We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at a 5 star place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Eleuthera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cove Eleuthera to your Saves list
The Cove Eleuthera
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Queen's Highway, Gregory Town, Eleuthera   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Nights at The Cove!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gregory Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at a 5 star place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at the cove over 4th of July. This place has it all! We visited many other outer islands and nothing came close in comparison to the cove. NOTHING! All the food at different places we visited did not compare to the cove nor did the service compare to the cove's. The architecture at the cove was simple and with a modern twist fits the island of Eleuthera perfectly. The service and cleanliness was impeccable! I could have asked for a better experience than what the Cove had to offer. I suggest this place for anyone looking for a quick getaway to paradise. All should visit and experience this gem!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoveEleuthera, General Manager at The Cove Eleuthera, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Greetings from the Sunny Bahamas. We are so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your time with us. All our staff strives for excellence, and it seems we are providing this. Thank you for your great review. We would love to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    61
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
218
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picayune, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My son and I recently visited The Cove for 4 nights and it was truly amazing. My son is 10 years old and this was a trip he will remember for the rest of his life. We stayed in The Sanctuary which was beautiful. The staff was so accommodating to us. They made us (him) feel so special. The staff was doing all sorts of things with him. The sushi chef taught him how to roll sushi and went snorkeling with him and they also went spear fishing. Yes they have Sushi!! Very delicious sushi. The Atlantis resort is the only other place that serves sushi down there. The owners went hermit crab hunting another day with him. We went on bike rides through the property and laid in hammocks to enjoyed the ocean breeze. The hotel and the grounds are spectacular and manicured to perfection. The style of the hotel is ultra-cool. The rooms are clean and crisp with all white linens and curtains that open up to walls of glass sliding doors. The food was delicious and the chef was extremely accommodating to my picky son. He would pick items from the kid menu and pair it with sides from the lunch or dinner menu. They made whatever he wanted regardless if it was on the menu or not. We would spend our days either lounging by the infinity pool or frolicking in the Caribbean. We paddle-boarded and kayaked from the South Beach to the North Beach. The colors of water of the Caribbean seemed to change hourly as the sun moved over us. I've been to a couple of other islands in the Bahamas and this is by far the prettiest. The resort is quiet, peaceful and has a beautiful view no matter if your walking around the grounds or by one of the two beaches they have. We were at The Cove for The Bahamas Independence Day so we decided to take the short travel to Harbour Island. It was a 15 minute car ride to the water taxis and then a 7 minute boat ride. Harbour Island is definitely more touristy than Eleuthera. We went to Pink Sands, The Dunmore and ate at the Marina. Besides the visually differences of crowded streets and lots of people riding around on golf carts our experience was not a personal as at The Cove. The wait times for drinks and food were extremely long. Not something a 10 year old likes to do is wait and wait. Harbour Island has beautiful beaches but reminds of Destin, Florida where you have resort after resort. Beautiful but crowded. We will definitely come back to The Cove. This trip was everything I could have wished for and more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoveEleuthera, General Manager at The Cove Eleuthera, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Greetings from the serene side of the Bahamas. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel We love when guests take advantage of all our free amenities such as kayaking, snorkeling and paddle boarding. Our staff loves to cater and make our guests vacation everything they want it to be. Our resort is perfect for the elite traveller who is looking to get away from it all and let our staff take care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent a couple of days at The Cove following our wedding in Harbour Island. 2 days was perfect. We had heard mixed reviews to be honest, but overall had a couple of really relaxing spoiled days.
The hotel grounds are beautiful. The gardens are highly manicured, but hanging hammocks in a palm filled oasis - and a cliff bar overlooking the 2 cove beaches - there is little not to like.
The rooms are also sweet - minimalist white w/ low stylish furniture and incredibly comfortable beds. The only knock would be that the furniture whilst aesthetically very nice, was lethal - and you can expect a few bruises from bumping into the corners of the bed at night! There is also very little closet space, but we just unpacked what we needed for 2 nights and it wasn't a big deal.
Food was pretty good. Notably lunch. Cocktails delicious. The real oddity with the food in the resort is that the dinner menu is almost entirely Asian fusion (which I love, but my partner does not) and this makes the options for eating rather limited. There is no low key alternative (except some options on the room service menu). The most striking oddity for dinner, is that they expect you to eat indoors (in the Bahamas!). After explaining that it was our honeymoon, and we wanted to eat outside, they did set us a special outdoor table (there are tables on the deck for breakfast, they just don't set these for dinner). This was very strange - surely most people going to the Bahamas want to eat outside? Other guests certainly commented on this too.
The restaurant was very stylish and beautifully designed, but very Miami/LA and out of keeping with anything local.
We stayed at The Cove for 2 days R&R post a hectic week of wedding celebrations, and it was perfect - we kicked back, enjoyed the $15 cocktails & the beautiful surroundings. But had I not been in Harbour Island for 10 days, I would have been disappointed. My warning to travelers considering this hotel (& we were duly warned) is that there is nothing around it, so you are really stuck here. I would have found it too restrictive for longer than 2-3 nights.
The Cove is a glorious treat but don't go to the Bahamas and only experience this.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are literally a few steps from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoveEleuthera, General Manager at The Cove Eleuthera, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Greetings from The Cove Eleuthera Resort & Spa!

