We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whales pass by your door inside National Park

View of the property with cottage on the left warf in the distance.
View of the property with cottage on the left warf in the distance.
View of the property with cottage on the left warf in the distance.
Barn on the  property
MAP of Bonne Bay Arms 400-700 ft deep
View of the water front from the warf. Immediate area
View of Woody Point from boat
Bonne Bay
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leo55
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Dirty and Uncared For”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We decided to book this property on the strength of the previous reviews on Flipkey (where the property details are advertised) and could hardly believe the reality. Uncared for - broken springs in sofa; cobwebs/dead flies between sliding window panes; thick layer of dust on side table and bath edge; notice asking you not to flush the loo unless essential; all furnishing, including kitchen cupboards, very old and tatty; peeling wallpaper; musty smell suggesting hadn't been occupied for some time. Basic provisions in kitchen cupboards but of dubious age and condition, kitchen utensils grubby looking (we washed everything before use for the couple of hours that we were there). Bathroom horrible - dark and dingy and, if the layer of dust on the edge of the bath was anything to go by, not too clean. A couple of hours of trying to convince ourselves it couldn't possibly be as bad as it was and we couldn't get out of there quickly enough despite the fact it was evening and we had nowhere else to go. Pity, as this house is in a great location and with some time and money spent on it would be a wonderful holiday cottage. We expected old and quaint but this turned out to be dirty and uncared for. We emailed the owner the next morning to explain why we had left but we have heard nothing further from her.

3 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
2 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 2 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Everything else
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
England
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful
1 of 5 stars Value 1 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
mississip...
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderful, wonderful, view of the bay. Susan the owner was prompt with responses and very helpful. The location was perfect for exploring the tablelands of Gros Morne Park. The house was clean and comfortable, plenty of kitchen ware. Fun to be able to walk down the lane and through town. We loved staying there. Incredible value for your money. Don't miss the Green Garden trail in Gros Morne if hiking is your thing. Folks in Woody Point were all very friendly and helpful!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view and location
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
spacegurl...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It felt like putting on my favourite cozy sweater...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
3
people found this review helpful

I rented this property to get away from Toronto's mayhem, and located just outside the welcoming, warm, down-to-earth community of Woody Point, it was the ideal get-away. Susan was delightful and very helpful in offering to make arrangements for pick-up from Deer Lake Airport, as well as getting in any staples needed, recommending tourist attractions and providing in-town contacts.

The cottage is a clean, tidy, and very cozy place suited for up to 4 people. It felt like I had put on my favourite fuzzy sweater the moment I walked in. I turned the couch around to enjoy the huge bay-side window view of the weather, Gros Morne Park, busy fishing boats, and whales as I tucked into a pile of books and a nice glass of wine or two. The property sits above Bonne Bay, has parking, and access to the upper and lower roads of Curzon Village. The amenities are what you would need in a simple, sweet get-away place; all clean, functioning and accessible.

I would recommend that a good grocery shop should be done in Deer Lake or Corner Brook before you head out to the Village. Woody Point stores provide kitchen basics, and excellent lobster and fish when in season. Also consider how you will get around town and look in to car rentals or other transport arrangements.

The sheer and utter tranquility, beauty and magic of the place, treasure-hunting along the stone beaches - not to mention the welcoming neighbours - were the highlights of this location. And this cottage provides a warm, humble little home-base for a very, very relaxing vacation.

5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
toronto
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
6
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$70
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
susan B
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2011
Response Rate: 75 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing