We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lisu Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lisu Lodge to your Saves list
Lisu Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Dton Loong Village, Mae Taeng 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Clearwater Beach, FL
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
192 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
“Interesting place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Situated beside a small village, the lodge provides a peaceful setting to contemplate the world going by somewhere far away. Nice comfortable rooms, no internet, very good personal service. Evening meal was adaquate, served a a very low table. Evening "show" with young children was uninspiring. Overall an interesting place to stay if you want to come visit the Asku native village.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    34
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
37
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Located about an hour from Chiang Mai in a small village. The set-up is gorgeous: 3 large 'houses' with lots of communal space in open air and 6 rooms per house. The rooms are small but atmospheric and have good bathrooms. The food is served in the houses and is very good (naturally adapted to farang tastes but still quite tasty). Be prepared to use sign language if you don't speak Thai as little English is spoken by the staff (though they are very friendly and helpful and some of the management or guides do speak excellent English). We did the Soft Adventure: a 13 km bike ride (lots of uphill through the countryside - good though it's a pity the guide didn't take the opportunity to explain anything), an elephant ride (though I have to say a very short elephant ride (20 minutes) and most of it along country roads instead of the 'jungle') and a 45 minute rafting trip (the highlight with fun loving guides and gorgeous scenery). Lunch (which was included) was nice. Unfortunately we didn't do the last bit of our trip (visiting an Akha village) as someone had passed away that night. Though I completely understand it is inappropriate to visit the village at such time I was disappointed that no alternative was offered as the reason to visit the lodge is to get to know the hilltribes' customs and way of life. Do not get a massage at the lodge though as it wasn't very good and rather expensive. Overall a very good experience but I do feel that more effort should be undertaken to immerse the guests in the culture of the tribes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Our family with two kids, Son 12 n Daughter 10, we had a great time with their great service. They were very kind, manners, tried their best to communicate with us with sign language. We were very interested how they live there. We would recommend families with kids to go there.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Lisu lodge is perfect for persons who like to live in nature - around is calm, mountains, green surroundings. Little boutique middle of nowhere.

If to live in village I expected lower category, but room was nice (simple, but nice atmosphere and clean) and meals was in Thai style (good)

+ surrounding and nature
+ green territory
+ wide terrace
+ thai meals

Perfect place just to be you! (without wi-fi and other city noises)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the lodge for one night during our Honeymoon in Thailand. It was wonderful!
We were very happy to reach this beautiful place after two days in not-so-nice Chiang Mai. We were welcomed by Ani, a 19 year old Lisu tribe girl who had been studying English for 6 months. We had a great conversation as she showed us around the village by foot. We met the shaman of the town, met some people who lived there and were offered drinks. She showed us around the monk's vegetable garden and explained a lot about the tribe.
It was low season so we were the only guests aside from one other couple.
The lodge is just gorgeous, open, relaxing and wonderful. Don't expect any high tech luxury. It's a great place to relax and hike, bike, etc.
We were served a great dinner, a group of local kids came in to the lodge for a dance performance (and they asked us to join in too!)
The staff was very nice, the room was cosy and clean. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was great. A very nice thing was the mosquito net over our bed, which the lodge provided.
Overall a GREAT experience and we highly recommend going there.

Room Tip: Travel during low season and you have the place to yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We did the 2 day / 1 night package from Chiang Mai that included transfers, a bike ride (around 14km), elephant ride, white water rafting and all meals. It's not cheap but I felt it was well worth it.

The bike ride wasn't really easy (I gave up and rode in the support vehicle for the hilly section, leaving the kids to ride with the guide) but was very scenic and a great way to see some of the countryside.

The elephants were contented, and looked healthy and interested. They had more blankets cushioning their backs than I've ever seen and very light seats. They weren't working constantly but were rotated around the riding track and the rest area (which was pleasant and shady). The ankle restraint was the very light sort that's more of a reminder than something that would actually stop them if they wanted to leave! There was a young elephant training on our walk (walking with our elephants, a mahout beside him) and all the mahout used for control was his voice (it was like listening to a parent constantly talking to a 2 year old actually!) and occasionally he poked it with a small twig to get its attention (he literally picked it off a plant on the side of the road). I didn't have any qualms about that particular elephant camp.

The white water rafting was for about an hour and pretty gentle (around grade 2-3) but was fun and we got thoroughly wet - take a change of clothes.

Food was great. The 'picnic' lunch was all beautifully packed in banana leaves - chicken, rice, boiled egg, sauce, bananas etc. Dinner was served traditionally sitting on the floor on the verandah of our lodge. I noticed an elderly couple in another building had been given a regular table so that's obviously available too. A variety of local dishes were served and refilled and we ate. After dinner there was a short dance show. It wasn't at all professional but great fun and it was totally expected that everyone would get up and dance with them (I liked this one much more than the professional show we'd seen a couple of days before!).

The lodge itself is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are quite basic with a bed (very comfortable), a dresser and a functional bathroom. The grounds are surrounded by rice paddys and the views from the verandahs absolutely stunning. There are a few separate buildings, each with about 1/2 dozen rooms opening onto the large verandah. The buildings are raised up and made of woven bamboo so noise does travel. Accordingly, everyone was very quiet and very polite.

My boys were happy to spend the one night (they amused themselves wandering around the grounds, taking photos) but I think that more than that would have been too much for them. I could have stayed several days. It's ideal for just being quiet and relaxing, lying around on the verandah with a book or a board game. There are no TV's, telephones or swimming pools. I loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Lisu Lodge is set in a wonderful hilltop valley. The mountain bike riding, the elephant adventure and the white water rafting will tire and relax you like no artificial city activities can. Our Guide on these excursions was excellent. The staff are attentive, informative, and very helpful. The food delicious ( and you must try the local home brew ). I wish we could return every year, but alas our continents are too far apart.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lisu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisu Lodge

Address: Dton Loong Village, Mae Taeng 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Taeng
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Mae Taeng
Hotel Class:3 star — Lisu Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the hill tribe village called 'Lisu', settling nearby the lodge, Lisu Lodge is an eco-friendly hill tribe lodge in Chiang Mai, northern Thailand. It is part of a community-based project that aims to conserve the natural heritage of hill tribes of northern Thailand. Built in traditional Lisu style with an eye for western comforts, the lodge overlooks the lush fields and hills surrounding the valley. We offer a wide variety of packages, from day visits to multiple overnights, including hill tribe experiences, soft adventure (cycling and white water rafting) and trekking. Our prices include accommodation in comfortable king-size or twin bedded rooms with en-suite bathrooms (where applicable), electric fans (non air-conditioned), meals and drinks as specified in the programs, as well as English speaking tour guides / local Lisu guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Lisu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisu Hotel Chiang Mai
Lisu Lodge Chiang Mai Province, Thailand - Mae Taeng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisu Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.