We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should visit this place..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tinuy-an Falls

Tinuy-an Falls
Burboanan, Bislig, Mindanao 8311, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Bislig
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Dhahran
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“You should visit this place..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Visited this place on January 07, 2012. Due to the recent typhoon and continuous rain during the weeks prior to our visit, the volume of water coming out of the falls is really too much. We can't even go the '2nd floor' of the falls due to the water volume and current and it's really unsafe. The falls itself is beautiful but you should also try to visit Tinago Falls in Iligan/Lanao so you can compare the two. The local government of Bislig should do something about the rough road going to the falls.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“All Filipinos should come and visit this at least once in your life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

It's a 3-tiered and it is simply MAJESTIC. It's 15 kilometers inland from the national highway, and around 1-15 minutes away from Mangagoy, Bislig City. from Davao - 6 hours by land, passing Panabo and Tagum City, Davao del Norte, Compostela Valley, Agusan del Sur before arriving in Bislig City. But it's worth the long ride!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“spectacular!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011 via mobile

prepare yourself and be amazed with the beauty of Tinuy-an Falls. it was really beautiful and stunning! try going up and youll see more amazing view (just be careful). the staffs are friendly and helpful. theres a lot of people during the weekend so have a reservation ahead. they have a place for grilling your food and its clean. its 15 km from the main road and its not concrete yet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Niagara Falls in Philippines?!?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Tinuy-an Falls, is a 3hour drive from Butuan because of rough roads. Imagine we only paid 10/pax entrance fee, 100/cottage and stayed there as long as we wanted. It was very beautiful, there was a small waterfall in front of the parking area just before we paid the entrance fee. From there, you can view the big waterfall, but that's not it, on top of it is another waterfall so its a three tiered waterfalls!! It's was very amazing and I am encouraging all nature lovers out there to visit this wonderful place!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful Day Trip from Butuan City - Great Value, Swim & Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Today the wife, family and I went to Tinuy-an Falls, which from Butuan City was about 3 hours one way. It takes so long because on the road conditions, speed limits, and it's not a long straight line like our interstate system in the US. This is an island with mountains. I can say it was worth the trip. The falls are like a step ladder and each level is unique. At one point, I was even able to walk under the falls just beneath a ledge. VERY COOL! Think of this as a mini-mini Niagra Falls. parking was about 20 PHP, then we rented a cottage for 150 PHP (All Day). Additionally, to walk up the steep steps cost 20PHP per head. Can't remember the entrance fee, but there was a small one. But that level (number two from the bottom) is the best level for views of above and below. We recommend this as a great day trip for it is truly a natural beauty. It also breaks up the "Let's go to the Beach" monotony, because you can go to beaches much closer and every day if you choose. Check out the photos, but as I always say photos tell a story and you have had to have been there for the full effect. They don't have a website yet that I know of... But there is a Facebook page (Just don't know if it's the city or owners).

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinuy-an Falls also viewed

Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur Province
San Agustin, Surigao del Sur Province
 
Siargao Island, Surigao del Norte Province
Iligan, Lanao del Norte Province
 

Been to Tinuy-an Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinuy-an Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.