We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay in Ios” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mata

Save Saved
You added Villa Mata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Mata
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yialos Beach, 84001, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 44 hotels in Ios
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay in Ios”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here at short notice, recommendation from a friend and it was a wonderful surprise. Tucked away just behind the beach on the port, very simple and pretty place with Bougainvillea all over, very clean rooms, extremely friendly owners (Lambros will do his best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible), and 2 minutes walk away from a lovely port beach. maximum 5 minutes walk from beach cafe/bar, small super market, ticket office by the landing bay, scooter rental, and little shops selling local stuff. All very quiet, friendly and peaceful, you would not know its a port at all. I have traveled a lot all over, and enjoy simple beach hotels with no fuss. This is one of the best I have stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
33
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lambros is the best host possible. You leave feeling like an old friend rather than a guest. The rooms are nice and very clean. We even had our own kitchen. When I go back to Ios this is the place I will stay at.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Second time I have stayed here and wouldn't stay anywhere else. .Lambros is the most helpful person on the island always around the hotel offering advice on everything from Ios to other parta of Greece...will even go out drinking with the guests if required. ..what a great host

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ios, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the best, the loveliest, the homiest, the awesomest, the friendliest place we have ever been to!! clean rooms, super location, wonderful enviroment.
we love villa mata cause it feels like home.
cheap place but great service....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When I stayed in Villa Mata earlier this month, I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the place. For 15euros a night I had my own double bed, the room was cleaned every day, and I of course was gifted with the advice and good humour of Lambros; a thoroughly solid and well natured chap. The building itself is beautiful, with a leafy, shady front yard filled with the music of songbirds which hang in cages. All is very clean and well kept. The only downside is that it is a bit of a distance from the main town, where the bars and clubs are located. Even so there is a regular bus up the hill to the town, or if you like a fairly easy path, so criticising the location is very much nitpicking. In all, Villa Mata is bloody brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed at Villa Mata last summer and am going back again this year, the location is perfect!
Right next to the sea and a short walk from both the port and the main town, on arrival the owner came to pick us up and show us about, recommending some of the better places to eat and enjoy the night life.
The room was just the right size and had a balcony with a wonderful breeze and on arriving we were able to make ourselves right at home.
Overall great stay, looking forwards to going back!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have great balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The best place in greece!!! we loved it!!! the atmospheare, the owner - Georgia is a true greek lady!!! she is the best!! very warm, friendly and always helpful!!!
the rooms are very clean and the place is exactly on the beach!!!
we love villa mata, we love Georgia and her brother Lambros!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Mata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mata

Address: Yialos Beach, 84001, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Mata 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa Mata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Hotel Ios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Mata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.