We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Kayaking Day in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahamas Out Island Adventures - Day Trips

Bahamas Out Island Adventures - Day Trips
Skyline Drive, Gregory Town, Eleuthera
+1 242-335-0349
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surf lessons, surfboard rentals, snorkeling, drift snorkeling, kayaking, cliffjumping, flora and fauna, historical sites - we offer a wide array of ways to have fun and experience the beauty of Eleuthera while learning about the island or learning a new sport - like surfing! We also offer rental equipment: surfboards, mountain bikes (2), snorkel gear, kayaks and boogie boards. Board storage and board repair services are also available. OUR ANNUAL YOUTH SURF CAMP begins June 22, 2015. Registration opens Jan. 1.
Wrightstown, NJ
1 review
“Awesome Kayaking Day in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife found Tom online while searching for an "active" daytrip while staying at Atlantis. The long ferry ride to Eleuthera was well worth the time. We were surprised to find that the day would consist of Tom in one kayak, my wife and I sharing a double, and no one else. Tom took us on a kayak tour of the area, brought some snorkel gear as a break from kayaking, and treated us to a great homemade lunch (his wife's cookies are amazing). If you are looking to do something other than lay on a beach, but in an area that looks like paradise, this is it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“We had a great time, thanks Tom!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Like the other reviews we found Tom online. We were staying in Harbour Island and wanted an easy half day of snorkeling and kayaking. What makes Tom great is that you tell him what you want and he finds it! We wanted easy, uncomplicated, and shallow. Tom found it with a great mangrove cove for kayaking with sea turtles, star fish, rays, fish and more. The snorkeling was the same with a very easy spot off a secluded beach with coral and tropical fish. It was great. We will go again.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I finally saw the beauty of Eleuthera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Tom's outfit Bahamas Out Island Adventures showed us the true beauty of this Out Island. Tom is an amateur naturalist and seemingly familiar with every aspect of the island's topography. As an amateur snorkeler and kayaker, I completely placed my trust in him. He would make a memorable tour for anyone at any age, at any level. I will come back.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An amazing day surfing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We visited Eleuthera over Christmas break and knew we wanted to go out surfing. We wanted a local guide to take us and show us the best breaks. Friends who had been to the island before recommended Tom and Bahamas Out Island Adventures. It was a fantastic experience. We were supposed to go our second day on the island but Tom did not think the surf spots were all that good and had us postpone until a few days later so we would have a better experience. He was right! The conditions were perfect and the day was so much fun. My husband and I are beginner surfers but were with our two teenagers who are much better. Tom gave the kids pointers to improve their surfing and then worked with us to get some rides. Tom had packed great snacks (his wife's carrot cake was fantastic) and we spent a pleasant day surfing and relaxing at the beach. It could not have been better!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, creative guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

A last minute weekend trip to the Bahamas... and it looked like the weather just won't cooperate. It wasn't supposed to rain in February, but there we were. Fortunately, we had booked a half-day excursion with Tom, which really saved the vacation.

He picked us up from the Rainbow Inn, even as the wind blew more rain. The incredibly experienced guide had a few tricks up his sleeve, though! He knew a beach that was secluded from the wind, and helped us in through the somewhat choppy surf. He led us on an amazing snorkeling tour of the off-shore reef, and made us feel confortable about the conditions, despite not being expert snorkelers ourselves. The colors were no less vivid without the sun, and he pointed out a shark, interesting fish and coral.

After just the right amount of time in the water, he had fresh water, oranges and tomatoes from his garden to share. We drove north on the island, as Tom shared some of the natural and political history of the island. He knew where the weather might be a bit better or easier to deal with, and took us to further exciting adventures, including a wonderful surprise!

We had only reserved a half a day, but Tom dropped us off at an amazing restaurant for lunch not far from our hotel. We can't thank him enough, and look forward to more exploration on our next trip to Eleuthera.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahamas Out Island Adventures - Day Trips also viewed

Eleuthera, Out Islands
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
Great Exuma, Out Islands
 

Been to Bahamas Out Island Adventures - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahamas Out Island Adventures - Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.