We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but tired property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Kho Khao Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Koh Kho Khao Resort to your Saves list
Koh Kho Khao Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   21 moo 4 Kohkhokhao | Takuapa, Ko Kho Khao 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ko Kho Khao
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location but tired property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

KKK resort is perfect for those couples or families who are looking for quiet location right on a beautiful beach. The bungalows closer to the beach look very nice although we stayed for three consecutive Saturday nights as a reprieve from our non-air conditioned home in Takuapa in a very affordable family room (3 children aged 13, 10, 8) in the main hotel because the bungalows are not large enough for family of 5. The room was spacious and comfortable although the bathroom was a bit tired. We found a great rate on Agoda. Apparently the end of their season before they close until November is the end of April so when we went over 3 weekends at the end of March the resort was becoming a ghost town, kind of eerie, and many of the amenities were shutting down for season (e.g., beach sunset bar, indoor spa, beach massage not actually part of resort but cheap and right next door on the private beach). The 3 pools were beautiful and seemingly well maintained. The grounds themselves were not superlative as walkways were allowed to be overgrown with weeds, etc. The restaurant was a bit on the expensive side (e.g., 300 baht for one person pizza) relative to food in Thailand and it was any great shakes but the selection was fine and it had great setting right on beach. The complimentary breakfast was fine with made to order omelettes, fresh fruit and fresh waffles, among other Thai selections but the bacon wasn't great. The tour arranging desk was very helpful, especially Aek, and offered very competitive rates (cheaper than other Khao Lak hotels even tho they use the same companies) on snorkelling tours to Similan Islands, etc. There were free volleyballs available for signout and free ping pong table and darts. The outdoor massage on the property was affordable (300 or 400 baht for one hour) and professional. We enjoyed the external massage huts on the beach too (before they closed on the second weekend) and they were a little more affordable (ie all 300 baht). Taxi from the pier to the resort and back are free upon check in and check out and is abougt 10 minutes. Otherwise going to the pier for dinner in evenings is 50 baht per person one way and leaving/going to island on longtail boat or ferry is 20 baht per person or 150 baht per car on fery which covers all people in car. Restaurants at pier are marginally cheaper and good quality we found. ALso going to Tsunami Memorial in Baan Naam Kem very close by is also worthy it and very sombre. Overall we obviously liked resort and thought it very good value which is why we went back for 3 consecutive weekends.

Room Tip: Ideally choose bungalow around pool #1 or looking at the ocean if you can afford it and don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We have just returned from an 8 night stay at this resort my partner and I were not expecting luxury and what we got was a basic resort with reasonable facilities and accommodation. Our bungalow room was more than adequate with a spacious bathroom unfortunately without sea view but only a short walk to the beach, shop, restaurant and one of the pools. Staff were very friendly and their English adequate (better than our Thai). Like much of this part of Thailand there were more Scandinavian guests than Brits. We tried several of the restaurants on the beach and at the port but we found that the best food was at the Chaba restaurant at the resort with reasonable prices. This is an ideal place to stay if you want a quiet relaxing holiday with endless walks on miles of unspoilt white sand beach, donot expect much nightlife and children should be capable of creating their own entertainment. Watch out for falling coconuts!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjallerup, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed 14 days at Koh Kho khao resort celebrating New Year and Birthday. It was possible to see sunset and hear the silent waves from the beach very close to our hotel room. The Chapa restaurent even closer to the beach was a very nice place to start the day with breakfast and smiles from the friendly staff. We tried to eat a few times in the evenning as well and that was ok, although we found better restaurent down the beach and at the pier. The one closest to the pier was execellent.

The resort helped ud organising trips to Koh Tachai and to Simlian island. That was fantastic even with rough waves back home in the speedboat with 775 HP. The Surrondings in Koh Kho Khao resort was excellent with palmtrees and a wonderfull beach .

We considered to give a better rating, but because of unclear seawater, which was very important to us, and because of to many smoking guest in neigbourgh rooms and at the restaurent, only average rating is possible.

Room Tip: Ask about if there a non smoking neigbourgh rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We were meant to be staying at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a trip to Khao lak, we actually stayed for about 3 hours. One of the main things that put us off staying was the flies trying to land on your food in the restaurant when we had lunch there. One of the waitresses said it was always like that in the restaurant. My concern was if it was a problem in the restaurant, what was it like in the kitchen?
We had no other problems with flies at the other 2 resorts we stayed in or the many Thai restaurants and beach shacks we ate in
The beach bungalow did not have direct access to the beach as there was a concrete wall directly in front of it. The beach in front of the resort reminded me of a war zone.
The sunbeds appeared to look as though they needed a good clean and some new mattresses.
Very few rooms at the hotel appeared to be occupied. The grounds looked tired and unkempt.
A very dissapointing experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband and I (both retired) had such a wonderful week here before travelling South to Phuket for a diving holiday. The accommodation was first class and the gardens and grounds which lead to their own beach was beautifully kept. There were three swimming pools which were excellent and so clean. The staff all really friendly and welcoming. A place to go back to without a doubt. The taxi and ferry transfers were arranged by the resort and did not take long.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms had lovely views either over the pools, gardens or beach. We were offered a choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laholm
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

If you want to spend a few days whit swedish tourists in a place where there is absolutely nothing but the hotel and spend moore money than necessery on drinks and food, this is the place fore you. Went there with my husband fore only to nigths (thank god). We rented a beach bungalow wich was very nice but the the place itself was the most boring place I have ever been to. Just one restaurang in the hotel and none outside. If you wanted to eat somewhere else you hade to take a taxi fore about 15 min. No bars or thairestaurants on the beach. No shopps nearby only the on in the resort. I dont like places like this. Could just as well be in Croatia or Spain och France. Booring. If you want Thailand dont come here. Theres notthing wrong with the countrys mentiond but this is supposed to be Thailand

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
düsseldorf
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

rooms are clean, very well equipped. staff is friendly and very helpfull. beach is endless and lovely. very easy and cheap to organize tours to phuket/khao lak/ elefant trekking-canoeing/snorkeling or to rent a motorbike

when you are there you MUST:

1) rent a motorbike (350baht per day) and visit lonely beaches with their small seafood restaurants (fantastic) : hapla beach, sunset beach

2) book a tour to similan island (around 2500 baht per person): breathtaking beaches like in polynesia, fantastic reef snorkeling

3) eat at the restaurants at koh kho khao peer/town: fantastic thai food. A main coarse is 80- 120 baht. can recommend Ko Kai Restaurant and Bamboo Bar and Restaurant (great drinks and food). For Drinks: Joes Bar (good cocktails and good music

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Kho Khao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Kho Khao Resort

Address: 21 moo 4 Kohkhokhao | Takuapa, Ko Kho Khao 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Kho Khao
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ko Kho Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Kho Khao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Koh Kho Khao Resort is located on a small island of about 16,000 acres. The island has beautiful white sandy beaches and many small hills several with wonderful waterfalls. With much of the island convered by forests and a little bit by grasslands this is a perfect place to enjoy the many species of flowers so special to here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Koh Kho Khao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Kho Khao Hotel Ko Kho Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Kho Khao Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.