We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pub food on Sydnet's North Shore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Gum Hotel

The Blue Gum Hotel
55 Pacific Highway | 2641, Waitara, Hornsby, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 restaurants in Waitara
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: On the corner of Unwin Road
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best pub food on Sydnet's North Shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Bluegum Hotel has been producing the best pub food in the area for a very long time. You can tell it is good by the full bistro area every day of the week. My favourite meal is the steak sandwich. Best around. The kitchen does a good job on all the meals and they have very good specials all the time. Highly recommend. This venue is Kid friendly also. The price is a little more than other pubs, but it is high quality food, so definitely worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    13
    13
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average accommodation with cracking pub downstairs in Northern Sydney”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Average accommodation yet comfortable and quiet.

Brilliant pub downstairs with great food and regulars - it was quiz night when I was there and I was made very welcome despite bring English :)

Good parking and really convenient for train into Sydney (just over 30 mins) and the Highways

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Pub Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I recently went to the Blue Gum Hotel with my mother and Great aunt for lunch. Initially I thought the prices were a bit expensive for a lunch menu but when the food came out I could see why. The meals are huge and absolutely fantastic. I had the slow cooked pork belly and it was cooked to perfection. Presentation was fantastic and service fast. The lovely boy that was clearing the tables was super efficient and lovely. My great aunt is 93 so the meal was way too big for her and the manager came to our table and said if we couldn't get through it all he would give us a take away box for left overs. The decor is a little bit dated but overall the experience was great and I would definitely come back again for the fabulous food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A locals pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Bluegum always has very good food, if a bit more pricey than necessary. Depending on the timing it will either be fairly quiet or completely packed. Most of the time a good family friendly option, but Friday nights are more for singles on the lookout.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Expensive now”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

As with everything, the prices here seem to have increased and the quality is not as good as it used to be. However, that may just have been our experience. This is a popular spot and bookings for tables are recommended on Friday and Saturday nights. It has a good amibence, but can be quite noisy if you are eating later in the evening.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Gum Hotel also viewed

Wahroonga, Hornsby
Hornsby, Greater Sydney
 
Wahroonga, Hornsby
Berowra Waters, Hornsby
 

Been to The Blue Gum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Gum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.