We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normally good…but not as good as it used to be!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brosarps Gastgifveri

Brosarps Gastgifveri
Albovagen 21, Brosarp 273 50, Sweden
+46 (0) 414 736 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Brosarp
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $73
Cuisines: Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The food – we fetch this from our neighbours! In other words, the growers and the breeders in the district. Ducks, chickens, lambs, asparagus, fish and much more.It cannot be fresher, tenderer and more wholesome. And, yes, we still have wild boar on the menu...
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Normally good…but not as good as it used to be!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was there with an old friend after a huge lunch on the same day. The waiter was a terrific chap of “the old school”…friendly and professional.
We ordered the “Blue local plate” of Mixed Herrings to share for starters (SEK 178) and their famous, huge Ribs, also to share, as the main course (SEK 178). This was a nice gesture to accept for us to share dishes after the big lunch we had had.
The reason I say “not as good as it used to be” is that there seemed to be less supervision (or it could be as simple as a new Chef…it’s all in the Management!). The skin of the small new potatoes were really wrinkled, as if they had been re-heated and the herring varieties were rather bland, and not as “different and exciting” as I recall. The ribs were also just a bit tougher than the last time I visited.
The character and “spirit”, with all the paintings on the walls, gives it a true “Country Inn feeling”.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The four of us went home, smiling broadly. None of us ordered the same dish, all were delighted with the food. Everything was exactly as it should be and when the 11 year old in the group had finished all her fantastic meatballs, they gladly brought more.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueco en Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't come here, you'll be disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We ate lunch at the restaurant and the sallad had insects in it, we told the staff and they just took it away and didn't even apologise. Then we stayed at one of their double rooms, and for the high price it's one of the worst I've ever stayed in. You're much better of at one of the places just outside Brösarp with much nicer rooms and for about half the price.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“The best you can get - this decade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

From time to time different innkeepers take the lead among the Scanian inns. For a couple of years, this one has been the best.

Its location is excellent - particularly if you come by car and if the weather permits strolling in the nearby wonderful landscape.

Can't tell about rooms or other such things, since I've only eaten there - many times.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystad, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food in a classic scanian Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

One of few classic scanian "Gästgiverier" or Inns. Great food with local and traditional dishes

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brosarps Gastgifveri also viewed

 
Brosarp, Skane County
 

Been to Brosarps Gastgifveri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brosarps Gastgifveri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.