We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pit Stop Potential” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll to your Saves list
Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Roadchef Motorway Svc Area M6 Toll Norton Canes, Norton Canes WS11 9UX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Norton Canes
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pit Stop Potential”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Having travelled the length and breadth of the UK motorway network for the last 5+ years, most of these hotel/motels blend into the same.

As the stay was very brief (arrived at 11pm and left at 7am) I'll keep the review very brief.

Good welcome from very pleasant receptionist, no delays and in room in minutes. Room was standard fare from this type of establishment, spotlessly clean and bed was comfortable. Only down side was pillows were not to my liking, but that is personal preference. Next to no noise from outside car park or M6 toll.

Breakfast could have been purchased from services which are connected to hotel, so all in all a good pit stop for someone whoi just wants a bed with no frills when communting down M6 area.

Room Tip: If you want total peace, ask for a room at the back away from motorway traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie D, General Manager at Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Im glad you had an enjoyable pit stop here and every thing suited your needs for a quick stayover. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.. Thank you for your review..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
17
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We had a deal to stay here in a family room for £24.99 and even for double we would have been happy. The accommodation was comfortable, clean, large and had all one wanted at hand. The receptionist was welcoming. As others have said, the rally BIG let down here is probably not Days Inn problem. Road chef need to get a grip of the very poor food quality and service staff. We produced a voucher issued by Road chef which appeared to be first time. We then waited for someone to elp while the alread unappetising food hot colder. So, whilst we may stay again for alf ay convenience on way to Scotland, we will ake sandwiches. The other thing we found was the location was not easiest to locae but again this was probably a Sat Nav issue ( not the driver obviously!). Overall Days Inn was really good and worth the money. Recommend Sign for their card for deals. We booked ahead for Days Inn Lockerbie.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie D, General Manager at Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thankyou for your kind respone and we are happy you enjoyed your stay here. We are sorry that the resturant let you down on this occasion, We do have several resturants in the norton canes area which we would be happy to direct you to which is just a short 5 minuite drive from the hotel which also avoids the toll charge. Once again thankyou for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming your back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed at hotel to break a long journey to Penrith. The hotel at Norton Canes was very clean and quiet. I had an excellent nights sleep so all the basics were good. As a single person staying however I think there should be some recompense for the fact you are in fact paying the same as 2 0r 3 people. Towels for one were left so less washing and less use of tea and coffee. In addition if twin room which was not on offer you actually use less bedding. I think you should be given a free breakfast or reduction on further stay as to be honest I think its discriminatory !!

Room Tip: Pick upstairs as v quiet and I stayed downstairs previously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie D, General Manager at Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thankyou for your feedback of your stay here with us, Im glad you had a good night sleep this is what we strive to provide. I will pass on your comments to our head office to see if we can introduce a single occupany rate. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedewain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed 7 July 2012.This used to be a Premier Inn until 2010 when it was transferred to the Days Inn chain. The Hotel itself is of a good standard, the beds comfortable and room/bathroom clean and is reasonably priced, especially using Rewards 4 Forces card which discounted the price 50% to £25 per night for a family room.
Unfortunately the food in the attached Mall is uninspiring and rather expensive, and as mentioned by others, in order to eat elsewhere, one would have to leave the toll area, thereby incurring an extra toll payment.

Room Tip: Eat before travelling, or bring your own food
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie D, General Manager at Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thankyou for your review on your hotel. Just incase you decide to stay with us in the future.We do have a back entrance which avoids the toll road and there is several resturants just a 5 minuite drive away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Since the hotel is on the M6 Toll there is nothing else nearby except the attached services. This means that if you wanted to eat somewhere else then you would need to leave the M6 Toll and then come back - meaning paying the toll charge twice. So either eat before joining the toll road or bring your own unless you want to pay the usual prices for motorway services food.

Rooms are fairly basic but comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities and flat screen tv.

One warning, nothing to do with the hotel.

Make sure you fill up with petrol before joining the M6 Toll (as we did) the price of petrol was 13 pence a litre more expensive than the cheapest we found in some garages off the motorway. You expect to pay more at motorway services but 13 pence!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie D, General Manager at Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We do have a back entrance to our hotel which avoids the toll so if you stay here in the future we would be happy to let you out the back entrance to avoid the toll and also there is several resturants a 5 minuite drive away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I booked this place 1 week in advance and paid £40 for a double (no breakfast included) I reserved the disabled room by accident even though im not disabled and was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and big and if you want just somewhere to stay for over night then this was a bargain. Basic room with kettle and shower and tv but thats all you need when its a quick stopover. I would advise that if you are travelling here from a distance then use google mapping to find it otherwise you may get lost as it is tucked off the M6.You can get breakfast here and pay £7.50. The breakfast was ok.
Dont book this place if your the type that is fussy with rooms and want an upmarket place to stay as this isnt it. But it serves its purpose.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie D, General Manager at Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank You for your response on our hotel, We are glad that you found your stay here with us a pleasant one and great value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed here to break up a journey up north. Staff were polite and friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. Very convenient and good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie D, General Manager at Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank You for your review we strive to provide excellent customer service and to maintain our room standards, We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll

Address: Roadchef Motorway Svc Area M6 Toll Norton Canes, Norton Canes WS11 9UX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Norton Canes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Norton Canes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes m6 Toll Hotel Norton Canes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.