We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well looked after” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elephant Training Center Chiang Dao

The Elephant Training Center Chiang Dao
108/1 Moo 9, T. Intakhin, A. Mae Tang | Intakhin, Mae Taeng 50150, Thailand
(053) 298-553
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Elephant Training Center Chiang Dao like an insider
Top Rated
$95*
and up
Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour...
Ranked #10 of 18 things to do in Mae Taeng
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Well looked after”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The tour is very good, you do get up close and personal with Elephants. Yes some are chained but this is for safety. The show is not a circus but a glimpse into how Elephants used to be used for logging. We bought one of the Elephant paintings..absolutely fantastic. The food here is also very very good. If you get chance go rafting and the pictures taken by the staff were excellent, they present them in a frame made out of Elephant dung...lol and are as cheap as chips.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    7
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

You will be able to see how the bathe elephants, feed them, the tricks they do and you will be able to ride them. I enjoyed the ride, but the show of the tricks they do didn't feel too good. They make them move logs and things.. It didn't feel right to me. But well, that's just me. On the other hand, an elephant drew a lovely picture of a tree. Got to admit, pretty impressive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Mixed Emotions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I am a huge lover of elephants, and the highlight of our trip to Thailand was seeing wild elephants in Khao Yai National Park. However, being an elephant lover, we also decided to visit Chiang Dao Camp and signed up for the full-day tour. Signing up was very difficult. They do not reply to your email (well, they did a month after our trip!) and we had to rely on a local friend in Chiang Mai to call them on the phone (many times to reach the right person). Our friend had to send them money to make our deposit. When we arrived, no one spoke English, but they somehow did know that we had paid a deposit.

First they allow you to buy bananas and feed two elephants, including the baby, which of course is exciting, and everyone loves to see the baby elephant.

But why are they breeding these elephants? I can understand why there are elephant camps so that the once-working animals can live out the rest of their lives. But I see no need to continue this way of life except for tourism. And I would rather not support this kind of camp. A week after our visit to the camp, we read in the Bangkok newspaper that a survey of all captive elephants in Thailand had just been completed, and the result was that 80 or 90% of captive elephants in Thailand are malnourished. The main reason is that elephants eat so much per day, and the poor owners of the camps can't afford the food. Some elephants are apparently only given grass to eat, which is not a complete diet for them. We did the elephant ride, which again is exciting, but our elephant was a bit sluggish, and the mahout was often encouraging him to keep up with the rest of the parade. He did not use the bull hook, but he did have to keep encouraging him. When I look at the framed photo of us riding him (purchased at the end of the day) I can see how skinny he was for an elephant. This saddened me greatly. Frankly, I wish we had not gone, or at least did not do the ride.

We also went to the hill tribe, and I agree with other reviewers, it seems like a set up. Do those people really live there? Don't know. Mostly it's an opportunity to buy things at higher prices than in Chiang Mai. Whatever. Those people need the money more than I do, and I like the carved teak elephants that we bought.

The raft down the river would have been pleasant, as it the jungle is very beautiful. But it started raining about 10 minutes into the one-hour trip, and progressively got more and more rainy. The mahout pulled out hats and crappy ponchos to wear, but it's hard to put them on when you're sitting on a flimsy bench on a flimsy raft. Once the bench shifted and started to fall through the bamboo branches, allowing water on the raft. It would have all been OK except for the rain.

Overall, I think the elephants are moderately cared for, but if you really care about captive elephants in Thailand, it might be better to support them in a different way. I am still looking for a charity to support that will make lasting changes to the situation. Haven't found it yet though.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great time for kids and adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We decided for this camp as we were told it would not be too touristy and indeed it wasn't. We arrived and bought some bananas for 30 THB for the kids to feed the elephants. This was great. We went on to watch them see getting bathed in the river followed by a cute show. Our impression was that all elephants were treated allright which was very important to us. We then proceeded to a one hour tour on the elephants through the forrest. Our kids loved it. We skipped the river rafting on a bamboo raft - really not too excited about it and had lunch before everyone else arrived. Food was very good. We had asked for a private tour hence we had our own minivan and our own guide taking us there. We can absolutely recommend the trip to the camp.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Little natural training center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We enjoyed our visit to Chiang Dao. It has very natural surroundings and as far as we could tell the elephants were treated well. Our guide told us for example that there was a baby elephant but it was away in the forest with its mother so it could gain size and strength first. We enjoyed the walk the most. Through the forest and river.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elephant Training Center Chiang Dao also viewed

 
Mae Taeng, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to The Elephant Training Center Chiang Dao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elephant Training Center Chiang Dao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.