We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gudvangen Fjordtell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gudvangen Fjordtell to your Saves list
Gudvangen Fjordtell
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gudvangen Fjordtell, Gudvangen 5747, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gudvangen
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

this hotel is situated between 2 mountains and fjord is passing through it. you cannot expect a better location than this. the rooms are not great, but fine for a one night stay. the staff is helpful and breakfast is decent. worth staying a night at gudvangen.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    12
    12
    5
See reviews for
10
29
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was both the most expensive and the worst place we stayed in in Norway. I gather they have some accommodation near the restaurant with glass ceilings etc but we were in a motel section further inland. The rooms were dark, dated and not particularly clean and amazingly in such a beautiful location you couldn't really see the mountains from the small window in the living room without some effort.

The real problem however is in the main section of the 'hotel'. The staff are just too busy and looked weary from the mass catering for coach loads of tourists dumped in the restaurant for 40 minute meal turnarounds. Reception was covered by kitchen/canteen staff and when you could get hold of them appeared to have had all charm or humour drilled out of them.

Breakfast was a joke, no coffee and tepid water for tea. Cold hard boiled eggs and a mess of left overs. Again the problem was with coach parties, who had decimated what had been there but at 8:30 there was no enthusiasm to replenish supplies. When I asked for some eggs the lady simply refused. After making a little bit of a fuss she agreed to bring three eggs and some fresh coffee, but what was eventually produced 20 minutes later was inedible.

We booked this place because we were wanting to be sure to catch the ferry to Kaupanger, but in the end we had pre booked a place and we would have easily got on anyway if we had just turned up 1 minute before it had departed.

We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment, but there was not much veggie on offer. If I had my time again I would definitely not stay here, it would be a rip off at half the price literally. I would look at huts near by (we passed a couple of places driving into Gudvangen) or if they have spaces try the Stalheim Hotel which has the most amazing location (never stayed there but stopped for a coffee on our way through - highly recommended if you have the time).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gudvangen hotels

Kenora
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. We stayed in a viking room, in the sod roof covered building. It was unique! We loved the skylight - it made the room so bright. The room itself was much larger than ordinary hotel rooms, and we enjoyed stretching out. The woodwork in the room was impressive. I was afraid that the area would be noisy, but once the ferry/cruise ship travellers left, the community/area was very quiet and pleasant. The breakfast was short on hot foods, but reasonable for the price charged. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is at the ferry terminal and there really is no point stopping here overnight. We ended up leaving early for Flam which is far more enjoyable with a lot more to offer. We had a family room which was at best basic - no Viking beds for us! We paid £225 a night for this room and although Norway is expensive anyway this was by far the most expensive of our 4 hotels and offered us the least - not even a tele or wi-fi, but broken air con.Breakfast was basic and as building work was going on totally ruined by the banging! Give this one a miss! Evening meal was good and staff friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Location is perfect. Right by the port of the Fjord cruise, as part of Norway in a nutshell.
Rooms are a little strange, with lots of animal skin.
The staff is cold at best. No warmth, just cold politeness.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is at the end of the fjord in Norway, right next to the ferry terminal. It was raining that day, we can get into our room from the terminal without getting wet. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. The restaurant with sun roof served good food .
The sun roof is beautiful and enhanced the fjord experience. We booked a budget room and the room is newly remodeled.
It has water heater in the bathroom for every room. The room is big and comfortable.

The heater works very well and the room is warm. Our window was facing 5 waterfalls . It was peaceful and quiet .
The trail led to the river is fun to hike on. It is less expensive than Yosemite in us .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladimir, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is situated in a picturesque place in Norway.The bungalow is comfortable.The interior is decorated with wood.and glass.My bed looked like viking"s boat.It was coved with animal"s skin /Besides there was a shower Just imagine you are resting in a viking boat and a beautiful sky is just above you. ,because bungalow"s roof is made of glass.It was impressive.As for hosters they were polite and hospitable,Thank you very much for unforgettable impressions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gudvangen Fjordtell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gudvangen Fjordtell

Address: Gudvangen Fjordtell, Gudvangen 5747, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Gudvangen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gudvangen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gudvangen Fjordtell 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gudvangen Fjordtell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gudvangen Fjordtell Hotel Gudvangen
Gudvangen Fjordtell Western Fjords

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gudvangen Fjordtell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.