We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic little cafe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koke pub and cafe

Koke pub and cafe
Kohukohu Rd, Kohukohu, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Kohukohu
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic little cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

A friendly little cafe in a lovely tiny town. Good coffee and great food! We had an excellent time enjoying the food, while sitting in the sun and watching the world go by (albeit very slowly in kohukohu).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Lovely fish and chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stopped here after returning by the ferry, and had a lovely meal.

Some had fish and chips, think it was kingfish in beer batter, others the much praised Chowder.

Sat on the wooden seats by the road.

Lovely service, BIG portions (had to get a doggy bag!), and good price - what more can you ask for.

Made lovely memories for us from the UK visiting our NZ family.

Thank you:)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Get a taste of local life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a real locals pub and this comes across in the ambiance and service. Everyone is super friendly and relaxed. As it's right on the harbour there are some excellent views to be had, especially around sunset. Well worth a stop off if you are in the area

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quintessentially kiwi and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We had coffee and muffins on good Friday, great coffee and for the decaf drinker one of the few places in Northland we came across that had decaf. Plus no surcharge for statutory day and a really nice vibe

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Quirky but delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We drove down from Kaitaia to the Rawene ferry and arrived around lunchtime with an hour to kill before the next ferry. We'd seen the sign for the restaurant further back up the road and it looked enticing although faded. The cafe is not pretentious and the dining is al fresco but it is cute and the food is really delicious. I had a very authentic and beautifully cooked Moroccan chicken dish and my husband had fish and chips with salad, which was just as excellent. We really enjoyed this top. Although the place looks modest, so are the prices and the food is well worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koke pub and cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koke pub and cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.