We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisu Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mae Taeng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lisu Lodge
Save
You added Lisu Lodge to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Dton Loong Village, Mae Taeng 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Holiday Specials
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Waterloo, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I travel the world and am used to be in all kind hotels. tis one special. it's not luxurious, not that confortable yet the surrounding, the atmospher, the friendliness of its hosts, the landscape you can admire from the terasse are just amazing. I felt I was in the midst of the jungle. We only spent one night (doing the biking, trekking, rafting, elephant riding ...) yet the memory of this moment will last forever... so if you consider going there.. do not hesitate.. it's just heaven on earth

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    38
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here as a couple last year during our 3 week trip to
Thailand. We can honestly stay that it was one of the best places we stayed. Stunning scenery, lovely rooms and communal area (we had the whole place to ourselves), amazing genuine Thai food cooked by lovely young lisu people. We went on the ox cart ride which was ok, the trek on the other hand (1 day local trek) was fantastic. Our guide Charlie chan was very knowledgable and friendly.
Would really really recommend this place!!!!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely lodge. It was so calm and relaxing, we especially loved the garden. The staff was very friendly. The rooms are basic, but very clean. The meals were really good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We did a 3-day adventure (2 days trek to/from Lahu Outpost and 1 night at Lisu) and we had an amazing experience. Our guide, Lee, came to visit us at our Chiang Mai hotel the night before our trek to prepare us for our hike which I found very helpful. Lee, it turns out, is an amazing individual. He is from the Lisu Tribe and taught himself to speak English. He is remarkably well educated and well spoken and we enjoyed discussing everything from politics to the environment. He guided us up the mountain to the Lahu Outpost and stopped to let us rest or to teach us about nature and traditional village life. We were trekking with a lovely Swedish family of four and all of us truly enjoyed each others company!
When we arrived at the Lahu Outpost we found it to be clean and comfortable with a very basic bathroom but at least there was hot water for the shower which felt amazing after the hike. We relaxed and watched the sunset and then Lee cooked us an incredible dinner which we ate by candlelight! He made a special vegetarian meal for me, and I really wish I'd gotten his recipe because he is a truly talented cook. On the trek down, things got a little tricky for me as I was pregnant and not as mobile as usual and some of the hike down to the waterfall was difficult. Lee instinctively knew when to turn around and offer me his hand and made me a beautiful bamboo walking stick in about 1 minute (which I wish I'd been able to bring back as a souvenir but didn't think I could get it through customs).
After visiting the waterfall, we were driven to ride elephants. It is our understanding that Asian Oasis is no longer booking elephant rides as part of the tour and I am glad for that. We understand that the issue of elephants is very complicated in Thailand and were glad to meet the beautiful animals up close, especially feeding them bananas and sugar cane after our ride! During our ride, we didn't like how they sometimes poked the elephants, but the trainers did seem to care for the elephants (one even called her his "baby" and said he'd raised her for the past 35 years!). One of the elephants was a mother with her baby in tow and when he needed to nurse, the trainers stopped all the elephants until the baby was full and happy. Perhaps as an alternative, future treks will visit an elephant conservation site where visitors can meet these wonderful creatures without riding them.
My husband and I declined the white water rafting since I was not supposed to go into fresh water while pregnant, but our Swedish friends had fun!
Our stay at the Lisu Lodge was very relaxing and we found the bed to be very comfortable and the bathroom to feel quite luxurious after the Lahu Outpost. We enjoyed all our meals and even felt like we had the best Pad Thai of the trip here. One particular staff member truly stood out to us and she was concerned that we weren't participating in any scheduled activities in the morning so she took us see the Lisu Village (where she lives with her family!), meet the shaman, and explore the herb garden at the Buddhist temple.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messines
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel is located nearby a small village that has his own shamaan. Unfortunately we couldn' t meet him but visit of locals was over all interresting.
The rooms are basic and have only one bed. So we rent two rooms and were happy the hotel was not full booked.
In the morning we were waked up by the house rooster that remembered us every ten minutes that day started.
Every guest have a choise for a free massage (1 hour) or sauna.
There is a bar that offers drinks after 17:00 p.m. and nearby are artisanal shops.
Meals are not typical of the region but more made for tourists.
For the region could be the best accomodation and not expensive (1000 bath).

Room Tip: If you are not used to hear roasters or bad sleeper, ask for a room behind in the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just spent 2nights at this lovely lodge .i think for me ,being a solo traveler,one night would have been a better option for me,there are activities to choose from ,biking,hiking,rafting ,however ,I have bad knees and wasn,t able to enjoy those options,the food was incredible,the staff is lovely,the village is awesome,
I was excited to go on the ox cart ride ,however,I wish I hand,t ,the driver hit the oxen with a stick continuously and I found that abusive and disturbing.
This is a very quiet place,great for couples .i want to acknowledge Charlie,som and may ,,I hope I got the names correct ,,I had may,s aunt make me a beautiful dress ,I also enjoyed the visit to the shamans home .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach, FL
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
337 helpful votes 337 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Situated beside a small village, the lodge provides a peaceful setting to contemplate the world going by somewhere far away. Nice comfortable rooms, no internet, very good personal service. Evening meal was adaquate, served a a very low table. Evening "show" with young children was uninspiring. Overall an interesting place to stay if you want to come visit the Asku native village.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lisu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisu Lodge

Address: Dton Loong Village, Mae Taeng 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Taeng
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Mae Taeng
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisu Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the hill tribe village called 'Lisu', settling nearby the lodge, Lisu Lodge is an eco-friendly hill tribe lodge in Chiang Mai, northern Thailand. It is part of a community-based project that aims to conserve the natural heritage of hill tribes of northern Thailand. Built in traditional Lisu style with an eye for western comforts, the lodge overlooks the lush fields and hills surrounding the valley. We offer a wide variety of packages, from day visits to multiple overnights, including hill tribe experiences, soft adventure (cycling and white water rafting) and trekking. Our prices include accommodation in comfortable king-size or twin bedded rooms with en-suite bathrooms (where applicable), electric fans (non air-conditioned), meals and drinks as specified in the programs, as well as English speaking tour guides / local Lisu guides. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lisu Hotel Chiang Mai
Lisu Lodge Chiang Mai Province, Thailand - Mae Taeng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisu Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.