We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star hotel with 3 star prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conacul Archia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Conacul Archia to your Saves list
Conacul Archia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zavoi nr 92, Archia, Deva 330162, Romania (Formerly Archia Mansion Boutique Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Archia
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Five star hotel with 3 star prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in August. They have lovely rooms, each decorated in a typical Romanian motif, and excellent fittings.... and an excellent a/c !!
The room that we were given was fairly large with a Transylvanian motif.
The hotel itself is located in a suburb of Deva, about 3 km off the main road, but there are signs all along showing the way.
The hotel has a pool, horse riding facilities and of course..excellent dining options, outdoor as well as indoor.
The rooms with breakfast costs about 50 - 60 Euros per night, but very good value for money for that part of the country.

Room Tip: Ask for the apartment nr. 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horia S, Owner at Conacul Archia, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for the great review. Hope to have you as a guest again as soon as possible.
Best regards,
Archia Mansion Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    22
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
32
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sibiu, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Together with my family we spent an excellent week-end in ARCHIA MANSION. The service is fantastic , restaurants at top level and the rooms are unique and well tasteful decorated.
We sincerely reccommand this special hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horia S, Owner at Conacul Archia, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your great review and we hope that we will see you soon back at Archia Mansion Boutique Hotel.:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed 2 weeks in Romania,travelling around,staying in total in 9 hotels.By far, Archia Mansion had the best standards.Swimming pool,a very nice and huge, hand painted room with the most spacious bathroom we have seen all this traveling years!A gourmet restaurant completes the whole experience.It is hidden between hills outside Deva, an indifferent location.The one thing that needs improvement is its breakfast and its smoking permission policy, as the smoke from the lobby and restaurant,was going up to the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoriaSzabo, Owner at Conacul Archia, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Thank you or the great review. We are very glad that you had a good time at our Hotel and hope that you will find the time to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We just left from Archia mansion this morning and we can honestly say we had the best time! The Mansion has it's beauty in the different arragements of the rooms which are very nicely decorated and hand painted by themes. We stayed in the "pigeon room" and we were very impressed by the attention given to the details. The staff of the Mansion is also very nice and will assist you at any time. We had the chance to meet Mrs. Szabo and her son Horia, and we were impressed how dedicated and hospitable they are. If Deva is not the first choice to a relaxing weekend, they sure know how to change that! Keep up the good work, and all the best!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoriaSzabo, Owner at Conacul Archia, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for the great review. Were very happy to hear that people had a great time at our hotel and hope you'll be back as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We visited Deva in July this year and we stayed in Archia Mansion which is situated at the entrance of the town.
The Mansion has 5 stars and it really deserves it!!
The rooms have different themes, we stayed in the one called "Wild Flowers" - and as we needed 3 beds, they brought in a smaller but comfortable one. The bed sheets and all the other furnishings in the room were very clean, smelling very nice!
The furniture in this room is white, with beautiful hand painted decoration. The bathroom matched the theme of the room and it was very clean.
In fact, the entire mansion looks like a very nice and clean place, with old pieces of furniture here and there..
We really liked the place and we recommend it to all people, either families, couples or just business people traveling in the Deva area.
There is one thing which is not 5 stars - the breakfast. They serve decent breakfast, but not at the 5 stars level.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoriaSzabo, Owner at Conacul Archia, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for the great review. Hope next time we will meet up to all of your expectations and hope too have you as a guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Archia Mansion is definitely something you will not forget. So far it is the nicest place I've been to as a tourist in Romania.

It is not cheap, on the contrary you pay around 50euro for a double room but the experience is worth every cent. The mansion itself is not just another building, everything is made with great taste. The place has everything you need for you and the kids to stay around: a outdoor pool (small but clean and nice), wi-fi all over the place or horse-riding.

The rooms have names (and their own theme!). We stayed in "Roots", a double room as most of the mansion. While everything was great, the only issue (I was there in August) was that the room gets too warm and you definitely need to turn the air conditioner on to get a good sleep.

The food is highly priced for the area but absolutely great. You can eat much worse for much more in Bucharest so I definitely recommend to have dinner there.

The position is also very good. It is just outside Deva (~3kms from the city) in a quiet and lovely area far from the city. In the same time it is close by to Hunedoara (maybe around 13kms). It is handy if you want to see the gothic castle of Hunedoara, the ruins of the old Deva fortress, the ruins of the ancient capital of Dacia (Sarmizegetusa Regia). Trip to Sarmizegetusa can take quite a lot as of the challenging road so take a day for it.

If you plan to visit the area, you are looking for a great experience and are you not afraid to spend cash, than this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoriaSzabo, Manager at Conacul Archia, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for the great review. It means a lot for us. Hope you'll visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conacul Archia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conacul Archia

Address: Zavoi nr 92, Archia, Deva 330162, Romania (Formerly Archia Mansion Boutique Hotel)
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Western Romania > Hunedoara County > Deva > Archia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Archia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Conacul Archia 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conacul Archia, situated in tranquil countryside 3 miles from Deva, offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. It offers many recreational activities and has an outdoor swimming pool and a sauna. Each of the rooms at Conacul Archia are individually decorated and comes with a minibar, satellite TV, work desk, and a bathrobe and slippers. The center of Deva and Citadel Hill are a 10-minute drive away. The attractions of Hunedoara, including Hunyad Castle, the Oak Forest of Chizid and Hunedoara Zoo, are a 25-minute drive from Conacul Archia. Some of the many recreational activities available include horseback riding, hiking and cycling. Conacul Archia also offers different massage treatments. Guests can enjoy a range of traditional Romanian and international dishes, prepared with locally produced ingredients, at the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Conacul Archia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conacul Archia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.