We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better second time round.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel to your Saves list
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hellidon | Northamptonshire, Hellidon NN11 6GG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
milton keynes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better second time round.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I returned to Hellidon lakes for the second time this weekend as a group of 4 females. We stayed previously in Nov 2011 and encountered problems with the hot water. However this time round was a different story. The hotel is located in beautiful settings, the spa is very nice as is the lounge area. The staff are great and couldn’t have been any more accommodating. The restaurant is brilliant - the menu and food is superb and of a very high standard.
The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable and the reception is beautifully decorated for Christmas.
We also tried out the bowling which was fun.
I would def recommend this for a weekend away - I returned very relaxed and wished we could have stayed for longer. Will def return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Butterfly8614. Thank you for your complimentary review. I am so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your time at Hellidon Lakes and that you made full use of the facilities, including the bowling alley. The team have worked hard to improve and maintain standards and I’m delighted that you noticed a marked improvement this time round.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    262
    149
    80
    62
See reviews for
114
249
13
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

A group of us stayed at this hotel part if a spa break, it was nice apart from the beds, they were so uncomfortable , the pillows were so hard I came out with a stiff neck and was aching all over, the spa treatment was actually only about 45 mins not 60 mins as explained, but view from our window was amazing! I wouldn't go again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
GillK72, thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We value all guests feedback and your comments have been passed on to the team. I am sorry that you had a poor nights sleep, your observations have been taken on board and action will be taken where possible. I am disapointed that you have dicided not to visit us again, i do hope you can reconsider as it would give me great pleasure to welcome you back to Hellidon Lakes Hotel, Golf and Spa. Thank you once again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

After returning back to hellidon lakes, wow what a big change from when i was there in june.
The reception staff were fantastic, so friendly couldnt do enough for you.

The bar staff were brilliant changed a pint no hassel whatsoever great friendly service.
Obviously the location is second to none
When you have your breakfast looking across these veiws, well you cant get a lot better than this.

The restuarant staff cant do enough for you and they work very hard indeed meeting your every need.

This is a massive turn around from june and would definately go back again, i well recomend the suites and the delux rooms.
The wife loved her spa treatments and recomends this to anyone.

I would like to thank chris steadman and his team for a great weekend cant wait to go back, and as armie says
: ill be back:

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi John
Many thanks for giving us the opportunity to right a few wrongs from your last stay and thank you also for the e-mail you sent me, I have shared this with the team who will be delighted by your praise.
Love the Arnie reference and we as a team will be delighted to welcome you back and I hope you get the chance to get out on the course on your next stay.
Once again Thank you
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Myself and a colleague stayed one night here and thought the hotel was lovely. All the staff we had contact with were very polite and helpful. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious for a standard room. The food in the restaurant was delicious and there was a very good fresh selection of food for breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Helen12211, thank you for you positive and upbeat review. Your comments have been passed on to the team and we would all like to thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
I do hope you will be able to join us again should you be visiting the Daventry area either with work or for a few days away.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I booked a night at this place for myself and my colleagues at work for our Christmas do last December. Staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good (both dinner and breakfast) and the rooms were comfortable, albeit a little small (at least the one I had didn't have much room between the end of the bed and the desk and chair).

The hotel interiors were perhaps a bit on the warm side, but it was December, and frosty outside, so that is understandable.

An added bonus, and one of the reasons I decided to book here, was the four lane ten pin bowling alley downstairs, which was just the thing for working up an appetite for dinner.

All in all a very good time was had by everyone in my party. Just one real downside, which is that the guy on the bar late in the evening didn't have a clue how to make a decent strawberry daquiri :-) But that didn't spoil things too much. We would go again, should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
.Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I'm pleased you posted your review even though it has been some time since your visit.
I have passed your comments and feedback on to the team and we are all delighted that you and your colleagues enjoyed your time at the hotel. Our bowling alley is a popular and unique feature and i am really pleased that your experience was enhanced by the use of this facility.

I hope to see you at Hellidon Lakes sometime in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed recently for a 3 day break as part of a music club event which took over the whole hotel.
Considering numbers being catered for service and food was great and well presented.
Had a comfortable room overlooking the lake and golf course. A slight problem with the room radiator was sorted within 10 mins by the ops manger himself. All of the staff in every department were excellent and provided prompt sevice at all times and with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them and they were all a credit to the management.
Bit dissappointed that the music club will not be holding next years event at this hotel.
gemini42

Room Tip: second floor overlooking the lake has stunning views and is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive and constructive review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Hellidon Lakes, we all enjoyed having the Yamaha party at the hotel and it was a real delight to see everyone having such a good time. Next years event is being hosted at our Oxford Belfry , i hope you will be attending. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hellidon Lakes Hotel,Golf and Spa some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Highly overrated.

Pros:
1. Nice view from some of the rooms
2. Staff is friendly
3. Breakfast was good

Cons
1. Run down rooms
2. Food is terrible
3. Rooms badly need a fresh coat of paint(at least the ones I have stayed in)
4. In room service is a joke

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Traveler659
Thank you for your brief resume of Hellidon Lakes, I am naturally disappointed that you feel the hotel is over-rated and concerned by your comments relating to food as this is one area we are regularly commended on.
If you are happy to discuss this matter further please do message me and I will personally discuss these concerns with you.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hellidon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel

Address: Hellidon | Northamptonshire, Hellidon NN11 6GG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Hellidon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel is located in Daventry in Northamptonshire. This hidden gem is surrounded by 220 acres of delightfully peaceful grounds; so it’s quite easy to forget that it is a mere 14 miles off the M40 and 20 minutes from the M1.Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel is home to a 27 hole Championship golf course, a superb leisure club, relaxing spa, tennis courts and a fishing lake. In fact the hotel's eight sparkling lakes are behind our four-star hotel’s name. What's more the hotel has an indoor ten pin bowling alley - great for family fun or on an evening of laughter outside of the meeting room. The hotel has 24 flexible conference and meeting rooms, 200 complimentary car parking spaces and are proud to offer some great stimulation for conference and events; from self-contained meeting areas to superb team building space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellidon Lakes Golf And Spa Hotel - a Qhotel
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - a q Hellidon
Hellidon Lakes Daventry
Hellidon Lakes Hotel
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel Northamptonshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - A QHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.