We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort But wrong food ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Eleuthera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Cove Eleuthera to your Saves list
The Cove Eleuthera
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Queen's Highway, Gregory Town, Eleuthera   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Nights at The Cove!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gregory Town
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort But wrong food ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Decided to escape the cold and relax for a few days before Christmas. Don't remember how I found the Cove but I fell in love with the pictures and all reviews were great. It is much prettier than the pics! It's just gorgeous and they have everything you need! I'd love to give it 5 points but there are still some things that need to be improved!

Rooms were clean & well designed and have everything you need. Very comfy bed & lovely Molton Brown toiletries. Drinking Water in the room was good. BUT missed a drawer or box in the closet to put in small things. Also the lotion was not filled up after it was empty. We booked a bush view room but were put in the sanctuary which was probably an upgrade but we'd prefer to be in the bush view to have more privacy. Had very loud neighbors who talked and smoked in front of their rooms till late. Also everybody passing our room could look inside and the lights outside were flickering all night causing a disco effect which I have read about in another review. Nevertheless the grounds were great and we spend most time outside. Service was outstanding - just minor incidents (ordered truffle fries but got regular, ordered normal beer and got light, ordered a specific kind of wine and got another one) - nevertheless everybody was very helpful and friendly and quick.

What was a real disappointed however was the food. It was expensive, pretentious and tasteless. I am a real foodie and have eaten at many great places in the world but this resort has to work on its food. The menu sounds terrific but it isn't. Breakfast for two costs 60, lunch 100 and dinner 200 - all including an automatic 18% gratuity - Which would be ok if the food was outstanding. Breakfast was good - no complaints. Lunch ok if you stay with the wraps and burgers with fries but salads were small and tasteless. But honestly no one needs sushi and if you serve it it has to be better! Other dishes were also boring and mediocre not worth the price. Wish the menu had more local and/or fish dishes. I know it's all imported but when you go up the street to the local places they serve fresh and tasty food for half the price. We went to Harbor Island and had the best food on our entire trip for less money.

Nevertheless we had a great time and we'd love to return one day...

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    52
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
202
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had made my reservation to the Cove Restaurant via Yelp for we were not staying at the property but on the island. When we arrived for our 7:30PM reservation, we were seated right away and informed it was a buffet for this evening. Given this was an upscale resort, we assumed this would be an upscale buffet. However, our first mistake was not to take a look at the offerings and ask what the price was. As we progressed through the night, a total of 45 minutes, we soon realized the food was mediocre at best. Hot food was cold and desserts were warm. When our bill arrived, it was ONE HUNDRED DOLLARS PER PERSON plus drinks. We were just floored at the cost. Again, we should of inquired about the cost and would of promptly left. We expressed our disbelieve upon our departure. The only positive thing about the night was the attentive staff. They were very good. Not worth the effort.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked this hotel for a 4 night stay in August. Pictures and words can't describe this hotels. Two amazing beaches, crystal clear water, great services, amazing rooms with high end shower products and a some great food. I still dream to go back and if you want to have an idea, you can follow their instagram accounts... Really great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Amazingly beautiful private resort; best for couples. We loved the island and ventured out to many local spots. The natives are very friendly and the culture is inviting. Visit queens baths, have a rum bubba at the fish fry and visit the Rainbow Inn for dinner. When you are tired of sightseeing curl up on the beach at the Cove or in one of their many hammocks.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Cove the week before Christmas for a much needed escape from the North-East winter. We flew in from Nassau on Pineapple Air, and arrived on Eleuthera by noon (flight was on schedule, and the view of the various shades of blue from the sky was precious). The drive from North Eleuthera airport to the resort was about 30 minutes (we drove cautiously on unfamiliar road, and opposite-side of driving). Upon entering the resort, we were greeted by a field of coconut trees with hammocks strewn all over the grounds, against the blue background of the Caribbean sea, enough to invoke the feeling of bliss and pure relaxation.
We stayed in the Bush View room - it was adequate for the amount of time we spent indoors. The linens (bedding, towels from Sferra) were luxurious and plenty, and the products were equally great (love the Molton Brown body wash). Our room is equipped with a ceiling fan (alongside air-conditioning) to keep the bugs away. The closet space was cleverly designed for the small space with pull-out full length mirror.
There are two beaches at this resort, and they were never packed. Equipment like kayaks, and stand-up paddle boards are readily available if you wish to use them. Carlos, the beach-attendant was very attentive and came around to refill our drinks ever so often. Hanging out on the beach was so relaxing even though the air was a bit cooler (high 70's). The pool is heated, so it's a good alternative when the sea water gets too cold. At night, there is a fire pit in the garden where you can sit and relax, look at the starry skies and just chill -- this is one of our favorite features at the resort.

