We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Australian Charcuterie I've had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poachers Pantry

Poachers Pantry
Nanima Road, Hall, Gungahlin, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hall
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Australian Charcuterie I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went there on an extremely hot day but it was still packed inside with good air conditioning. If you are vaguely interested in a charcuterie plate - smoke meats - it is SO good. The best I've had sourced in Australia. Bresaola, Prosciutto, smoked sirloin, smoked poultry and on and on....They have a cool room just full of goodies so even if you can't stay for lunch, take something home. Am still sampling a few days later. Lovely garden for kids to run around and lots of sweet treats too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    42
    15
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced lunch, a punctured tyre and an indifferent owner = Definitely Not Worth It!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant for lunch by a friend. A nice setting however the food choices were very over priced and of average quality. We got the meat platter for 36 dollars and some bread and drinks for two people. It was supposed to come with a range of pickled vegetables which consisted of three small leafs of lettuce, a spoon of marinated mushrooms, vine leafs and a beetroot and carrot mix which looked and tasted like it could have come from Coles (no exaggeration here).
The ultimate however occurred when we left the restaurant and made our way down that unbearably uneven lane, we incurred a 20cm long piece of metal in our four wheel drive tyre. We pulled in at the side immediately as we could not ignore the noise of having a metal rubbing against the lane. After we had spent two hours changing the tyre we decided to return to the restaurant and advise them of the event and that it had happened on their lane. The manager took our details to forward them onto the owner.The owner thought it un-necessary to call us so when we did call them she was rude and abrupt, saying that “it didn’t happen on her lane”, she gave no condolence either verbally or other. When she was questioned whether she cared anything for her customers we got a swift 'yes' only to be followed by a dead telephone line. On contacting the council we had found out that, as thought, this owner is responsible for damage incurred on her road!
In conclusion, if you want good food at a reasonable price with an owner who gives a damn, don’t come here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Rural ambience and great deli food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a prime (near) Canberra lunch / dinner spot. The deli sells a wide range of smoked meats and some acceptable wine. Meat and cheese platters to share offer good value. The menu is not extensive, but is well presented and executed in an authentic Australian bush setting

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice country restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We drove out here for lunch on a cool summer day after hearing good reviews from many friends.I would have given this 3.5 had I the option.
The food was fairly good but not really a stand out for me. The menu was a bit strange for the season for instance there was a steaming hot rabbit pie which would be perfect in winter.
The serving sizes were large and the food was nice.
The prices were fairly high at $130 for 2 entrees, 2 mains and 2 glasses of wine.
I had no complaints at all about the service.
The atmosphere was nice, a big country house.
There was an adjoining shop with nice meats, spreads, wines etc.
The worst thing about the whole experience was the drive up a considerably long driveway with many potholes which made us wish we were in four wheel drive.
I will probably be back but 2 out of the 3 similar country restaurants I have eaten in outside Canberra were much better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good place for brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were being told about this place by one of our friend and we decided to have brunch at this place on Saturday.The place had big nice outdoor setting but I think it is better if you book it early as it is bit of drive if you live in south side. Food and coffee was good. There was a shop which sells smoke goods. It has nice atmosphere if you come with lots of friends otherwise its not worth the drive if you come by yourself.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poachers Pantry also viewed

Murrumbateman, New South Wales
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Gundaroo, New South Wales
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Poachers Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poachers Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.