We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST WESTERN SKEI HOTEL, NORWAY.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Jolster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Jolster to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Jolster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 23, Skei 6841, Norway (Formerly Skei Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skei
. london UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BEST WESTERN SKEI HOTEL, NORWAY.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

If anyone is thinking of staying in Norway for a holiday, I consider that the Best Western SKEI HOTEL at SKEI N JOLSTER is the one for you. The owner is Jon, and has been in the same hotel for fifty years, in fact he was born there in a little house out in his garden. He uses the house to entertain selected members of his clietelle with tea and or coffee, tells stories of years ago and also plays an accordion and sings. It is a marvellous hotel with excellent food accommadation, and is situated alongside a lake./ We have been to this hotel on three seperate occasions, and have been greeted each time by Jon like we were old friends. It is a MUST for anyone touring Norway.We travelled there several years ago and it was a grand experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are good so you do not need to have a selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    46
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
37
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We drove from Alesund to Bergen and stop at the Best Western overnight before we continue our drive to Bergen. The hotel is at a great location, almost half way between Alesund and Bergen on E39. Very easy to find since it’s right next to the road. We didn’t have a reservation. We stopped in at 7:30 PM and there was room available for less than 1000 NOK a night. They don’t have lake view room anymore, but our room still has a nice mountain view. The room is spacious. It’s the biggest hotel room we stayed in in Norway. The hotel has a mix old and new. The room is updated and the heat works. It was cold at night even in the beginning of September. We turned on the heat and it warmed up the room comfortablely. The bathroom is also spacious and clean.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant since there is no other restaurant near the hotel. Dinner was good and it came out fast. Service was also good, too. Breakfast served at the same dining room as dinner. The dining room is huge so it was never crowded at breakfast or dinner.

We didn’t have our Best Western frequent guest number with us. They were very willing to look up our number so that we can get credits for our stay. We saw the sign that the hotel offer day trip to the nearby glaciers and attractions. We wished we could stay longer to enjoy the scenery and the hotel pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Excellent value for the room. Breakfast buffet is ample but not outstanding. Bagging a lunch is allowed at breakfast for ~75 Krone (~USD$12). Room 232 is spacious and is next to a large solarium parlor with seating for ~6 persons and a view of the snowcapped mountains (not the lake). The two of us enjoyed it all to ourselves.

Room Tip: If lakeview rooms are not available, Room 232 is on the mountainview side of the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

The information and service you get in this hotel is excellent. I was informed that the Skei hotel has been welcomming guests since 1889. It has since been rebuilt and extended. Even so you can still feel the historical connection as you enter the reception, or enjoy the touch of the cooking of traditional norwegian food like the Jølster trout in the restaurant. The hotel has much to offer besides ordinary hotel activities. There's a tennis court, a miniature golf course and both indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. On top of that you may enjoy the turkish steam bath or even out your tan in the solarium.
It is situated close to several well known attractions, like the Jostedal glacier, both the Hardanger- and Sognefjorden, and it has an excellent view over the Jølster lake from several of the rooms. If you like you may enjoy a helicopter ride over the glacier or a walk on it. They also arrange excursions by bus to different locations.
Nearby is also possibilities for walking or mountain hiking, with or without guides. I also found out that it has a lot of rivers and lakes nearby for fishing. My conclusion is that there was to little time to really enjoy all the posdibilities offered or made available by this hotel. I would like to stay for a much longer time, but duty calls so I'll be back...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just come back from a week in this hotel. We had a room at the front of the hotel ovelooking the lake. The view was stunning.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
The food was good but could have been more varied.
This hotel caters for coach trips so be prepared for the dining area to be noisy and crowded. It stays open for a long time so if you do not have a timetable you can miss the crowds.
The owner is lovely and do not miss his evening invitation to the old house.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel on the top floor. The views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent 2 nights in Skei and this hotel has a great view on a fjord right outside the front door ! Very nice buffet breakfast and dinner. Great spot if you are interested in the nearby glaciers or just to overnight. Rooms are not fancy, but clean and well kept. Grocery store right around the corner if you need some supplies or some of the "cheap" half liter beers for around 30 Kroner or $5 each vs. the $12 ro more you'll pay for a draft beer anywhere in Norway !

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the fjord if its not more expensive, but even if you don't get one, you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of an organised trip. The hotel was lovely,the staff great, room, really comfortable. The only downside for us, was the food wasn't overly hot. Some reviews have commented on the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but you only have to ask at the front desk and they will give you a kettle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Jolster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Jolster

Address: PO Box 23, Skei 6841, Norway (Formerly Skei Hotel)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Skei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Jolster 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant, modern and comfortable family-run resort hotel with proud hospitality traditions since 1889. Spacious lounges and dining room overlooking Lake Jølster. Wide choice of indoor- and outdoor activities all year round. Excellent base and starting point for half- or full day excursions to some of the most interesting and well-known sights and tourist attractions in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Jolster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sogn Og Fjordane
Sogn Og Fjordane Best Western
Thon Hotel Jolster Skei, Norway - Western Norway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Jolster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.