The Cove Eleuthera is labeled as an upscale and serene oasis designed for the distinguished traveler. Eleuthera’s creed is “Eleuthera it’s not for everyone” simply stating that certain amenities may be not available here but the island’s natural beauty and the peoples hospitable personalities.
We offer varieties in our cuisine to satisfy our guests’ choices: Sushi Bar, Freedom Restaurant with its cosmopolitan selection and an outdoor grill menu. We offer as well outdoor dining upon request.

We offer activities such as snorkeling, Kayaking, paddle boarding and bicycle which are complimentary and customized fishing/diving trips. Also, we have several natural features on the island, like Hatchet Bay Caves, Queen's bath, the blue hole, ocean hole lighthouse beach which tours can be arranged.

We are sorry your partner did not love the choices on the Freedom Restaurant menu; if we had known this we would have extended the courtesy to create a special dish to your partner’s liking.

Thank you for your valuable comments and your visit to The Cove Eleuthera Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband planned our trip at this resort. I was in awe from the moment we landed and entered the resort. The staff greeted us with beautiful smiles. Overall I was not pleased with the prices of the meals! My husband spent a very large amount of money for this relaxing trip, he continued to spend money on the taxi from the airport to the resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoveEleuthera, General Manager at The Cove Eleuthera, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Greetings from The Cove Eleuthera Resort & Spa!

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always striving to offer our customers the ultimate and tranquil vacation experience.

Kindly note that the majority of the goods available on island are of imported nature what reflects on our final pricing, not to mention the taxes on which we have no control over. However, our food and beverage prices are fully competitive with those of other resorts in the same category as ours.

Thank you for your valuable comments and your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was a surprise 60th birthday present from my husband, so I was really pleasantly delighted when I discovered where we were going as I'm always the planner. I couldn't, and wouldn't have chosen a better place.
The grounds are immaculate from the rooms to the public places. The staff, to the person, is professional and friendly and go beyond the call to make your stay the best that it can be. Kudos especially to Alejandro and to Robinson! But the best part of The Cove is the peace and tranquility. The simple beauty. The lack of noise and activity. The only activity is that which you choose.
Our room was the Bush View (BR8), which was at the very end of the board walk through the palms and was perfect. Totally private and quiet. We heard only the birds. The bed is to die for and I'm sure is the same in every room.
Food is a bit pricey, but really good. We took time out from the resort to go up the road to Daddy Joe's to watch the World Cup with new-found friends (hi Catherine and Tina!). If you're staying at The Cove you can get a pick-up from Daddy Joe's. Thanks Shirley!
Because we were only there for a few days we didn't venture out much, except to explore Gaulding Cay Beach, which is directly across the street from Daddy Joe's. Sparse, spectacular. Worth the little walk down the path.
We loved meeting the owner, Sidney and really loved watching his four dogs romp and play. It added to the natural order of things at this incredible resort. The dogs played but were never in your face.
Watching the sunsets from the infinity pool was spectacular... We can't wait to be back and hopefully bring our friends. The perfect place for someone looking for beauty, peace and nature. Thank you The Cove!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoveEleuthera, General Manager at The Cove Eleuthera, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Greetings from the Isle of Freedom. We are so happy we could help celebrate your 60th birthday and that you had a fabulous time. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The staff were amazing, they did everything they could to make sure that our stay was perfect. The entire property is very well kept. We even used the bikes to ride to the Glass Bridge. The beaches are perfect, the paddle boards and floats were a fantastic touch as well. The drinks, sushi and food were outstanding.

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room. Just make sure the a/c is working, they were having some issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoveEleuthera, General Manager at The Cove Eleuthera, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Greetings from the serene side of the Bahamas. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had an incredible time on the Isle of Freedom. We look forward to seeing you for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband, daughter (23) and I spent one week at this lovely, remote paradise. If you're looking for a place to unwind and relax without commercialization, this is the place. The grounds were immaculate. Overall the atmosphere was a nice combination of high end service and amenities delivered in an informal, welcoming manner. Expect to spend $100/ day per person for food. We booked a day trip with James Dunnam of Spanish Wells and that was so fun...fishing, cliff jumping and snorkeling! My disappointment was NO coffee in the room! ( well you could buy a Nespresso pod for $3 but that's not what I consider real coffee).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoveEleuthera, General Manager at The Cove Eleuthera, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Greetings from the Sunny Bahamas. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed our resort. I am sorry you did not bring the issue about the coffee to our attention as our Food and Beverage staff would have been more than happy to bring you coffee to your room every morning. We hope to see you for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cove Eleuthera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Eleuthera

Address: Queen's Highway, Gregory Town, Eleuthera
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera > Gregory Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gregory Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cove Eleuthera 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bahamian island legend, reborn with more style, more luxury ... And far fewer cares in the world. An intimate destination set up on the Caribbean's most beautiful pink sand beach. The Cove, Eleuthera's guest rooms and suites have been extensively renovated to blend urban chic with island charm. The new owner and management at The Cove. Eleuthera have over 20 years of hotel experience in the United States and have worked with the locals, training them to ensure that the same hospitality expectations in the states will be brought to The Cove, Eleuthera. We invite you for a visit, as Travel & Leisure said the "Best Secret Island on Earth" is closer than you thought! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cove Eleuthera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Eleuthera Hotel Eleuthera
The Cove Hotel Eleuthera
Cove Hotel Eleuthera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Eleuthera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.