We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stopover hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Defanti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Defanti to your Saves list
Defanti
Via Lavorgo, Lavorgo 6746, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lavorgo B&B and Inns
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Perfect stopover hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We choose this hotel as stopover from the Netherlands to Milan. The price is good for Switserland (Euro 95) but the hotel is very basic/old fashioned so do not expect too much. Everything you need is in the room: cable tv (with Dutch chanel!), free wifi, good shower and the room is clean! Only minus is too much not matching furniture in the room: two single beds, two sofa's, table with chairs, wardrobe and make-up table. One of the beds squeaked and must be replaced. I think they want to do us a favor and gave us a big/family room (32). The smaller room next door (31 or 33) was more cosy/in balance because it has only room for a bed and sofa. In the evening we had a 5 course ' top secret' menu with a bottle of water and wine for Euro 115,= for two persons. The restaurant was almost full and we had a surprisingly nice evening after a long drive. The owner was very pleased too demonstrate his juke-box with songs from a long time ago: this was very funny. Breakfast was too basic. Owners were very nice and helpfull. Overall we liked our stay and we definitely go back if we need a stopover in Switzerland!

Room Tip: We would ask for a small/cosy room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were travelling down to Italy & decided to turn off the motorway for a break & some lunch. We had no real idea where we were heading but happened to come across this superb little place. The place is typical Swiss style but the two standout things were the food & service - both were simply excellent! All ingredients were fresh and each dish was beautifully presented and with a local wine list too. Although we didn't stay at the hotel (so cannot comment on rooms) judging from the extremely clean & well-kept public areas, I imagine them to be very good. A great find in a sweet little Swiss village.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scherpenheuvel, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Italy. This friendly hotel is nicely located for a stopover: close to the highway, near the Gotthard tunnel. We enjoyed Italian-style dinner on the terrace of the good restaurant. Some drawbacks: the old and very basic furnishing (no fridge), the railway just across the street (could use some ear plugs during the night), the price (little too high, especially if you compare it to France or Germany).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

On the way to Southern France stright after the St. Gotthard tunnel is this small, cosy and old familyhotel with a long history. The hotel room was large, old fashioned furnished - feeling like in the 50es or 60es. A very large comfortable bed. Very nice and handsome wellcoming by the host. We eat a very good menu with lokal dishes - even the fish was fresh. The prices in the restaurant - menu and wine - were surprising reasonable. We were in Switzerland

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here one night while on a hike. The hotel is simple but characterful and clean. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming. Had a good meal in the restaurant despite my late arrival. The restaurant even has a functioning jukebox :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Defanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Defanti

Address: Via Lavorgo, Lavorgo 6746, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lavorgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lavorgo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Defanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Defanti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.