We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantina del Mar

Cantina del Mar
Mylopotas Beach | Mylopotas Beach Ios, 84001, Greece
+30 22860 91016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 81 Restaurants in Ios
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Wonderful breakfast, fantastic fruit juice , great coffee on a wooden deck right on Mylopotas Beach .The service was great.I would definitely recommend it for its healthy smoothies after a night out on Ios .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    30
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food shame about the attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited here twice in May and August 2013. When it was quiet in May, nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent. In August, when we arrived no effort was made to acknowledge us or clear a table so we left. We came back to give it a second chance - the food and drinks were probably amongst the best in the Greek islands but the service was , again , with attitude. You don't tell off your paying customers for having the temerity to ask for extra milk in their coffee- Basil Fawlty eat your heart out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good beach cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice smoothies (circa 5 euros and very nice), draught Alfa beer in iced glasses, interesting cocktail offers. The smell of freshly brewing coffee is attractive. A range of sandwiches and snacks at reasonable prices. We had BLT each (circa 5 euros) and as a light lunch, one would have done between two, had we realised they were big. A combination of canvas chairs and sofas make the seating arrangements flexible, all Nader shade.

Its only a small kitchen and therefore when busy at lunch it's a rather slow job. It might be helped if they deployed the staff better, or maybe only having only one person taking orders helps take the pressure off the kitchen?

Anyhow, it's good so worth a visit. Take another iced beer while you wait.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Friendly beach bar with tasty alcoholic smoothies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ducked into Cantina del Mar after spending some quality time in the sun at Mylopotas Beach in search of some frosty beverages, and we found some excellent ones in the form of the alcoholic smoothies. We tried the Del Mar with vodka, raspberry sorbet and mixed berries and the Mexican with tequila, lemon sorbet and strawberries and they were both great and potent at 7 Euros each.

On the finger food front, we were less impressed, as the nachos (6 Euros) were made with nacho corn chips and covered in cheese whiz. The sandwiches looked better, but we didn't get a chance to try them. We would have ordered breakfast, but the last order for eggs is at 2:30pm and we missed the cut off.

Location is great. Right on the beach with easy access to the sea and tons of comfy seating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ios
1 review
“chilling time!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

this place is very relaxing with really nice healthy smoothies and a big variety of sandwiches and wraps. breakfast is also very filling!!if quiet is prefered it's better to be there early in the morning or in the afternoon as it is crowded at noon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina del Mar also viewed

 

Been to Cantina del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantina del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.