We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out in the Styx with the Kiwis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Out in the Styx Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pukeatua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Out in the Styx Guesthouse
Save
You added Out in the Styx Guesthouse to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   2117 Arapuni Rd, Pukeatua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Pukeatua B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Out in the Styx with the Kiwis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Our birding group stayed at Out in the Styx during our three-week journey around NZ. The hospitality, rooms, and meals were all stellar. We especially enjoyed speaking directly with Lance, learning about his continued efforts at the Maungatatari Eco Sanctuary. We could hear the cries of the kiwis from our rooms douwn the hill from Maungatatari. Great place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
9
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

18 Thumbs Up Adventure Club members stayed last Saturday night at the guesthouse and could not fault the service, rooms, food and hospitality. What a lovely place to stay. We will make this an annual event from now on. Could not fault anything - food was amazing.

Very interesting talk by Lance about the Trust running the Maungatatari Park. The highlight was sitting in the peaceful bush watching two beautiful Takahe's feeding right in front of us.
Perfect weekend away from Auckland.

Loved the gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms round the back of the complex are better as less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

What a fabulous setting for a group weekend away. 32 ladies enjoyed 2 nights with nibbles, breakfast and dinner served in a lovely setting with pretty gardens and a varied choice of sleeping accommodation. Marys home cooking had us all looking forward and guessing to the next meal and Lance entertained us with his whistle blowing and an insight into the Maungatautari Mountain and the work of the trust and volunteers. Highlight was seeing 5 kiwi being transferred from there to Taranaki. Book a holiday its a great place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pacific room...very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I visited Out in the Styx with a group of students from the U.S. and we had a terrific experience. The accommodations were excellent (the hot tub under the stars in the Southern sky was very memorable); the meals were out of this world! The food was the best we ate in all of New Zealand. The hosts were helpful and informative and taught us a lot about the uniqueness of Mt. Maungatautari which we hiked to the next morning. I highly recommend this place and intend to tell any friends planning to travel to New Zealand. It's an experience you won't want to miss!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We had a great time at Out in the Styx. The manager got to know us, the food was amazing, the rooms were clean and cute, the view was beautiful. It's the kind of place you'd want to spend a month if you had time :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed at the Styx a few weeks ago with a group of about 15. The hospitality was superb- wonderful hosts, great accommodations, ect. The food was absolutly amazing. Best meal I'd had the whole trip- great quality and variety, with the home-cooked feel. I would recommend this place for anyone coming to New Zealand. The view is breath taking, while relaxing in one of the hot tubs watching the stars was one of my favorite memories from my two-month trip. Simply fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

an all inclusive guesthouse with fabulous food at the southern end of Maungatautari Mountain Ecological Reserve in New Zealand North Island, this is a paradise retreat with dinner B&B, beginning at $85 for those on a budget in dorm accomodation to $130 for a private ensuite looking over a beautifully kept garden towards the reserve. Hot tub to soothe weary feet after a day of hiking the mountain. Friendly and very informative and helpful host

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Out in the Styx Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out in the Styx Guesthouse

Address: 2117 Arapuni Rd, Pukeatua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Pukeatua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pukeatua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Out in the Styx Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We ajoin the Maungatautari Ecological Reserve, a 3500 hectare pest free scenic reserve and operate a drop offservice for hikers to walk across the Mountain. We are between Rotorua and Waitomo and are near the Waikato River Cycle Trail and our van can take up to 8 cycles for drop off and pickups. Our rates include a4 course dinner and a 2 course breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Out in the Styx Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.