We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice going back soon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel to your Saves list
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hellidon | Northamptonshire, Hellidon NN11 6GG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
2 reviews
“Very nice going back soon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely staff with a group of 8 family ans friends, would go back for another spa break, the only suggestions I have to improve the spa facilities is to up date changing rooms and swimming pool area, aljd also invest in a swimming costume dryer for people to use if you are staying more than one night and want to use.the pool facilities more than once, beciase costumes are wet and know where to dry them . Thanks

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear sherree1994, thank you for your feedback following your visit to Hellidon Lakes Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience and i hope you will recommend us to others.

Your constructive comments regarding the Leisure facilities have been noted and passed on to the Leisure Club Team.

Thank you again for your review,

Best regards

Tom Reeve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    263
    149
    81
    62
See reviews for
114
249
13
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Compared to other Q Hotels, the actual building and room was somewhat disappointing. The rooms are basic (no extras like a fridge) and in places have a slightly worn-out feel. Think it was built some time ago. That aside it is a lovely setting and the staff were fantastic. Food in the restaurant was of a higher standard than other Q Hotels as well. They didn't have a kids menu as they were being "revamped" but accommodated most requests.

Room Tip: Family rooms are big but don't expect a plush room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Andynewboy, thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor, your balanced but positive review has been passed on and discussed with the management team. Your comments regarding the standard of bedroom accommodation have been noted, i am pleased that the team looked after you well and that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant.

I do hope you will choose to visit us again next time you are planning a weekend away, it would give me great pleasure to welcome you back to Hellidon Lakes in the near future.

Best regards

Tom Reeve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

After arriving at Hellidon Lakes and being Q Hotel members, we had been told so many times to give this a visit. We had a great January deal with 2 nights B&B with dinner on one night. We had booked a superior room but, was somewhat disappointed when we had a double bed, no fridge and the bathroom was in need of a little TLC, and with no air con. We had expected more from the room in comparison to other q hotels if a superior standard We always upgrad so we could have a bigger bed and room with a little more space. Never the less we asked if we could upgrade to a suite to be told that there was none available. The receptionist was however, very helpful and offered to look at the booking in list for the next day to see if we could change. We experienced some difficulties in the bar with regards to the food but, Sam the deputy manager was excellent and rectified the problem immediately. Unfortunately and unknown to us the room we had was above a generator which was going of and on all night and we had to be moved early hours of the morning to an opposite room, not a great start to our breakaway few days. In fairness the next morning we had a conversation with the operations manager Tom who very quickly and professionally assured us that we would be moved into a different room. Things did then get better and the room we were moved to was larger and in a nicer position. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant that evening , the service and quality of the food was first class. Even though the restaurant was very busy the food was pipping hot and very well presented. We wanted to walk around the golf course but, due to the wet weather it was closed so we walked into the nearby village which was lovely and visited the local pub. We used the simulator golf, wanted to bowl but, found £25 per lane to be rather expensive . We also wanted to use the spa but, was closed at 5.30 of which I thought was rather early however, we had to leave early the next morning so did not see as much as we would of liked. We would like to go back and hope to do so in the summer. We would base our second visit on the professional way our issues were dealt with and look forward to taking in more of the amenities. We found all the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 262 and encountered a very noisy generator if your a light sleeper this is not fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Wendy503975, thank you for your constructive and balanced review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at Hellion Lakes. Your feedback at the time was appreciated and i am pleased that we were able to act quickly to rectify the problems that occurred on your first evening. Your kind comments have been passed on to he team

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hellidon Lakes later on in the year, as discussed, please contact me directly when you wish to return and i will make the arrangements for you.

Best regards

Tom Reeve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I travel frequently around the UK and stay in a wide variety of Hotels.Rarely do you come across an establishment whose Staff are so friendly and professional.Gary,the golf pro who made it his business to take us into the hotel and show us all the facilities,even ensuring that our golf colleagues who arrived later were escorted in to meet us.
Sam the duty manager,who was on top of his job and made sure that we had a very pleasant stay.Heilka our breakfast lady who coped brilliantly and made the restaurant experience even better.
No it wasn't perfect but any shortfalls were more than made up by the calibre of the Team working there.

Room Tip: A view over the 18th green is stunning in the morning so look for in or around room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear John T, thank you for your positive and balanced review, i am delighted that the team looked after you well and that you enjoyed the facilities at Hellidon akes. I would be interesed to know where and in what areas we were unable to meet you expectations on this occasion. All feedback is well received and will be addressed where possible. Please don't hesitate to direct message me should you wish to discuss the details of your experience further.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Best regards

Tom Reeve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently attended a weekend "Black Tie event" for fifty people at this hotel. On checking in we found a room which had been allocated to one of our guests was too far away from the lift for his mobility. When we brought this to the attention of the reception staff, they quickly arranged an alternative. This was indicative of the warm, friendly, helpful and polite service we received during the whole of our stay. Combining the above to the facilities within the hotel and the splendid views surrounding it, all resulted in a wonderful weekend for us and our guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Steve C, thank you for you delightful review of you experience at Hellidon Lakes. Your kind comments and positive feedback has been passed on to the time. I am so pleased that you found the staffs to be friendly and attentive and that the team reacted quickly when an issue was brought to their attention. I do hope you will be able to return,

Best regards,

Tom Reeve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I cant rate this hotel highly enough - exemplary service, first class facilities, excellent food, well appointed, clean modern rooms. We held our wedding reception here and couldn't fault it at all - perfect!

