We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with great & friendly owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Katerina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Katerina to your Saves list
Hotel Katerina
Mylopotas, 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Ios
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Olsztyn, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with great & friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We had a wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable stay at Hotel Katerina.

The accommodation was fantastic - Katerina is truly beautiful hotel with amazing view and excellent service. Friendly and helpful owners and perfect location of Katerina made our stay a memorable one. Thank You!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    18
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Me and three of my girlfriends (all aged 24-25) stayed at Hotel Katerina (also known as Katerina’s Rooms, Katerina’s Villas) and we absolutely loved it! I kept meaning to write a review but never got around to it until now- hopefully this will be helpful!

We travelled to several islands for 2 weeks in mid August & Ios was by far our favourite and we stayed there the longest (approx 5 days and got a great deal on booking.com). The ferry ride over from Santorini was a little wavy but as soon as we arrived the hotel staff was waiting for us at the port to take us to the hotel. The room was for 4 people and it was comfortable, not the biggest room we came across but definitely sufficient with a nice bathroom, air conditioning, maid service every day and a mini-fridge. There was also a nice seating area right outside the room where we often sat at night and pre-drank with our Aussie neighbours before we went out to the bars. The bartender/cook at the hotel didn’t seem to like us that much but he made a mean club sandwich (I think I ate one every day!).

As far as location, the hotel was right in the middle of where you want to be. I’d say it’s about a 10 minute walk down to the main beach (little steep so wear good shoes!) and probably a 10 minute walk up to the town where everything is located (including grocery stores, hospital etc). The town was full of amazing bars and restaurants including George’s Golden Pitta (make the best gyros which we got almost every night after the bar) as well as a great restaurant called “Ali Babba’s”- the owner of this restaurant actually stayed at Hotel Katerina and told us about it- it was excellent! We even visited this one hotel on the way into town looking for food and the guy working at it was closing but opened up the kitchen to make us homemade pizzas! The people in Ios are great…

A few more things you should know:
PRO’S
-The pool and the view from the hotel is absolutely breathtaking, the beaches are gorgeous. If you have the time and 2 Euros, take the local bus in town to Manganari Beach. The bus ride alone is incredible (lots of craters, hills) and the beach is so quiet and peaceful…lots of nice looking guys in speedos too! If you don’t feel like taking a day-trip, just stick around the fabulous pool at the hotel- there’s lots of lounge chairs!
-The bar scene is awesome and doesn’t get started until after midnight if not later. Make sure you check out Flames (it’s tiny but awesome!) We also hit up this one bar that had glow paint and lit the bar on fire which was cool. Kandi is another popular one. We never went to Scorpion but heard it was “interesting” to say the least- think it was the after-after hours club…
-Ios was by-far the cheapest island we visited (out of Mykonos and Santorini) so take advantage of it.
-The hotel owners would often let us use the internet for free which was great!

CONS
-Sometimes the bar/food service closed early (hence the home-made pizza story above) It would have been nice to socialize more with the hotel patrons around the beautiful pool/view later in the evening.
-My friend paid to get her laundry done at the hotel. We she received it back we think they put it in a bread bag with bread crumbs all over it. Little weird to put clean clothes in a dirty bag but whatever! Not a big deal.
-We could not rent a moped or scooter anywhere (we think they were discriminating against the ladies but who knows…) Suggest you make a reso for one as soon as you arrive…might be a good idea to get your international licence as well (we’re from Canada)

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

This hotel was by far, the best hotel we stayed at during our entire Greek island trip!
It was a family run hotel named after the grandmother and granddaughter (whom hung out playing by the pool all day long).
The view of the island was absolutely stunning from our hotel. The hotel is situated high up, so the view from our room was overlooking the main pool area that also overlooked the entire beach - watching the sunrise was breathtaking! The pool area was fun with lots of people, and it also had a great snack and drink bar.
The town is a short walk away (10-min), and was ideal at night after drinking at the bar.
The beach was a 5-10 minute walk from our hotel, however it was all downhill. The walk back up to the hotel was a bit challenging after a day out in the sun, but well worth it!
The rooms were clean but pretty tight - we stayed in a triple occupancy room with 3 single beds. Our bathroom looked newly renovated, which was nice.
The service was unbelievable... the barman let me use the cordless land phone to call Canada, since i had bought the wrong calling card - super nice!
Also, our hotel had a shuttle service which we didn't know about. After our ferry docked at the port, we saw a guy holding up a sign that said "Hotel Katerina", and so we followed him. He was the owner of the hotel and picked up all the new guests in his shuttle van and drove us to the hotel for free! We also were driven to the port the day we checked out as well.
Overall experience of the hotel was unbelievable, and I would recommend it for all travellers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

We booked this hotel on accident, thinking it was something else and we got lucky! It was amazing. The views over Mylopotos beach and the water were awesome! We were in the topmost room but all the rooms had great views and a private terrace/balcony. It was a quick and easy five minute walk to the beach. The hotel also had a great pool and poolside bar. The room was great too. The hotel is a little outside of the main town where all the bars and clubs are. But it was only a ten minute walk and easy and safe to do at night. Overall we couldn't have picked (or accidentally picked) a better hotel!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

This family owned and run hotel maintained high quality service and an impressive professionalism, during our stay, often lacking in family businesses. The whole family, including gorgeous little 2-year-old Katerina, were completely lovely.

The room was cleaned everyday by a somewhat over-zealous but also lovely girl, who could later be seen sitting around the pool with the rest of the family. However before sipping cocktails at sunset she had ensured that our room was immaculate each day.

The free wireless internet was a pleasant surprise.

The swimming pool sparkled bright blue and I had a good few naps on the comfy deck chairs. It's a great hotel in a great location and you really feel as if you're in the outdoors and the architecture is really organic. The views are breathtaking and you can really connect with nature at the Hotel Katerina, even if you are more just looking to party like we were (early one morning, after returning from a night out, I spotted a snake- but luckily it was dead and besides it was pretty miniature).

Anyway have a chocolate milkshake by the pool. Really yummy and home made.

  • Liked — The family
  • Disliked — The snake
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

We stayed in the Katerina with our son who is exactly, to the day, the same age as little Katerina. We had a super time in a fantastic accommodation. we got air-con, TV (to watch EURO 2008!!) and a really well decorated and furnished brand new room!!

The pool is immaculate and overlooks, from a great height, Mylopotas beach. Beautiful. A fair walk down a steep hill with our (broken, since thrown away) pram, in a mini heat wave, but we're fit and theres a mini market at the bottom of the hill for a drink.

The pool bar has lots of things available, Breakfast etc anyway and town is only a ten minute stroll away,

  • Liked — Everything, its lovely
  • Disliked — The walk (but I still enjoyed that!)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

This hotel has the most magnificant, amazing, beautiful view!!! The pool area is lovely, clean and a higher class than many others. the room we stayed in is on the cheaper side (the old part of the hotel) which are basic but clean, however there is usally lots of noise in the night from people coming in late. we are opting for the nicer rooms above the pool this year. Our 3rd year going back to this hotel. We definately recommend it - so much so we are spending our honeymoon there!!!! the best way to get to the beach is the bus unless you want to face sliding down cardiac hill and crawling up it after a day at the beach. the town is very easy to walk to but is a nice distance away so theres no noise near the hotel. Make sure you visit harmony restaurant at mylopotos beach.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the noise in the night
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Katerina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katerina

Address: Mylopotas, 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Katerina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katerina Hotel Ios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Katerina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.