We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, but value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Poseidon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ormos, 840 01, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 44 hotels in Ios
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simple, but value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

My friend booked this place based on a review in the Lonely Planet.

The rooms were very basic, but did the job.

We got what we paid for.

Located right next to the Ferry Port, which was ideal. And not far to the town centre. (There is a bus that goes every 15 minutes, or a taxi is only 5 euro)

The pool is nice, however it gets the shade early afternoon so gets quite cool.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

The Poseidon Hotel is a small hotel in the centre of Ios Port,near to supermarket,bike rentals and restaurants.
From our window we could see the sea and the boats in the harbour.
Our room was small but clean,with a big shower,a/c,fridge and tv.
There is a terrace in common for every 3/4 rooms with a fantastic view of the sea and of Chora.
I don't know if the breakfast was good because I woke up too late very morning.
They kept our luggage after our check out for a lot of time.
I would definetly come back to this place.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the stairs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

stayed at the poseidon for the fourth time and again was greeted as an old friend by the charming manager and his parents.hotel is two minutes from the ferry terminal but up steepish steps so consequently has a lovely view over the port.rooms are standard issue greek hotel but well finished and maintained plus cnn if you want to keep up with the rest of the world.breakfast is an extra 6 euros and is basic but adequete and charmingly served on the terrace.there is a nice pool and bar and majority of rooms have the great views.busses and beach boats leave from near the port plus there is a great bakery and good supermarket in the same area..woulld love to return next year

  • Liked — friendly welcome
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

I made a reservation for this hotel a week before my stay. I paid upfront. All went well until I was unable to get a ferry to Ios on the date of my reservation. All the ferries were booked and I would not be able to get to the island until the next day. I called the hotel and asked whether they could give me a room for the next night and only charge me for one. The person who answered the phone agreed. I sent an mail confirming the change in plans. I checked my email about an hour before my ferry to Ios departed stating that no room would be available. I was extremely stressed, called the hotel and was told by the booking person that I was misinformed and that the person who agreed to charge me for one night was not authorized to make that arrangement and that it was not the hotel's responsibility (to train or supervise its employees???). After going back and forth for 20 minutes, he finally agreed to give me a room (not the room originally promised). When I arrived at check in, again, I was asked what I was promised blah blah blah. The staff people were arguing in Greek. No one wanted to accept responsibility. Extremely unprofessional. The room that I stayed in had a shower that sprayed all over the place. The people next door knocked on my room a few times, but that stopped when I contacted reception. Otherwise, the location and accomodations are fine. Breakfast is nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

Stayed at this great little hotel near the Ios port (3min walk) for 3 nights. Reception staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was great, served on a beautiful patio by a sweet little Greek lady (which I think turns into a self-serve buffet in the busy period), rooms were very large and clean with great large balconies with fantastic views over the port but the best part was the pool. Its beautful and so clean with lots of sun-lounges, a sun-deck, showers/toilets, a great pool-bar and a lovely bar-man called Andreas. We really enjoyed our stay here. It wasnt anythng flash but for just a clean base to sleep, have a bite to eat in the morning, somehere to cool off in the afternoon and so close to the great taverns at the port, you cant go past this place. They also kept our luggage for us for hours after we checked out.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Address: Ormos, 840 01, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 44 hotels in Ios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Poseidon 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Hotel Ios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Poseidon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.