We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurios golf resort with memories from the glorious twenties” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bjertorp Slott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bjertorp Slott to your Saves list
Bjertorp Slott
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Fyrunga, Kvanum 535 91, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kvanum B&B and Inns
Solna, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Luxurios golf resort with memories from the glorious twenties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This castle, which is set in a park and with a surrounding 18-hole golf course was built in the 1920-ies by one of Swedens big industrialists. Large parts of the interior have been preserved and presents the mansion as it was originally when built. Each room is beautifully furnished albeit modernized with all conveniences and carries a story of its own.
The gourmet restaurant presents dinners either in the large dining room or in separate rooms for big and small groups.
Vara Bjertorp Golf Course nearby offers 18 well kept holes and is a nice complement to a perfect weekend stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
38
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drammen, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I visited Bjertorp slott for a single night in August with two small children.
From the first approach to the main house the grounds and tree lined drive were impressive. Parking was not a problem as they have ample space available.

Our reservation had been quite informal by email with no credit card precharge, and the staff had the room ready for me and the kids even including sweets on the childrens beds a nice small touch. Our room had a lovely view over the grounds and fountain, the high ceiling and quality fittings made a very positive impression on us all.

In the early evening it was nice to sit at the tables outside, the hotel provides some free coffee and fruit for guests to serve themselves from. We explored the lovely grounds and visited the resident horses, my children thought Bjertorp slott a wonderful place.

The highlight of the visit was the wonderful dinner. The staff made a special meal for my 6 year old who was not adventurous enough to try the full gourmet dinner. My older child and myself enjoyed a memorable dinner and desert.

I dont have any negatives to mention, you will find cheaper places to stay but regarding value for money this was hard to beat.

I hope to visit again, and I hope to find not too much changed please.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidingo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Me and my husband spent a night at this hotel on our way to some friends " just to cut our journey in half and spoil ourselfs a little".
It is a lovely hotel and the staff is wonderful, helpful and friendly.
The rooms are all styled in different ways and colours and nicely decorated with tasteful details.
I am however, a little dissappointed that there were no bathrobes in the room. I mean, everything else had that little extra, so why not this?
I read on the website afterwards that you can get them in one of their packages....
I can also compliment them on the food.
We had dinner in the restaurant and ate three out of the five course dinner with the recommended wine and it was lovely a dessert to die for.
Another thing that was nice were that many of the ingredients were locally produced.

We are definitely planning to visit Bjertorp again and has recommended it to our friends.
My husband and I are not golfers but if you are, the course is just around the corner and if you book in advance, you can have a massage and it´s possible to go riding.

My only varning is, if you come from the north, don´t leave the highway until you see the sign of the hotel. If you leave the road for the village Kvänum, you will get there but have some trouble finding your way.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei Darussalam
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I've been back to the Bjertorp Slott, and it was even better. The rooms have been upgraded with new decorations and large flat panel televisions. The breakfast and dinner was again fantastic. This my favorite hotel and restaurant in all of southwest Sweden. They now have bikes that you can borrow to bike through the farmlands. There is no better choice than the Bjertorp Slott.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei Darussalam
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Loved the Bjertorp. I've stayed there twice while doing business in Emtunga. The restaurant is simply superb. The ambiance of the place is great. Most of the employees speak excellent english, so it is easy to get around. There is a sauna downstairs that it a little hidden, but its a great little place. You can ask them to set it up for you. The grounds are great to walk around in. There is path behind the golf course that runs through the woods, that is a fine walk.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

If your ever in Sweden, put the Bjertorp Slott on the top of your list. We booked it throught an agent, and were treated with a wonderful five course meal the night before, and then stayed overnight. The room was spotless, the view from the room was
fabulous. The next morning, we had breakfast there which had
everthing you could want. The staff was very helpful, and the Castle itself is something to see. The surrounding countyside
on the way from Gothenburg was breathtaking. Make sure this is one of your stops. You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing bad to say...We were very pleased...
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2004

My wife and I spent a day here on May 20th. A young lady named Ida was in attendance at the Slott and was also our server at dinner. Our stay was nothing short of magnificent due to the overall ambience, great food, wine and service proved by a very caring and courteous staff. The room was absolutely awesome and clean as a pin. We will return to this exceptional Castle some day. As for Ida, thank you for being a very special person.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bjertorp Slott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bjertorp Slott

Address: Fyrunga, Kvanum 535 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Kvanum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kvanum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bjertorp Slott 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on the beautiful Vara plain, 110 km north of Gothenburg and 3 1/2 hours' drive from Oslo and Stockholm. Ferdinand Boberg, great architect of his time, designed Bjertorp Manor, which is said to be the last stately home built in the Art Nouveau style and was completed in the year 1914. Today, Bjertorp is a venue for conferences, celebrations, golfers, weddings and for all who enjoy the good things in life. Similarly, Vara-Bjertorp golf course, adjacent to the hotel, has received an award from the readers of Golf Digest for being top course in Western Gothia for several years in a row. We are proud of our distinctions and they proove to you how good we are! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bjertorp Slott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bjertorp Slott Sweden/Kvanum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bjertorp Slott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.