We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Tree Guest Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Green Tree Guest Cottages to your Saves list
The Green Tree Guest Cottages
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Route 72, Wycombevale Farm, Nanaga 6185, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Nanaga B&B and Inns
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

It was our first b&b in SA and and a very good place to begin with. The cottages were spacious & very welcoming. Lezl was very helpful by giving us all kinds of tips concerning Addo park' the dunes as well as restaurants recommended

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
holland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

We stayed for two nights while visiting Addo Elephant Park. Recommended by a friend.
As soon as we met Lezl and saw the cottages, we realised that it was a great recommendation. Our cottage was clean, very well furnished and very comfortable, with a very cottagey bathroom. The kitchen was complete with all the necessary equipment and a well stocked bar. Landlady Lezl is a perfect hostess. She made us feel very welcome and cooked us tasty suppers of local dishes, served in our own cottage. Breakfast was extensive, catering for all tastes, nothing too much trouble. Bearing in mind that this is a working farm and the hours that they work, We thought that it was a great experience and very good value for money.
The little mini farm of domestic animals, run by Reynard, their son, was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heeee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Excellent accommodation of individual cottages.
Very welcoming and friendly hosts giving lots of local knowledge
Great location for Game parks, especially Addo

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

we enjoyed a great breakfast, the well equipped room (even if you don´t have a toilet door that you could close, there was akind of a saloon door instead, but never mind ;-)), the warm and very kind host that gave us very important and helpful tipps for the game drive and even booked for us. Unfortunately we had a construction area right on the street that is close to the cottage and therefore some noise at night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lezl, Owner at The Green Tree Guest Cottages, responded to this review, March 14, 2010
Due to the coming 2010 Soccer World Cup, upgrades as been done to roads through South Afica. Unfortunately we were unlucky to have it close to our entrance, wich caused a bit of noise during day time, it has since been relocated away from our entrance, and something that was not permanent. This was something that was not in our hands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stilbaai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

My wife and I live in SA, and were travelling with friends from Jersey C.I. and we used Green Trees as a base to tour the area, Addo etc. We stayed in two separate chalets self catering, which were imaculate and well appointed. We have stayed on working farms before and this was the best by far. Nothing was too much trouble for our Host's who even did some shopping for us in Port Elizabeth, and one evening cooked us a fantastic meal. We were extremly pleased by the lovely gardens and swimming pool, that we took time out from travels just to spend time in the gardens and pool. We had a great stay and would recommend Green Trees to anyone with or without children. When my wife and I visit the East Cape again we will certainly stay here again, so to our hosts Thank you for a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Phil & Geraldine Nicholson SA.

  • Liked — Location close to game reserves, working farm, very peaceful and accomodation fantastic
  • Disliked — Whats not to like?
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCESTERSHIRE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

This was our third visit to Green Tree.We have stayed in different rooms and each one has been first class.The breakfast is supberb and evening meals worth every rand.Lezl,Datie and Reinhard are fantastic hosts and welcome us as one of the familySince our first visit they have installed a swimmimg pool which is an added bonus.The farm is perfectly situated to visit Addo and numerous other game reserves.It is also on a good road to visit the coast.
We would find it hard to visit South Africa without staying at Green Cottage even if it is a long dive from Cape Town but certainly well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Great place to stay, but what made it exceptional was the service we received: travelled with both my partner + parents & received personal touches everywhere.. Nothing was too much effort & we felt at home & very comfortable. Cottages & scenery are both stunning, friendly service + food = YUMMY! Couldn't have asked for more. Highly recommend staying here for a true SA experience.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Green Tree Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Tree Guest Cottages

Address: Route 72, Wycombevale Farm, Nanaga 6185, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Nanaga
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Tree Guest Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the life style of country living on this beautiful dairy farm while visiting The Addo Elephant Park, Schotia safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve and more within 10 - 15 min drive from The Green Tree Cottages. Spacious, tastefully decorated cottages will ensure you a comfortable stay. The Green Tree Cottages are Owner managed for personal attention and good service. We would love to welcome you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Green Tree Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Tree Guest Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.