Room Tip: We had over 50 friends and family stay overnight at this hotel and every room was fantastic - you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear rachel g, thank you for taking the time to review your experience on Trip Adviser. I am delighted that you and your guests enjoyed your Wedding Reception at Hellidon Lakes, your kind comments have been passed on to the team. We all are hoping that you will have the opportunity to return to us in the future.

Thank you for your feedback

Tom Reeve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlaby
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

SUMMARY: Reception - so so. Room - adequate. Food - some good and some not so good. Staff - some outstanding and some indifferent. Location - pleasant. Overall - OK but could so easily be much better.

DETAIL: I'm a fairly regular visitor to Q Hotels 'The Stratford' in Stratford on Avon and I'm on their mailing list. I booked this following an email showing special offers for bookings made in January and got an excellent deal of £162 for two nights, two people B&B with dinner on the first night in a 'Superior' room which has, bathrobes and upgraded tea, coffee, toiletries etc. Reception on arrival was OK although not particularly warm and welcoming. We were not told about timings for breakfast or about the leisure facilities.The room was a little tired but clean and tidy with a standard double bed. For a superior room I would have expected a king size bed, a fridge/mini bar as in other Q hotels I've stayed at.

DINING:We had lunch on arrival and this was fine. We were well looked after by Matt who I understand is fairly new. He was attentive and more than helpful.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and both had a great meal. We were well looked after by Gordon who indicated that he had only been with this hotel less than a month. He readily answered questions about the locality and engaged in good humoured banter.
We had drinks in the bar and Jamie, the barman, was excellent at his job and very amiable. Despite being comparitively young, he was able to recommend a whisky based on my taste - I wasn't dissappointed.
We ate in the bar on the second evening but were badly dissappointed with the service and food. We ordered a sharing platter which took forty five minutes to arrive and when it did, it bore no resemblance to the description on the menu. We attracted the attention of Cameron who fully agreed with our view and established that the chef was working from a different menu. A number of items from the described sharing platter were unavailable so Cameron did his best to remedy the situation by providing some alternatives. He also removed the charge for this food from our account. We were dissappointed with the speed of service and the food provided however we cannot fault Cameron for his attempts to 'make things better'.
Breakfast was adequate and staff were generally attentive. Some of the food was a little dried up however they finish serving at 9.30am and we didn't arrive until 9am.

ROOM ISSUES
After our first night, I reported a fault with the shower head over the bath. The girl on recpetion indicated that this would be repaired by the time we came back after a day out however this wasn't done for the whole of the stay. One of the robes was taken away by housekeeping when the room was cleaned. I called reception to report this and was told housekeeping would bring one up. After half an hour this hadn't materialised so I called reception but it rand for five minutes without answer. I rang again after one hour and spoke to nicolette and explained the situation and not to bother now as we were going to have a sleep.

CHECKOUT
Zoe on reception at checkout was pleasant but did not ask if we had enjoyed our stay or if all was OK. Had she done so, I would have explained about the issues with the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear kcyland, thank you for you honest and constructive feedback. We value all guests comments and your observations and suggestions have been well received. I m pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience, it is disappointing however that the issue highlighted in your review did mildly overshadow your time at Hellidon Lakes Your comments have been taken on board and will be addressed with the team, i am pleased that you found the team to be friendly and attentive, your acknowledgment of the service you received has been passed on to the team.

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on Trip Adviser

Best regards,

Tom Reeve
Operations Manager

have been p
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel

Address: Hellidon | Northamptonshire, Hellidon NN11 6GG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Hellidon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel is located in Daventry in Northamptonshire. This hidden gem is surrounded by 220 acres of delightfully peaceful grounds; so it’s quite easy to forget that it is a mere 14 miles off the M40 and 20 minutes from the M1.Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel is home to a 27 hole Championship golf course, a superb leisure club, relaxing spa, tennis courts and a fishing lake. In fact the hotel's eight sparkling lakes are behind our four-star hotel’s name. What's more the hotel has an indoor ten pin bowling alley - great for family fun or on an evening of laughter outside of the meeting room. The hotel has 24 flexible conference and meeting rooms, 200 complimentary car parking spaces and are proud to offer some great stimulation for conference and events; from self-contained meeting areas to superb team building space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellidon Lakes Golf And Spa Hotel - a Qhotel
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - a q Hellidon
Hellidon Lakes Daventry
Hellidon Lakes Hotel
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel Northamptonshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.