We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng to your Saves list
Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   168 Moo 2 | Kued Chang, Mae Taeng 50150, Thailand (Formerly Rawee Waree Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Mae Taeng B&B and Inns
4.5 of 5 stars 133 Reviews
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at Rawee Waree Resort & Spa for a week in Sept-2012. I was originally organised to stay elsewhere in Mae Taeng but as I wasn't comfortable with the quality of that accommodation, I made a last minute booking at Rawee Waree. The resort was great and I was very happy with the stay - I would definitely stay there again if visiting Mae Taeng in future.

>>The Positives
The service was great, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The villa I was given was spacious, well designed and nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was a good size and well appointed. The patio style doors with large glass panes on two walls meant the villa could be opened up to create a nice indoor/outdoor environment. The pools and pool areas were lovely, as was the landscaping of the entire resort. As I was travelling back and forth from the resort to an elephant by bike several times a day, the ability to ride up to the front of the villa was fantastic.

>>The Negatives
The TV reception was not good, and the stations indicated on the guide did not match the channels actually available. The WiFi, while complimentary (with 3 devices per villa allowed to connect), was weak and unreliable. The week I was there, the villa phone did not work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    41
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
60
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The day before we flew to Chiang Mai from Phuket we knew the taxi would cost us at least 1500bht, so we chose to book a rental car... Best decision ever... Saw so much more than if we took a taxi as also did a day trip to Pai.... FYI the hill between has 762 bends, beware if you are a nervous driver.

Back to the resort.... Whoever designed Rawee Waree did an awesome job, the cottages where lovely, the landscaping is stunning and the swimming pools are huge.

The cottage we had saw the lounge / bedroom divided by a cabinet with the TV on and the bathroom was well appinted too. The washbasin was not in the bathroom which made life easy.

What was annoying, was the aircon which was not only noisy, but possessed by the devil.... If they upgraded that I wouldn't have something to moan about.

The restaurant served lovely food, we only ate Thai, though the breakfast buffet was plentiful in food and selection.

The staff were so lovely... Friendly and helpful.

Within walking distance from the resort is the elephant tours and the zip line...

Yes, we would stay their again and i suggest you treat yourselves too.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed one night at this property. The villa was comfortable with a nice bed, sitting area, and shower. The large pool area in the middle is relaxing at night and it is pleasant to sit outside of your unit and listen to the water trickle.

A nice place to relax at to get away from things and listen to the sounds of nature.

Mae Tang has limited dining options and the room service food was well prepared and quite tasty. We enjoyed dining next to the villa outside.

This is a good place to go to escape city life with someone special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the back facing the pool such that you can dine and enjoy the pool and waterfall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was at this resort with my girl friend and we enjoyed our time here so much. Our lovely executive villa is facing the swimming pool & surrounded by lushly greens & mountains. The bed was awesome with 6 pillows & the toiletries was awesome especially the body lotion & shampoo.

Breakfast was great with fresh fruit juice & a great selection of foods & drinks. The banana fried fritters was speechless.....perfect!! I will definitely stay here again when I am back to Chiang Mai. Very service oriented & 5 star overall!!

Room Tip: all the executive room is facing the pool & own veranda with day bed. u can jump into the pool r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed 3 nights there

Pros
- location near the elephant camp. Go to the bar near the river in the morning: the view is incredible with elephants crossing the river
- pool is huge and well decorated
- food is excellent, including the breakfast

Cons
- remote area: your only choice is the hotel for everything. Not so many things to do except the resort and the elephant camp. You have to eat in the hotel. Fortunately food is great, but you may like some variety
- comfort of bedrooms was not great: mattress was bad and sliding doors for bathroom never worked (in the 2 rooms we had)
- service was not always very good. We lost an object there with no economical but sentimental value: the staff could hardly understand our problem and never really tried to help. Even after, I sent them an email they never replied to

In my opinion, 3 nights there is a max. You'd better stay 1 or 2 nights

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a deluxe villa - well worth the extra money for the extra space and direct access to the pool. People have mentioned the complex is quite remote but this is what i love about this place. There is lots to do such as taking a walk to the nearby elephant paarks, you can wwalk straight in and feed the elephants etc. Opposite the entrance to the elephant park on a wednesday morning (between 6am and 9am) there is a small market in the square. Also nearby are several small shops including a coffee shop. If you turn left out of the complex and up the hill on the right there are villagers selling local gifts (if you go on one the elephant/ox tours they take you here anywhay) Also nearby is the people with the rings round there necks. All in all lots to do which if you were staying in the city you would spend loads of time travelling. We also took part in white water rafting which was approx 20min away.

The hotel itself was well maintained and we always had the pools to ourselves as it was quiet. The pool bar opened at 1pm and stayed open until the night time. We ate in the restaraunt every night and found the meals reasonably priced. Someone mentioned the pizza was disappointing...i thought it was the best pizza i'd ever had, it was huge and we took half of it back to the room. Whilst i was there it was my birthday and they provided a cake for free too.

The staff were very friendly but there was a little bit of a communication breakdown as english wasn't spoken well. Breakfast included a range of cereals and fruits and you ordered hot food, again the staff told us in english they could cook rice or eggs, but we saw other people eating bacon, sausages, waffles etc which were were not told we could ask for. Again i think it was because of the language barrier.

Would highly recommend this resort, especially if you intend on going elephant trekking/rafting etc as they are all within walking distance...why sit on a coach!!!

Room Tip: go for a deluxe villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel is about an hours drive from the airport (about 800baht) and in a very remote location, but is very peaceful and great for a quite retreat.
Near the hotel there is an amazing elephant camp and also a zip line atraction. The elephants are really well looked after and seem to really enjoy the games they play and the treks they do. The owners hide nothing from tourists and have an amazing relationship with all the elepants (well worth a visit) . This is a 2 min walk from the hotel and the is a few local shops where you can purchase snack food and drinks etc.
The hotel is well maintained and centred around 2 big swimming pools.
Our villa was ideal size and in good condition with the usual sellection in the mini bar, 2 x 40" sony tvs, a good sized bath rooms and comfortable living area. The beds are also very good and comfy.
We had room service a few nights which was excellent and very reasonably priced. This is the only complaint I could have about the resort you are very restricted on eating out, they is no where near the resort so you are pretty much stuck with what the resort provide, but this did not bother us as the food standard is good in the resort.

I would recommend this resort for a quite retreat, if your a person which likes getting out and about this may be in the wrong location for you

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng

Address: 168 Moo 2 | Kued Chang, Mae Taeng 50150, Thailand (Formerly Rawee Waree Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Taeng
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Taeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MINDFUL LIVING IN TREASURE DREAM RESORTA heavenly tranquilly boutique resort the stunned nestles discreetly a midst tropical garden where you can have relaxing holiday or to enjoy a romantic break with your chosen one. Synergy of Lanna Modern Style and luxuriously spacious villa are adapted to preserve the integrity of the environmental sensitivity and local communities that surrounded the resort.Our facilities approach to enhance the nature experience engrave with opulent services that can expected the top class 5 stars intended and all offered the warmest of smiles and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng Chiang Mai Province, Thailand - Mae Taeng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.