We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts Who Really Care !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yialos Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Yialos Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Yialos Beach Hotel
Yialos, 84001, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Ios
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Hosts Who Really Care !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Yialos Beach Hotel in July.

We had originally made plans to stay with Lambros from Villa Mata. Lambros had pre warned us he had 20 young Italian Backpackers staying at Villa Mata but said we can work it out when we get there.

So Lambros picked us up at the port and explained to us we where most welcome at his hotel but he though we ( couple in late 30s) may like staying at Yialos Beach Hotel instead which was right next door.

We instantly took a liking to the place, it had a great pool/ bar area and the place was spotless.

We stayed in a room with a pool view. The room was spotlessly clean, air-conditioned and basic. It had a bar fridge. We thought it was great value for the price we paid.

The pool was of 5star quality as was the service from Flora ( The Mojito Queen),Dimitri and another young lady whos name escapes me.

They all made us feel like "Guests" in their own house. Nothing was to much trouble, late afternoons around the pool bar having a few drinks and laughs with staff and other guests was a real highlight.

Bar Food was good for a snack. Cocktails where 1st Class.

We tried a few local restaurants which were recommended to us by staff which where very good. Please be aware though that "cash is king" in Greece and most places do not take cards.

Lambros called past most days to see we where happy. He recommended going to Maganari beach. It is a good 45min ride on scooter up and down some huge hills with some awesome views along the way. You can also get the bus and boat there but we arrived at around 10am prior to both the boat and bus arriving and we had the whole place to ourselves. It was one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever been to, crystal clear water !!!

We would have no hesitation recommending Yialos Beach Hotel to anyone. Rooms may not be 5star but everything else there is .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

An excellent hotel with a very nice pool area!!!! Great bar service (omelettes, club sandwich, cocktails etc) Nice and clean rooms with cosy balconies! Friendly people and family atmosphere!!!! Totally recommendable!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed three days in yalos beach hotel and the overall experience was good.
The room we stayed was really nice and clean. Traditional cycladic architecture.
Big swimming pool and nice bar.
Poor breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Ideally situated in the Port area of Ios. 5 minutes walk from the boat. Having last been in Ios 30 years ago , I had almost forgotten how spectacularly beautiful the island is . Forget the hype about Ios being the "party island" - Yes, it is there but is not at all intrusive the port area is the perfect location for getting around and exploring Ios. The restaurants in that area are extremely good. The Yialos Beach hotel as a most pleasant surprise. The pool area is exceptionally good . Attractive, well maintained, and very clean and tidy . Considering nothing much grows on Ios , the gardens are a credit to the owners.
Rooms are simple but have good sized stone balconies all looking out over the pool area . Those on the ground level do not have sea views although the first floor ones probably would. Obviously a lot of time and effort has been put in by the family owners in making this place such a pleasant haven. The only negative I could find was that the bathroom fittings are a little dated - however I'm sure this will be on the list "to do".

There are a few really nice touches , like a basket of fresh beach towels brought to the pool each morning.

Breakfast is quite simple but splendidly served by the family. In fact, one over-riding feature is how caring , considerate and kind all the family members are in ensuring an unforgettable stay . We will be back !

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a better view outside the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresh Meadows, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

this is a family run hotel . very friendly warm people. adult children help their parents. food is absolutely delicious. prices are fair and reasonable. pool is kept spotless. no roughhousing allowed around the pool. children play while parents keep a watch over them. you can walk to the beach and restaurants. all in all a wonderful experience. the morning coffee is absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

A vey nice hotel, very close to the beach and to IOS port. Nice comfortable and clean rooms. We stayed for 14 days summer of 2011 with our 2 teenage boys. The hotel is a very nice simple hotel with a nice big swimming pool, pool bar with drinks and snacks (sandwiches, burgers, clubs etc) so we stayed there for the day when we wanted a relaxing day. The owners were very kind and gave us information for tips, beaches and restaurants. Beach was just across the street. We walked to the beautiful port with the yachts and little fishing boats. Chora (the main village of the island) with the beautiful old traditional houses and little shops, as well as bars, clubs and restaurants is just 1km away. We would definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed at the Yialos Hotel as part of an island hopping package that took us to Santorini - Ios - Naxos and back to Santorini. After being wowed by the beauty and magic of Santorini we were reluctant to leave but looking forward to experiencing another island. From reviews elsewhere we were prepared for Ios to be abit livlier!

We arrived at the port and found our transfer contact holding the usual name sign. Expecting to hop in a car to be transferred we started walking down the road as the hotel was literally 5 minutes from the port and the transfer was infact the owner. Upon arrival the hotel looked lovely, quaint buildings and an immense pool that was sparkling in the sun with pool bar & music playing. Rooms were as expected, modest, but had aircon, fridge and were clean. The rooms also had spacious balconies overlooking the pool with lines for washing which was useful.

On to Ios, we went wandering to get our bearings and to find the Chora & Milotopolas Beach. The hotel was quite a walk from the main Chora, up some steep roads and took about a 45 mins to eventually reach Milotopolas Beach. There is a smaller beach right next to the hotel but this wasn't as clean, and has few shops/bars nearby.

We hadn't travelled to Ios to party hard (as we had heard it was renound for) but were prepared to experience this as part of our trip. Travelling late September didn't seem to help as everywhere was shutting down for the season. All the Chora shops were shut during the day and evenings we usually stayed by the port. There was one night where we couldn't find one bar open for drinks so ended up on our balcony which isn't what we wanted. The hotel owners were also often out or unavailable for service if we wanted a drink in the evenings.

All in all a nice hotel, although not ideally located for young people looking to hit the clubs & bars. Bad timing for us as season was coming to an end so review might have been kinder had we visited earlier. Although glad to have been I wont be returning to Ios - Santorini & Naxos won hands-down!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yialos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yialos Beach Hotel

Address: Yialos, 84001, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Ios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Yialos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yialos Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.