corsican sausages and fresh fruit within 3 blocks. Port area fun for sunset drinks 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobris, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

As part of our honeymoon, we stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel itself tries to look luxurious, but could do with a bit of refurbishing. Rooms were fine - noisy AC with the fan on balcony, which caused it almost impossible to sit there when it was running, minibar (2.50€per bottle of water), which we used for our food to keep cold (the only problem is the cleaners are supposed to get rid of all the stuff that does not belong in, so we always swapped it before they came;)). There is huge supermarket Casino nearby, the beach is just 5 minutes walk, packed though. There is not really a sea view, we had a lovely view st the citadel. Last morning went for a breakfast (12€ buffet), which was rather good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
733 reviews 733 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
815 helpful votes 815 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night, which was fine for our early afternoon flight to Nice. The airport is only a 10-minute drive away. But we found nothing special about the hotel or the room. The hotel sits on the main road into Calvi and offers plenty of free parking with lots of traffic noise at the front. It is about a 10-minute walk into town, either along the busy main street or along the beach behind the hotel, which takes about three minutes to reach on foot. There is no lift in the hotel, so this is not a place to stay above the ground floor with lots of luggage.

Our basic room had obviously received much use and needed an update. But it was clean and provided a comfortable bed. We could see the sea off in the distance from our room's balcony.
The air conditioning worked well, which was much appreciated because of the heat and humidity. We had a bathtub but no standard shower, which we prefer. The wi-fi worked fine.

The hotel provides food service but we saw no one dining there. We ate dinner in town and found a nearby place for a continental breakfast in the morning.

We saw only one staff member during our stay. When she left the reception desk at 11 p.m., no one took her place. She returned in the morning. Her English was excellent and she was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed talking with her.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biot, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went in April 2013, this is a good place and you are almost in the front of the beach of Calvi, you just have to pass a private path to reach the beach,
The hotel was quiet and clean, the bed also was good too

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

huge room by Corsican standards but my goodness what a soulless place-no pictures, no ornaments, not much furniture just the absolute essentials. Rather like a motel really. Breakfast was ok. Oh -and there were ants in the bathroom!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calvi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calvi Hotel

Address: Avenue Christophe Colomb | RN 197 B.P 18, 20260 Calvi, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calvi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Calvi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le calvi hôtel se situe a 50 m par accès privé de la plage de Calvi.43 chambre de 2 à 6 personnes de 20 à 50 m² hors terrasse. Bain ou douche. Toutes les chambres ont un dressing, coffre, sèche cheveux mini bar.Parking privé. Idéal pour profiter de la longue plage de Calvi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Calvi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calvi Hotel Corsica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calvi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.