We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Malposte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reviers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Malposte
15, Rue des Moulins, 14470 Reviers, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Reviers B&B and Inns
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Truly Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I hardly want to share my thoughts on this place because I want it to stay just as it is - hidden, and special - but to be fair to the owners I must congratulate them wholeheartedly on what they have achieved. There are 5 rooms located in a converted barn/mill which is separate from the owners accommodation and has its own kitchen diner which was at our diposal during our stay. We were able to help ourselves to a range of teas and coffee at any time but Mme Blanlot was on hand in the morning for breakfast including home made preserves.

We had a 2 night stay in the yellow room that was filled with really thoughtful touches from dishes of nougat in the bedroom to toiletries in the bathroom as well as fresh flowers, dried flowers and gorgeous objets d'art.

Our friends had the green bedroom that was of a similar quality but what really made the difference from something good to something very special were the stunning gardens filled with lots of interesting plants which look to be planted for year-round interest. So beautiful was the scene that we had a picnic in the garden on the first night alongside the stream which runs through the middle.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were looking for somewhere to stay near the Normandy coast in order to visit Bayeux for its famous tapestry and its impressive cathedral and also to visit the beaches associated with Operation Overlord, the D-Day landings of 1944. We could not have chosen anywhere better, a stunningly attractive mill in a quaint and quiet village with only the sounds of the rippling mill race and a hooting owl to disturb the peace and solitude of the September evenings. Patricia and Jean-Michel were so welcoming with the hearty breakfast including home-made preserves the perfect prelude to the day's activities. The Pegasus Bridge and the British and Canadian landing beaches of Gold, Juno & Sword are just a stone's throw away, and the American beaches of Omaha and Utah just a little further which makes this oasis of tranquillity the perfect place to return to after experiencing the tumultuous events of 1944.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

This B&B is absolutely wonderful! The owners are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are comfortable and they are lovely decorated. The garden is an absolute highlight. Since we have a 9 months old son, we spent the evenings at the B&B. The great thing was that we could put him to bed, turn on the baby-phone and spend the evenings in the garden or in the kitchen/breakfast room, which was very nicely decorated. It was practical that we could prepare his food there as well. This is the nicest & most relaxing B&B we have stayed at, and we have seen a few.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

A higgledy-piggledy collection of buildings, all decorated beautifully by Patricia (all her own handiwork!). From the mill race running through the gardens, to the little summer house and places to sit & relax. It was 100% charming, every corner a photograph from a magazine.

Breakfast in a quaint room topped with original beams, accompanied by home made preserves.

Comfortable bed, great shower, and everything was spotless. She even left out a doggie bed for our pooch! I cannot recommend this place enough (even though I do want to keep it secret) and we'll be returning next year.

We used it as a the last stop before the Ferry home and it is a great spot to tour the Normandy beaches from. About 3km from Juno beach, and a few mins from Bayeux.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Malposte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Malposte

Address: 15, Rue des Moulins, 14470 Reviers, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Reviers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Reviers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Malposte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Malposte to your Saves list