Now, here are the cons that we found which kept my review at 4 (instead of 5):
- During our stay, the parking area was under construction and we had to park on the sides of the entryway. At night, this area is very dark so we had to use our portable lights.
- No drawers for clothes in our room, this would have made it more convenient to store bathing suits, t-shirts, to in addition to hanging wrinkle-prone items in the closet.
- No coffee maker in our room (even though it was mentioned on the website)
- Food at the restaurant was okay and not worth the price. We had lunch and dinner here and were disappointed with the quality of the food. We understand the cost of shipping goods to the island, but if the Cove wants to be a 5-star resort, the food should match the quality of high-end restaurants in the US (e.g. New York). Instead, we got average, overpriced food (e.g. flat bread served at lunch tasted like frozen pizza, and at dinner, the fish specialty -- grouper en papillote - some pieces were undercooked, and vegetables were raw/undercooked, and fishes on the menu when were there were not locally sourced (mahi-mahi, grouper), I expected to see some locally-caught fishes on the menu as we saw a busy fish-stand at nearby Gregory Town).
- we checked out early (5:30 am), and it was dark outside. The resort had called earlier to ensure that we were awake (we informed the front-desk the night before) -- this was a good touch. However, when we were walking to our car, the pathway to the driveway was completely dark, and an attendant was driving a golf cart passed us. He could have offered to take us to the car, but instead, he drove on leaving us in the dark with our luggage. Now, to truly be a 5-star resort, the Cove should take better care of its guests throughout their stay to leave a lasting impression.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

There's not much I can say about this place that has not already been said a million times. Beautiful location, wonderful service and worth every penny! My husband and I took a kid-free trip, this is the place to do it. At times, you feel like you have the entire resort to yourself. We went the first week in December. The food was phenomenal, drinks tasty. Robinson (beach attendant) was so attentive. Before we even step foot on the beach, he was heading to us with towels and a glass of water. They also double up as lifeguards.... While not their responsibility, you could always see the beach attendants keeping a close eye on guests when paddle boarding or kayaking. Gave pointers as well. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip there, could not have asked for more.

One tip- we originally had booked a bush view. Size was fine but the bathroom sink is ridiculously small. You will not be able to wash your face without completely drenching the floor. We asked to switch rooms 2 days in and wish we had done it sooner. The garden view room had an additional sink, more closet space and a better location. If you can, I highly recommend you at least book that size.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So let me start by saying that we don't travel to stay at a resort...we like to venture out and see and do everything. That being said, this little slice of heaven was so perfect that we didn't need or want to leave. The view, the room, the food/drinks & service were absolutely spot on. We will be back again and again --- can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cove Eleuthera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Eleuthera

Address: Queen's Highway, Gregory Town, Eleuthera
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera > Gregory Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gregory Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cove Eleuthera 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bahamian island legend, reborn with more style, more luxury ... And far fewer cares in the world. An intimate destination set up on the Caribbean's most beautiful pink sand beach. The Cove, Eleuthera's guest rooms and suites have been extensively renovated to blend urban chic with island charm. The new owner and management at The Cove. Eleuthera have over 20 years of hotel experience in the United States and have worked with the locals, training them to ensure that the same hospitality expectations in the states will be brought to The Cove, Eleuthera. We invite you for a visit, as Travel & Leisure said the "Best Secret Island on Earth" is closer than you thought! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Cove Eleuthera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Eleuthera Hotel Eleuthera
The Cove Hotel Eleuthera
Cove Hotel Eleuthera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Eleuthera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.