We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iron Imu BBQ

The Iron Imu BBQ
5315 Lower Honoapiilani Rd., Napili-Honokowai, Maui, HI 96761
(808)442-3700
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Riverton, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We found this place when going to the gazebo I ran into one of the employees and he told me all about the restaurant. This place is an absolute gem. The food is absolutely amazing. The chicken is 1st rate. We tried the combo plate and were absolutely satisfied with everything we tried!!!! The service was also very good. What a fun find.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Read reviews on this place and was looking for something other than fish for a change, loving good BBQ we decided to give it a try. Coincidentally it's right beside a condo we rented here 8 years ago at Napili Point but this wasn't there then. Walk up restaurant, no airs put on here, but good food and good value for the money spent. Had the sampler plate to share and we shared an extra side of brisket, the ribs and pork were the favorites although I liked the lean brisket myself. 2 Nice sauces to choose from, that are not overwhelming the meat itself. Dessert was good as well, for sure a great place if your staying in West Maui to try.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
“Best Value Restaurant on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Vacationing in Maui can be a strain on the wallet. However, we found Iron Imu was the best value restaurant that we visited and the food was awesome. 4 in our party and 4 different menu items; all were great. The service was also great and the owner very friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“IRON emu BArbecue OUTSTANDING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

In Maui, at the Napili Shores resort, who expected to find smoked brisket that is outstanding. The interior cut is better than at Mile End, in New York. The concept here is to pick your main meat, from about a dozen on offer any given day, plus three sides, all good and hard to choose from.The meats are smoked, and you decide what sauces to use, including barbecue sauces.Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little BBQ spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is a new spot since our last visit to Maui. It's a nice combination of counter service for ordering and a dining room where you can sit down and they bring you food to you when it's ready. The food was great, but don't wait til the end of the night to get there. They do their smoking in the morning, so some of the more popular items can run out before the end of the evening. The food was great!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Iron Imu BBQ also viewed

 
Napili-Honokowai, Maui
 

Been to The Iron Imu BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iron Imu BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.