We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lough Allen Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lough Allen Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Curraghill, Drumshanbo, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Hotel and Suites at Lough Allen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Enjoyed two very relaxing nights in this excellent hotel. Room was large, very comfortable overlooking the lake. The food in the restaurant and bar was top quality. We made use of the swimming pool and spa treatments. All staff from those servicing the rooms, receptionists, in the bar and restaurant were extremely friendly and welcoming.
Drumshambo village is about 10 minutes walk away and is very quiet but there is a lovely old traditional pub called Conway's Corner House with lots of character, an open fire and friendly locals.
There is fishing, horseriding and nice drives nearby.
Unfortunately the hotel is closing down for the winter from 1st November. We will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake and enjoy the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    119
    75
    29
    18
See reviews for
106
191
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just had two night break with family! Food & facilities top of the range! Music in bar both nights! Pool a bit cool for my liking but sauna & steam room warmed me up!!! Food was fantastic & very reasonable. Breakfast busy at 10am, but I brought kids down before rush! Great variety, everyone catered for!
Halloween party great fun, kids were delighted with disco!
Pity hotel is closing for the winter.
Looking forward to returning in a few months time!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Purchased this hotel on a deal, very reasonable... The food was fantastic, service was excellent (staff couldn't be more helpful) but I found the room to be a bit standard for a superior room. We wanted more roll around action on the bed but found it to be a bit small. Had a treatment in the spa, both of us had a massage which was lovely. Would recommend this hotel, would love to return to it with some sunny weather!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband, myself and his brother and wife just spend to nights at the hotel. The staff were great, helpful and friendly. Food was excellent and whole hotel and rooms spotless. We stayed two days before hotel due to close for the winter and you would never have guessed this. No way did we get the impression they were on the wind down what soever. The only fault i could thing of was the location as it is quite out of the way. Excellent for the out door types which we really are not so two nights was enough for us but will most defiantly will be back next

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We had an amazing time here , we stayed for 3 nights with our families for our daughters christening , the staff were really friendly ( Lauren and Elana thanks a million ) . 30 of us had dinner here after the Christening and the food was just amazing , iv paid 3 times more in other places for food and it wouldn't hold a candle to the quality and taste , well done to chef on the day , service was fast and friendly and food was hot , sometimes that can let hotels down for a group meal but not here . Thanks also to the management ( McManus family ) and Karen for arranging everything ...

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Got a deal on treat ticket which turned out to be excellent value. Hotel is lovely throughout. Got a meal in the restaurant couldn't fault it at all. Nice bathroom in the room and a balcony was a nice touch. All staff really friendly. Swimming pool, sauna and steam room all put to good use. We were disappointed the hot tub was out of order. Had a back massage so nice and 20% of for residents. Nothing appealing to us in drumshanbo but went out to dunnes bar and club 360 nearby in carrick great night out, 28e in a taxi. Breakfast had great selection of hot food cereal fruit etc and available to 10.30am. Nice bar area can't fault the hotel at all.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Went here on a deal and found the staff were so lovely. Even tried to help as much as possible when it turned out we had noisey tv watching neighbours. They also upgraded our deal from just a 2 night stay to include dinner & spa treatments.
Room was lovely & the jacuzzi bath was fantastic. We had a lovely view of the lake as well. Bed was really comfortable.
Food in the restaurant was nice but nothing special.
Only down point was that the hot tub was out of order but the swimming pool was good.
All in all I'd go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lough Allen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Allen Hotel & Spa

Address: Curraghill, Drumshanbo, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Hotel and Suites at Lough Allen)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Drumshanbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Allen Hotel in County Leitrim in the Northwest of Ireland is truly somewhere special! Situated on the shores of Lough Allen, only 14 km from the bustling town of Carrick on Shannon, it is just a short walk to the town of Drumshanbo. This Luxury hotel of international allure combines with the stunning Leitrim countryside to offer the ideal destination; be it for the romantic short-break where spa treatments, leisure centre and a sumptuous candlelight dinner are all components that make for an unforgettable short break. Or is it a family re-union that would like to include organised activities during the day rounded off with a lavish family meal in the evening. As a wedding venue or conference centre, Lough Allen Hotel has played its part in creating success after success. The central location of the hotel in Leitrim facilitates tours and visits to the surrounding unspoiled countryside, always being able to return to the warm welcome of committed staff members! The many lakes that comprise the stunning Leitrim countryside, shopping in Sligo or Enniskillen,- the beaches of the Atlantic coast: any and all of these are just on our doorstep. So be assured whatever the reason for your visit, Lough Allen hotel & Spa at Lough Allen in Drumshanbo offers great value for money at any time of year and all our selling agents will offer you a package that suits your personal budget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Lough Allen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Lough Allen
Ramada Leitrim
Leitrim Ramada
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa Ireland/Drumshanbo, County Leitrim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lough Allen Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.