We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, restaurant needs sharpening up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stord Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stord Hotel to your Saves list
Stord Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Leirvik, Leirvik N-5400 , Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leirvik
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, restaurant needs sharpening up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Modern room with well appointed bathroom, clean. Breakfast good apart from when busy when buffet runs out and is not replenished quickly. Limited dinner menu with some items unavailable but food is good. No/poor wifi in common areas. Good wifi in room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
5
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed her for one night with work. Had a lovely room on floor 8 of the new section. Can not fault the room - nice bed, good TV and excellent bathroom. Nice and quiet

Breakfast was excellent and the reception area was cosy. Good meeting room facilities as well.

Room Tip: A room in the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel offers decent rooms and a rather good restaurant. Has a bar, too, with live piano music, which is closed most of the time. 5 minutes walking from town. But prices are high, so you pay a lot for average value. WIth only three hotels in town, this local rip-off system has been around for a long time. If in Stord, stay here, but do not expect too much.

Room Tip: All renovated rooms are of decent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was there for 1 night in May 2013 and enjoyed excellent food and facilities. Pleasant friendly staff, all fluent(ish) in English and ready to help. One niggle - the room was too warm all night and it seemed impossible to cool it down. All in all, a very good experience, however.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki - Finland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I spent three nights at Stord Hotell in Leirvik this April.

When in Norway, pay as Norwegians. So nothing comes cheap, no matter where you are in Norway. Be prepared to pay a hefty sum of money for your stay, and same goes for everything else in Norway and in Stord as well. Food, drinks, hotels...wow...is all I can say.

The hotel itself has gone through a major face lift during the recent years and I had the pleasure of staying in the new wing. My room was very comfortable, but also extremely basic. But everything worked, water pressure was good, plenty of warm water, no traffic noise to my room, free wireless that worked wonderfully and everything was brand new. For some reason many hotels are currently using black and other dark colors in their interior (and the same thing in Hotell Stord) and this makes everything very dark and depressing. Propably one major issue with my room. But the bed and matress was very comfortable even for a guy my size (198 cm of 6'6).

The reception and bar staff really did not make an effort to make a great first impression. I guess you dont have to when the town has only two hotels. Reception did not know of restaurants that were down hill and even directed us to ones that were closed. Fortunately the town is very convenient, so we managed to walk to next ones with the help of locals.

Bar and restaurant in the hotel were closed on Sunday evening.

Breakfast was very nice and enough option were available for a variety of travelers.

If you want to save some money, there is a big grocery store across the main entrance, less than 100 meters, just across the parking lot and it is open from morning tills 22:00 hrs.

Location otherwise is convenient, close to highway and also within a 10 minutes walking distance (downhill) from the harbor.

Would I stay here again? Propably yes, since options are rather limited, but I would like to see the staff pick up some service attitude. With 200+ travel days per year, I have definitely seen better service in cheaper hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've spent 2 nights at this hotel for a business trip.
The staying was ok.
Personnel overall professional.
I have not noticed particular flaws or disturbing elements.
The breakfast ok.
Price was also aligned to the level of service.

Room Tip: I did not stay enough to appreciate options
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was paid to live here for two weeks and enjoyed myself even though finding the hotel was a pain because of the lack of signposting on the E39 passing Leirvik. Stord is the name of the island upon which Leirvik is the main town though you will see signs for "Stord Hospital" and "Stord Airport" but no signs for "Stord Centre". None of the signs I saw on the E39 suggested to me I was driving past the main town on the island again and again. Even businessmen from Bergen getting off the fast ferries on the quay were asking me if they were "in Stord". To find the hotel, drive along the E39, You'll see a sign saying "Vekt" at N59.77473 E6.48438. Take that then follow the sign to the right saying "hotel". The hotel's pretty much at N59.77392 E5.49569.

You know, it can rain so much in Norway you start to take biblical stories about floods more seriously and my room in Stord Hotell had a heated towel rail in the bathroom with a heated floor of course so you can take your soaking coat off, dry it and put it on again dry the next morning. Simple but so effective and welcome and not something I remember having in other hotels in Norway.

Breakfast. I noticed this wasn't the "typical" Norwegian hotel breakfast. The bacon was thicker and more rustic unlike the cheap salty stuff that's too thinly sliced you get at most hotels. I got the impression the breakfast chefs enjoyed experimenting which meant breakfast usually had something new each morning. One GREAT thing was the staff were not in a mad rush to get the food away if you were lingering over your breakfast a bit.

Food. They have a proper kitchen with proper chefs cooking proper food. The meat was great but you should try any of the fish dishes bearing in mind Stord is surrounded by great fishing waters.

Staff. Universally friendly, kind, cheerful, efficient without being "fussy".

Open broadband. Free. Logging on is easy.

Nice decorations. I don't normally notice interior design unless it's horrendous. I actually noticed this place was tastefully decorated.

Parking and shopping. There's a supermarket near the hotel. It would be a good place for anyone touring in a camper to have a night of civilised comfort, a nice meal, do some shopping, download their email etc.

I nearly forgot to mention. I don't have a problem sleeping. I sleep anywhere if I'm tired but at Stord Hotell, I slept brilliantly. I don't know why. Yes, the beds were obviously perfect for me, plenty of nice pillows, no noise .... but I've had that before at loads of places and not slept so well. I can't tell you why but I slept like a log here.

Like other hotels in Norway of a certain standard, the hotel has live entertainment most nights plus an area of comfy sofas with a big telly for watching satellite football etc. near the bar.

The hotel seemed quite busy with various groups having meetings and conferences in the meeting rooms and there's a large function room upstairs apparently. I never saw it.

I seem to remember the hotel has a swimming pool and gym etc. neither of which I saw or used.

Stord is nice. Everything you need without everything you get in big cities you don't need. Lots of lovely coves, beaches, bays, rivers and nature to explore.

Room Tip: I had the same room for two weeks. I never wanted a different room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stord Hotel

Address: Leirvik, Leirvik N-5400 , Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Stord Municipality > Leirvik
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leirvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stord Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stord Hotel Norway/Leirvik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stord Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.