We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The rear of the property and the lower garden area.
The rear of the property and the lower garden area.
The rear of the property and the lower garden area.
Patio doors, leading to the lounge/diner.
Steps leading up to the balcony, double doors lead to the main bedroom.
Courtyard.
Looking up at the house from the sunny cobbled courtyard.
Mortagua
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
helenpw
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Comfortable, stylish home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

A beautifully restored old house in a blissfully peaceful setting. The scent of the pine and eucalyptus trees was our first impression - and the quiet... Yet the hamlet is alive with villagers tending their vines and there is the feeling of being part of the hamlet. Although keeping all the charm of an old country house, inside it is perfect and has everything you need. In mid-October we didn't need to fire up the lovely wood-stove, but felt cosy in the evenings. After days out, we stayed in and cooked most evenings, and had everything we needed.

5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Stylish-ness!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2013
I am so pleased that you had such a good stay at the house - the village is always bustling with winter preparations at this time of year, and the weather still good enough to do plenty of sight seeing. Thank you for the lovely review - we hope to see you again! Marta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Loveviews...
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous - home from home. Perfect family destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had a fabulous two week stay this summer with my husband and two sons (aged 9 &13). The house was very well kitted out, especially the kitchen. The house is in a lovely rural location, with wonderful aromas of the eucalyptus trees.

The owner was extremely helpful with advice on activities to do with the family and there are plenty of brochures, books and phrase books at the house to help plan your stay. She even arranged freshly baked rolls to be delivered each day! The pool table and plunge pool was a big hit with our boys.

The location of the property was perfect for visiting this part of Portugal, with the white sandy beaches being about 1 - 1.5 hours drive; the wonderful Roman Ruins at Conimbriga; a canal boat trip at Averio - great shopping here too! There is a cycle route about 15km away on an old railway line which connects Viseu with Santa Combo Dao.

A great location for a family holiday were you can either chill in the peaceful surroundings at the house or be out and about visiting the sites of central Portugal.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2013
It sounds like you got to do some of the things that our family love to do in the area too - thank you for the additional information about the cycle path/bike hire which we now look forward to exploring ourselves later this summer! Thank you for the great review - you would all be most welcome to use the house again any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Helen W
Penzance
1 review
“Excellent property and ideal getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We spent just under 2 weeks in Casa do LImao with our 1 year old son in November and had a simply magical time. The house came equipped with everything you could possibly need or want, all very tastefully done and with quality finish. It felt like a home, rather than a house, which for our family was perfect. We cooked wonderful food from local markets, our little one practised walking in the yard and garden and we generally got the peace and down time we needed. We also appreciated the fact that there is a bath as well as a shower - such a nice addition to a holiday home.
The village is very simple, with only houses and their market gardens, and so you'll need a car to access shops and cafés, but that makes for a truly relaxing holiday.
There were many pamphlets, guidebooks and suggestions on where to visit locally and not so locally, so we filled our time with some great forays too. We also went for daily walks in the surrounding forest, collecting fir cones for the wood burner,
All in all, it was just what the doctor ordered. Escaping the rat race with all mod cons. Perfect.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The quality homeliness of the property
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2013
Just the way we love to use the house too - though things are considerable more active in the summer! Thank you for your lovely review, and do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sgiathana...
Isle of Skye, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A well-equipped comfortable home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We had a very enjoyable break at Casa do Limao in December. The house was equipped with everything we might need and was very comfortable. The central heating was welcome on wet days. The peaceful country situation of Casa do Limao was perfect, and the location made a good base for exploring this interesting part of Portugal.

We would certainly recommend Caso do Limao to amyone who likes a rural retreat in a quiet location that is also not far from amenities.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2013
Thank you for endorsing what we feel about this lovely and undiscovered part of Portugal! We really appreciate your positive feedback, and hope that you will come again!

Marta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Alkjohnso...
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unspoilt haven of tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous country house in a beautiful unspoilt and largely undiscovered area of Portugal. The house has all the modern creature comforts, dishwasher, Internet, satelite TV, washing machine etc and is extremely comfortable and superbly equipped to a very high standard. It is in a stunning and naturally beautiful scenic area. Highly recommended.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Beautiful area and modern amenities of the house.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you are very welcome back any time!

Marta.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$467
/ Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Marta V
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2012
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 178 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing