We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely October break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elk's Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Elk's Head to your Saves list
The Elk's Head
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Whitfield NE47 8HD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitfield B&B and Inns
Solihull
1 review
“Lovely October break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a super October break at the Elk's Head which is set in the middle of beautiful woodland countryside - lovely at this time of year. It is also convenient to visit Hadrian's Wall with its forts and museums. The room was very comfortable and warm with a lovely view over the river out of the bathroom window. Our breakfast was huge even for my husband who has a hearty appetite! We ate in every night and the meals in the restaurant were well cooked and well presented. The manager and all of his staff were very friendly and helpful. A lovely place - we will certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allendale Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had our wedding on September 22nd 2012 and from the time that we booked Phil and Alison did everything to make our day very special. The restaurant was beautifully decorated, the food excellent and the evening entertainment fantastic.

Thank you to Phil and Alison and all their staff for all their hard work to make the day so memorable.

I would recommend it to anybody

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here in Sept 2012 for one night, 3 rooms for 6 people, on arrival greated by very friendly staff who showed us to our rooms and explained dinner/breakfast times. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast fantastic and staff catered to all our needs. Would definately stay again and recommend for anyone wanting a night or two away from it all in very nice surroundings

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a comfortable short stay at the hotel. Room was well laid out with tea and coffee provided. The on suite was well proportioned and the view from the window was stunning looking out onto woods with a weir and bridge it was amazing. The food was well presented and plenty of it. Downsides were TV complicated to work not that it bothered us but we would have like to see some news. Secondly inconsiderate guests who slammed doors and were loud late at night - not that one can blame the hotel staff. Altogether we enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Didn't stay there but the food and staff were wonderful. Would't hesitate to stay in the future. We were traveling back home to Loughborough from Killicrankie. We stayed at a farm that didn't do evening meals and they recommended The Elk's Head for our meal and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed just the one night on our return journey from a motorcycle tour of Scotland. A lovely welcome, cracking location and a very nice experience overall. Dinner was taken in the restaurant and was easily the best of our trip. The carpaccio of beef starter is highly recommended, slightly underwhelming presentation being hidden by a rocket salad but a taste sensation. The whole party had a great evening, really enjoyed the real ale and with the exception of one noisy room mostly slept soundly. Breakfast was a slow start, but once it gathered pace turned out to be top notch food and friendly service. Great stopover only marred by a fan or generator (couldn't identify what it was) switching on and off all night near one room. Thankfully bikers carry earplugs.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the riverside for maximum enjoyment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

What a lovely place, both the inn and accomodation were fantastic.

We stopped en route between Cumbria and Durham on the spur of the moment after a long detour and sat nav issues and couldn't have been more pleased. A smiley Olivia greated us and showed us to a lovely room, beautifully thought out, exceptionally clean with lavender courtesy toiletries and a loo with a view of the pretty bridge and river. The power shower was the type you could stand under for ever. I also swiped the aero hot chocolates - yum!

We ate in the bar in the evening and the menu had some unusual options over the usual standard pub fare and had obviously been well thought out. I had mushroom, spinach, cranberry and brie wellington which was delicious but there were another 4 meals I wanted to try - the only downside of staying 1 night. The girls behind the bar were very friendly which made for a great atmosphere.

The full English breakfast was more than ample and included black pudding, with help yourself refils of filter coffee which pleased the other half. I thought it was a nice touch to serve the baked beans in a little pot - I like them but always hate them contaminating the rest of your plate.

Exceptionally good value at £75 a night, the Elk's Head is somewhere that we would definitely like to stay again and would go out of our way to do so. Superb on all counts - thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elk's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elk's Head

Address: Whitfield NE47 8HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Whitfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elk's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Elk's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elk's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.